Corsair 500R Review

Corsair Carbide 500R Review

Corsair 500R Review  

Introduction

There is something about white Corsair products that makes us go all fuzzy and warm, that mix of build quality and the subtle sexiness that a splash of white can provide (keep it clean). So with a warm fuzzy feeling not being caused by Emma Willis for once we finally get to take a look at the Corsair Carbide 500R.

Specifications

Corsair 500R Review 

Video Review



Conclusion

First things first, when we looked up the price of the 500R we thought there was a mistake as its priced at just £86. All of us here thought it would easily be around the £100 mark, its not very often a Corsair products leaves us thinking "OMG that's cheap" 

The 500R is essentially a 400R with a few tweaks, the outside has obviously had a face lift but the internal chassis is basically the same albeit it now has removable hard drive bays. These similarities have some good and bad points, good in that the 400R was a great case with great cooling and plenty of room to build a tidy rig. The bad point is pretty much everyone we have spoken to has been excited about water-cooling this and thought that radiator support was the main point of this over the 400R. Sadly from a bolt it straight in point the only useful radiator you will be bolting in this is the H100 because that's what's its been designed for almost to the MM. No useful sized (50mm+) radiators will be able to be fitted in the roof without not refitting the black mesh panel.

The side panel comes fitted with a clear 200mm fan that has white LEDS which is something the 400R didn't, the side panel does still support 2x 120mm fans or 2x 140mm fans should you wish to change them. It's also worth noting thanks to the bulge in the side panel that the fans should clear almost all heatsinks, having the NH-D14 in and side panels fans is not a problem for example. The mesh on the side panel is great for people wanting to pummel their rigs with 1000's of CFM's of air but there are some of us that actually like to look at what we have invested our hard earned cash into, so a window panel would have been a nice option here and it does seem a shame this wasn't thought of.

So no watercooling support and no window yet it still got gold? Right this is where I break ranks from the normal reviews and slide in a bit of the old school TTL. If you whiz out the HDD bays and maybe Dremel out a chunk of the optical bay you should be able to fit a 240mm radiator (easily 60mm thick with push pull) you will have to remove a section at the front of the case and mount the rad with a radiator grill so you have something to bolt to the case and also fit the rad to but its easily done with a few hours and the right tools. Same with the window panel, you can remove the tabs where the mesh mounts to the side panel with a Dremel, layer up some double sided foam tape and you can fit some acrylic there and still have the nice recess making it look like a factory fit! I'm not going to go into every last detail but its 100% able to be done if you have the tools and know which end of a Dremel is which!

The long and short of it is the 500R is a great case for the money out of the box and 90% of you will be perfectly happy with what gets delivered. The other 10% of you can get your tools out and make yours unique with minimal effort and claim those all important e-peen inches over the stock case boys! Its been a long time coming but thank you Corsair, for your efforts we can Award the 500R the first Gold award since we reviewed the white 600T!

   Gold award    

Thanks to Corsair for the sample we tested here today, you can discuss your thoughts of the review in our forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-11-2011, 04:34:45

tinytomlogan


Corsair finally release the 500R, time to see if it really is up to the OC3D standards!

Continue Reading

03-11-2011, 04:51:48

ThatBattlefieldGuy
Nice to see a decently priced case from Corsair. Nice review TTL

03-11-2011, 05:46:00

yassarikhan786
A very nice case for the price and it look's the dog's danglie's as well .

03-11-2011, 09:35:19

badtaylorx
if this is gold i think it may be time for an oc3d platinum award???

extreemly flexible....(not in a good way)

mesh window ONLY

no real options for custom watercooling...

looks good tho......

and comes in white....

bronze with a value award or silver alone at best

03-11-2011, 09:35:34

badtaylorx
how do you completely erase a dbbl post?????

03-11-2011, 10:10:23

UFN
Quote:
Originally Posted by badtaylorx View Post
snip
Yeah I was a touch surprised with the Gold Award as well, but thinking of other reviews I think it's still consistent.

Though there doesn't seem to be a set-in-stone standard for review awards, there is definitely some method in the madness (sorry about semi-OT)

03-11-2011, 10:16:20

Calibretto
I like white cases like the next guy, but I don't like the mix on this case. My immediate urge was to add that window Tom was on about and paint the middle white.

Looks like a nice case though. Removable hard drive cages kick ass. So A77F and K9, those kinds of things.

03-11-2011, 11:28:40

VengeanceUK
was it me or when the first hdd cage was removed, the case seemed to lose a ton of its rigidity?

the frame of it all seemed to start bending under minor pressure

03-11-2011, 13:03:28

Alicarve
just got my friend to order one of these so will be working on one soon

they do look nice in the white

03-11-2011, 13:08:42

Calibretto
Quote:
Originally Posted by VengeanceUK View Post

was it me or when the first hdd cage was removed, the case seemed to lose a ton of its rigidity?

the frame of it all seemed to start bending under minor pressure
Yeah in the video it seems to warp a tiny bit when he's leaning it towards the camera.

03-11-2011, 17:06:01

Solidarity
It's at a good price point, however I don't really like it.

03-11-2011, 17:45:08

CocaCola
Great review Tom. This case looks pretty cool. Lots of people have already been asking for this case so I don't think it'll be too bad. The price isn't bad either.

04-11-2011, 07:23:46

Pat123
Bought one of these very recently for my brothers new rig, a really nice case to work with! I never noticed any rigidity issues! Tom is putting quite a lot of force in to get those cages out! As said before, can't recommend this case enough for the price! Very nice finish. Great review as always Tom.

04-11-2011, 13:24:53

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by VengeanceUK View Post

was it me or when the first hdd cage was removed, the case seemed to lose a ton of its rigidity?

the frame of it all seemed to start bending under minor pressure
Yes i noticed that aswell... it was weird Tom didn't notice

04-11-2011, 23:06:15

WelshD1K
sre you sure it isnt just the camera...

because im sure tom would notice... and to eb fair look like the WHOLE case is moving not wobbling weakness...

24-12-2011, 04:03:19

The Sorcerer
That's because it IS weak.

Once the side panels and the HDD cage is present, it somewhat holds itself together but you can still feel its wobbly. Remove the HDD cage and front panel, that's where you see the strength of the case. Its so weak that possibility is high it can be damaged during transport itself. The top panel is removable.

http://i.imgur.com/8xdil.jpghttp://i.imgur.com/ISefs.jpghttp://i.imgur.com/V7sXs.jpg

Its sort of like how cardboard box works. Its weak when there's nothing in it. Open on both ends and its folds easily, with nothing more than staples on side holding the square (rivets in this case) but when you fill the stuff properly, the weight sort of "holds it together".

Nevertheless the packaging is inadequate and the case is too weak. I don't know if its the rivet or the rear panel being "soft", but the side panel, top panel's mesh filter, the rear panel (especially the area where you secure your side panel thumbscrews) and the entire front panel is prone to be damaged during transport. One might not mind on 400R because you're getting a lot of features, on a premium like a 500R it does leave a bad taste for one's money worth. Truth be told, after seeing 500R, I prefer 600T all the way.

JM2C
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.