Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 & 03 Review

Stripped

Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review

Stripped

There's not really a lot to do to strip the Spec-01 down to its undies.  The front panel comes off very easily, and with the front I/O hard wired to the chassis there's no need to worry about having to feed cables through.  As the 3.5" drive bays are held in with screws as opposed to rivets we've also removed them, along with the 120mm fan. 

Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review     Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review

 

Removing the 3.5" bay and the fan reveals a second set of 120mm fan based screws, just slightly off set from the holes in which the 120 fan is placed.  These screw holes are in the flat section of the chassis panel as opposed to the slightly raised area and look very much to be there for a reason....We wonder what that can be?  Strange thing is, they also have a 15mm inter fan spacing

Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review     Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review

 

The font panel is actually a very sturdy bit of work.  The long strakes on the exterior protect the finer mesh filter on the interior, with simple clips on the sides of the 5.25" bays making them easy to remove and re fit.

Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review     Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-04-2014, 09:01:30

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080603234l.png

What! A Corsair case for £37. Surely this is too good to be true.


Continue Reading

11-04-2014, 09:52:53

barnsley
Well done Corsair,nice to finally get a new standard set for budget cases. Now everyone else, please follow. To be totally honest though, there really isn't much competition. The NZXT source 210 is only the real competitor for it and thats much more basic looking.

-edit- Also the Silverstone RL04B is another competitor. Slightly better cable management but no window

11-04-2014, 09:54:14

RobCrezz
Wow, they are really nice cases for the money.

11-04-2014, 10:46:53

RickPlaysWarr
Hi

This is perfect for one thing I have been tagged for in my family. Everyone comes to me to say "can you build me a pc, not much money;" Its really awesome case and I can see using it with mATX sized MB a lot for the family builds.

--Rick--

11-04-2014, 11:35:14

Watsyerproblem
Nice review and video .

It is good to see such a great case at such a low price point.

11-05-2014, 11:59:15

kinghaq
Will corsair carbide spec 01 be able to fit the cooler master 212x..??

11-05-2014, 12:18:57

Wraithguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinghaq View Post
Will corsair carbide spec 01 be able to fit the cooler master 212x..??
Given the dimension of the 212 Evo 120 x 80 x 159 mm (4.7 x 3.1 x 6.3 in) I'm going to say NO. The review says any cooler 153mm will fit just fine though.

EDIT: What happened to the Spec-2?? I've not seen anything about it since the leaked images months ago...

11-05-2014, 15:34:06

paulstung
No idea they have the 01, and 03 on pre order most everywhere, but not the 02, very odd

02-06-2014, 06:13:03

Chris_Sparrow
Cooler master 412s,the only way to fit this beasty in this case, is the one on the photo

30-08-2014, 18:10:23

Moxyz1
Chris Sparrow, thanks for youre advice as i had just ordered the coolermaster 212 to use in the spec 01 case so i quickly stopped the order and changed it to the 412 . It is a shame as i prefered the look of the 212 with its gold pins on top ,, thanks again
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.