Corsair 600T Case Review

New Page

Corsair 600T Review

Introduction

A while ago we took a look at Corsairs first foray into the case market with the full-size 800D. It was certainly good looking and well built but just wasn't very good at keeping your components cool.

Call us picky but when we're buying a case, its ability to keep our components cool is quite high on our agenda.

Since then Corsair have gone back to the drawing board and brought us the mid-tower sized 600T. We had to take a look at it and what better way to do so than with a video review.

Of course we know full well that many of our readers are, well, readers and trying to sneak a bit of OC3D in on your Monday morning isn't easy if you have to have me blaring out from your speakers, so this is more of a taster. A companion piece if you will.

Enough pre-amble, especially when you've got 18 minutes of video to go. Let's crack on.

Feature Set

Although not as lengthy as the specifications of motherboards and the like, nonetheless here is the feature set from the Corsair website.


  • Twin 200mm cooling fans with white LEDs for excellent cooling
  • Eight expansion slots provides you flexibility for multiple graphics card solutions
  • Unique cable routing holes guarantees you a clean and clutter-free installation
  • Integrated fan controller, for up to four fans, gives you the choice of noise vs. performance
  • Tool-free optical drive installation makes building your system faster than ever
  • CPU backplate cutout makes upgrading your CPU heatsink easy
  • 2.5” and 3.5” hard drive compatibility for up to 6 drives — straight out of the box!
  • Two year warranty with Corsair’s world-class customer service and technical support

Time to take a look at what we have on our bench today.

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-09-2010, 07:20:56

tinytomlogan
Corsair have produced their second case after the Obsidian, the Corsair 600T. Does it fix the faults of the 800D?

Continue Reading

06-09-2010, 08:54:07

F-alienware
No like. I don't like the rounded look.

One thing I really liked about the 800D was the nice square look. It looks like it is trying to look like something else now.

Ick where are my manners. Thanks Tom.

06-09-2010, 09:13:52

AMDFTW
nope i would rather have a 840 at that price

06-09-2010, 09:34:56

SnowWhite
Getting a bit of a Cosmos feeling with this case .

inside looks pretty good !

06-09-2010, 10:47:14

steve30x
I have to agree with Tom about the 800D being an oven. I have one with six months now and I had to add a 120MM high CFM fan on the roof of the case to get the heat out of the case. Only until Tom said that it was an oven about two months ago I didnt realise how poor the fans were thant came with the case were.

I was gaming that day and my GTX280 was getting fair hot so I pulled off the side panel of the case and the internals of the case was very hot. The hot air hit me when I pulled the side panel off. I have a Corsair H50 with two fans on it pushing the air into the case also. I also had to replace the 140MM rear fan with a 120MM fan for the H50 so I used some cable ties to mount the 140MM fan on the roof of the case to help remove the heat from the case. The fans that came with the case are very quiet @ 100% but they are very low CFM fans too so they dont help move the air much.

Not only that but those plastic covers inside the case rattle a lot (I removed the cover over the HDD fan cause it rattled with the HDDs vibration) and the plastic blank 5 1/4" covers are loose so they rattle a little with the HDD vibration and I had to put foam under the feet of the case because there is no dampening for the HDD's so my computer desk was humming at me when the computer was running.

I love the size of my 800D and the front hot swap bay , but I think I will be changing the case for something better built as soon as I can. I had an Antec P190 and changed it because it was too small inside the motherboard area but it was better at cooling and the HDD's didnt make my desk hummmmmmmm at me. I will be looking out for a big case that is some bit decent (Better than my 800D) with good cooling , lots of internal space (like my 800D) and has HDD dampening. The 600T is a little bit too small for me though. I want a bigger case than that.

06-09-2010, 11:16:04

tinytomlogan
I actually think a full tower version of this case with 360mm rad support (50mm thick) would be a very good case tbh.

06-09-2010, 12:44:27

steve30x
Does it make much noise with the HDD's running or do you have the same problem I have with your computer desk with the vibration of the HDDs going from the computer case to the desk. I like my computer to be quiet and I hate the way my HDD's make such noise on my computer desk.

06-09-2010, 12:46:48

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve30x View Post

Does it make much noise with the HDD's running or do you have the same problem I have with your computer desk with the vibration of the HDDs going from the computer case to the desk. I like my computer to be quiet and I hate the way my HDD's make such noise on my computer desk.
Its pretty quiet tbh dude, but then Ive not used it daily or have any old clanky drives.

06-09-2010, 13:14:24

steve30x
All my hard drives are SATA II and they are two years old so theyre not old.

06-09-2010, 17:35:43

Notleh
Nice review and good call on the rating. At this price bracket a new case needs to be "wow", not "meh".

07-09-2010, 08:08:14

Taurus
Wont be getting one of these but I would like to know what the temps inside the case were like as in older case reviews (in the shed) temps between different cases were provided as a comparison using a set of standard components.

Hope future case reviews provide this info

07-09-2010, 08:14:32

SnowWhite
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taurus View Post

Hope future case reviews provide this info
Maybe Tom can add the temps he was getting in that review aka from those hardware diode(s) ?

07-09-2010, 08:43:25

equk
lol it looks like a coolermaster sniper

07-09-2010, 10:19:50

tinytomlogan
We are just about to initiate a STD set of case testing equipment again after retiring the Q6600 system. There are very small differences between cases with good airflow nowadays. But rest assured temps will be back soon.

07-09-2010, 10:31:17

Taurus
Tom,

As you very well pointed out in this review and the one for the 800d both cases could be better for very little extra cost to the manufacturer. I look forward to seeing future reviews with updated STD test kit and relevant temps.

07-09-2010, 13:52:12

silenthill
Can anyone tell me why there is a place for a water cooling radiator if you canít fit one in?

07-09-2010, 14:43:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

Can anyone tell me why there is a place for a water cooling radiator if you canít fit one in?
You can fit it in, but the options when using it are very limited!

Corsair say its an air case with water cooling 'option'.

It only needs to be a bit taller and it would be fine though

22-01-2011, 13:42:49

HOSS
I considered getting this case for a new build but after seeing your excellent review Iíve had second thoughts.

Thanks for the great in-depth review as always.

22-01-2011, 18:20:01

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by HOSS View Post

I considered getting this case for a new build but after seeing your excellent review Iíve had second thoughts.

Thanks for the great in-depth review as always.
But if you are going to get this case, I might be as bold to suggest you swap the top 200mm for two 120mm, sure it would bump the price up, but I would think it should improve cooling by an extra degrees or two.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.