Corsair 600T Case Review

Close Look

Corsair 600T Review

A Close Look

Corsair say the 600T "eschews the more staid, subtle lines of the Obsidian". Considering how bland this looks I'd hate to see what would happen if they tried to do a subtle case. It would probably be invisible to the naked eye.

Corsair 600T Case Review     Corsair 600T Case Review  

In keeping with the 800D Corsair have provided more cut-outs for cables than even our own Jim could make use of.

The hard-drive bays are capable of handling both 3.5" HDDs and 2.5" SSDs. There are a lot of vents which should hopefully help the front 200mm fan push some decent air in.

Corsair 600T Case Review     Corsair 600T Case Review  

The top panel is easily removed with a latch to allow access to the dust filter and also to a locking mechanism for the side-panel. Unlike many locking systems this actually has a circular key akin to those on fruit machines, so your hardware should be safe when you're away, from all but the most determined thief.

The front panel has four USB ports and one USB3.0 port. The relocation of the USB3.0 port is a cool feature, just badly implemented as it requires quite a bit of cable routing that just isn't pretty in any sense of the word.

Corsair 600T Case Review     Corsair 600T Case Review  

Speaking of the drive bays they can be removed if you have limited need for storage. Corsair also have provided a space directly in front of the PSU should you want more airflow from the front fan. Not sure how you would plug the cables in to the PSU if they weren't very flexible though, so it's something to be aware of.

Corsair 600T Case Review     Corsair 600T Case Review

As you can see, this is the area I was talking about when discussing how the back corner of the 600T is a little too cramped to be able to comfortably water-cool your entire rig. It does seem weird that you pretty much have to make the decision about how you want to cool your system because its a complicated one when you really get down to it. Your options are:

A: Use a thin radiator in the roof which is no good to anyone
B: Use a thick radiator to cool the GPU and sacrifice space for a decent air heat sink like the NH-D14
C: Use a thick radiator to cool the CPU and leave the GPU on air
D: Use a thick radiator to cool the CPU and GPU, if you have hot components this may severely limit any overclocking.

Its also worth noting that with a radiator fitted the H70 will not fit, even with one of the fans mounted outside the case the unit is just too big because the radiator in the roof is too far back.

Because of all these factors you really need to consider your layout of the case carefully. I would say water cooling support was a big factor in wanting to purchace this case, but its really not as simple as it should be.

Corsair 600T Case Review     Corsair 600T Case Review

Onwards.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-09-2010, 07:20:56

tinytomlogan
Corsair have produced their second case after the Obsidian, the Corsair 600T. Does it fix the faults of the 800D?

Continue Reading

06-09-2010, 08:54:07

F-alienware
No like. I don't like the rounded look.

One thing I really liked about the 800D was the nice square look. It looks like it is trying to look like something else now.

Ick where are my manners. Thanks Tom.

06-09-2010, 09:13:52

AMDFTW
nope i would rather have a 840 at that price

06-09-2010, 09:34:56

SnowWhite
Getting a bit of a Cosmos feeling with this case .

inside looks pretty good !

06-09-2010, 10:47:14

steve30x
I have to agree with Tom about the 800D being an oven. I have one with six months now and I had to add a 120MM high CFM fan on the roof of the case to get the heat out of the case. Only until Tom said that it was an oven about two months ago I didnt realise how poor the fans were thant came with the case were.

I was gaming that day and my GTX280 was getting fair hot so I pulled off the side panel of the case and the internals of the case was very hot. The hot air hit me when I pulled the side panel off. I have a Corsair H50 with two fans on it pushing the air into the case also. I also had to replace the 140MM rear fan with a 120MM fan for the H50 so I used some cable ties to mount the 140MM fan on the roof of the case to help remove the heat from the case. The fans that came with the case are very quiet @ 100% but they are very low CFM fans too so they dont help move the air much.

Not only that but those plastic covers inside the case rattle a lot (I removed the cover over the HDD fan cause it rattled with the HDDs vibration) and the plastic blank 5 1/4" covers are loose so they rattle a little with the HDD vibration and I had to put foam under the feet of the case because there is no dampening for the HDD's so my computer desk was humming at me when the computer was running.

I love the size of my 800D and the front hot swap bay , but I think I will be changing the case for something better built as soon as I can. I had an Antec P190 and changed it because it was too small inside the motherboard area but it was better at cooling and the HDD's didnt make my desk hummmmmmmm at me. I will be looking out for a big case that is some bit decent (Better than my 800D) with good cooling , lots of internal space (like my 800D) and has HDD dampening. The 600T is a little bit too small for me though. I want a bigger case than that.

06-09-2010, 11:16:04

tinytomlogan
I actually think a full tower version of this case with 360mm rad support (50mm thick) would be a very good case tbh.

06-09-2010, 12:44:27

steve30x
Does it make much noise with the HDD's running or do you have the same problem I have with your computer desk with the vibration of the HDDs going from the computer case to the desk. I like my computer to be quiet and I hate the way my HDD's make such noise on my computer desk.

06-09-2010, 12:46:48

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

Does it make much noise with the HDD's running or do you have the same problem I have with your computer desk with the vibration of the HDDs going from the computer case to the desk. I like my computer to be quiet and I hate the way my HDD's make such noise on my computer desk.
Its pretty quiet tbh dude, but then Ive not used it daily or have any old clanky drives.

06-09-2010, 13:14:24

steve30x
All my hard drives are SATA II and they are two years old so theyre not old.

06-09-2010, 17:35:43

Notleh
Nice review and good call on the rating. At this price bracket a new case needs to be "wow", not "meh".

07-09-2010, 08:08:14

Taurus
Wont be getting one of these but I would like to know what the temps inside the case were like as in older case reviews (in the shed) temps between different cases were provided as a comparison using a set of standard components.

Hope future case reviews provide this info

07-09-2010, 08:14:32

SnowWhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post

Hope future case reviews provide this info
Maybe Tom can add the temps he was getting in that review aka from those hardware diode(s) ?

07-09-2010, 08:43:25

equk
lol it looks like a coolermaster sniper

07-09-2010, 10:19:50

tinytomlogan
We are just about to initiate a STD set of case testing equipment again after retiring the Q6600 system. There are very small differences between cases with good airflow nowadays. But rest assured temps will be back soon.

07-09-2010, 10:31:17

Taurus
Tom,

As you very well pointed out in this review and the one for the 800d both cases could be better for very little extra cost to the manufacturer. I look forward to seeing future reviews with updated STD test kit and relevant temps.

07-09-2010, 13:52:12

silenthill
Can anyone tell me why there is a place for a water cooling radiator if you canít fit one in?

07-09-2010, 14:43:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can anyone tell me why there is a place for a water cooling radiator if you canít fit one in?
You can fit it in, but the options when using it are very limited!

Corsair say its an air case with water cooling 'option'.

It only needs to be a bit taller and it would be fine though

22-01-2011, 13:42:49

HOSS
I considered getting this case for a new build but after seeing your excellent review Iíve had second thoughts.

Thanks for the great in-depth review as always.

22-01-2011, 18:20:01

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOSS View Post

I considered getting this case for a new build but after seeing your excellent review Iíve had second thoughts.

Thanks for the great in-depth review as always.
But if you are going to get this case, I might be as bold to suggest you swap the top 200mm for two 120mm, sure it would bump the price up, but I would think it should improve cooling by an extra degrees or two.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.