CoolIT Freezone Elite CPU Cooler

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The temperatures seen on the previous page are fairly inconsistent with those seen from typical cooling devices. The Freezone Elite achieves fantastic idle temperatures, pulling the CPU down to just 16oC. This did, however require full power, which in turn created a huge amount of noise from the massive Panaflow fan and caused light condensation to form on the TEC covers and CPU block. The fact that these temperatures then swing in quite the opposite direction when introduced to load highlights what I would state as an inability to handle load.
 
The CPU used in this test was a simple, low powered, dual-core chip. After reading claims on the packaging that the unit is designed for todays high powered, quad-core CPU's, I was anxious to see whether the test CPU would be of use. Having seen the results obtained with an overclock nearly 700 MHz shy of what the little chip is actually capable of, I would say the unit has been pushed well enough.
 
While set to a target temp of around 15 degrees, with stock settings, the cooler manages to hold temperatures at an acceptable level with a very comfortable amount of noise, and would be ideal for a low powered computer in constant use such as an HTPC or in-home server.
 
The cooler is certainly very well made and is a quality piece of kit. Taking up little more space than todays high end air cooling solutions, the Elite is certainly a good idea for those not willing, or not able to use watercooling. It just has to be realised that TEC technology is not an efficient method of cooling - the amount of power used and heat generated clearly does not justify the temperatures we have seen. The cooler certainly performs better than advanced air cooling, but with load handling worse than results I have seen using water on a similar setup, I'm really not sure how on-target a price tag of around £300 is.
 
Nevertheless, the unit certainly does have its place in the market and for those with deep pockets, the unit is available at Overclockers UK.
 
 
The Good
- Compact
- Very well made
- Capable of very low noise output
 
The Mediocre
- Power draw
- Load handling
- CPU block finish
- Fiddly installation and lots of wires
 
The Bad
- Price
 
 
Overclock3D Innovation Award
 
Thanks to CoolIT for providing the Freezone Elite for review. Discuss this review in our forums
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-05-2008, 15:31:48

JN
"The CoolIT Freezone uses the age-old Peltier concept to try and keep your CPU's temperature under control. Does it work? We find out..."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...132625517s.png

CoolIT Freezone Elite Review by Llwyd Johnson

21-05-2008, 16:37:12

Socks
Seen those, love the idea of TEC cooling, got me thinking about doing something of my own, but then i realised how much money would be needed and thought against it. XD

From some other reviews i read, that thing sounds like a rocket taking off on full load, and that price tag?!?!? DAMN!!! no thanks.

21-05-2008, 17:44:33

Mr. Smith
Cr@p; they can barely handle a low end dual core oc'd and they cost a fortune.

Thumbs down.

21-05-2008, 18:31:54

Rastalovich
250 = ouch.

If it was competitively priced I think people would drum up even curious interest, I probably would.

21-05-2008, 20:00:09

Bungral
What a horrible horrible finish on the block... That's unacceptable at 250.

22-05-2008, 04:17:37

llwyd
Yea I dont really get whats going on there, low performance is one thing and there certainly is a market for it (although its probably priced itself out of that market) but a decent finish on the CPU block is the least you can hope for at that price. 5 Akasa coolers manage a better surface

It's an odd one because it really is fantastically well put together and has a lot of potential, just falls short in one too many important areas. I was speaking to Jim about it pre-publish and we both thought it was odd that the pelt is used to cool the water rather than to cool the CPU directly and the coolant / heatsink system used to cool the TEC

22-05-2008, 04:53:15

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
It's an odd one because it really is fantastically well put together and has a lot of potential, just falls short in one too many important areas. I was speaking to Jim about it pre-publish and we both thought it was odd that the pelt is used to cool the water rather than to cool the CPU directly and the coolant / heatsink system used to cool the TEC
Fundamental design flaw. Even if they addressed this I imagine the tec would be so weak that the cooling it offered would still be execrable for the price. As Llwyd stated there is a market for ‘ok’ all in one cooling but they have overpriced the product, even at 125 I’d say this was a rip off. A 40 air cooler gives it a run for its money.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again they should change their name – Cool(sh)IT

I feel sorry for retailers who stock this

22-05-2008, 08:19:54

llwyd
lol I wouldn't worry about sales, its brushed alu, lights and fancy peltier technology will easily woo the more well off thermaltake type buyers. Personally I would 100%, no question about it and nothing that could convince me otherwise, buy the NH-C12P I reviewed recently. It performs on par at higher loads (what matters) and doesn't ever sound like a space shuttle launch.

To convince me otherwise it would have to cost 75% less and perform 25% more

22-05-2008, 08:36:04

Rastalovich
I will say 1 +ve thing about the project tho.

It`s something that is appealing in it`s concept - if u like.

Block type cooler for the cpu - some wc type tubes/cabling, that runs off to something u can put in a drive bay.. extremely quiet fannage ..

Perfect tbh !

With pricing thrown around, I`d hesitantly pay 75 for a good project like this. If it was prooven to be 2ce as good as a scythe tower - I`d stretch 100-150. That way I see it as an investment as well as competeing with a full wc solution.

If it was absolutely an outstanding project with temps below 40 under load at all times with major quietness... 200? hmmm possibly, it`d have to be very prooven. I`d probably want connectors for other blocks tho LOL

22-05-2008, 08:40:29

llwyd
Yea but unfortunately then you would be talking some serious TECage, which would need its own power supply and a solution to condensation.

The coolit elite TECs were only like 80W in total, 40W per bank of 3 TECs and they managed to develop some slight condensation. I reckon if the coolant pulled much more below 11*C it wouldve started to drip

One idea would be a self contained unit, like the Elite but with the option for custom watercooling. Or a similar unit with higher wattage TECs and a 240mm radiator as part of the unit instead of the alu heatsink seen here

27-05-2008, 12:50:30

usman.zx10
i have been looking into this unit for a bit now, but i guess i will steer away from it for a complete watercooling solution.

im thinking koolance.

27-05-2008, 14:27:55

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='usman.zx10'
i have been looking into this unit for a bit now, but i guess i will steer away from it for a complete watercooling solution.

im thinking koolance.
I'm thinking you should think not koolance

Try asking in our w/c forum, we will spend your dosh on something nice and shiny
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.