CoolIT Freezone Elite CPU Cooler

Packaging & Cooler

Packaging
 
The box for the Freezone Elite is certainly pretty hefty. Measuring in at 20 x 24 x 35 cm it is safe to assume the inside of the box will be well padded with protection for the product.
 
Most of the boxes surfaces are printed with specifications or quotes from product reviews:
 
Coolit Box  coolit box
Coolit Box
 
 
Once the internal package has been slid from the cardboard sleeve we can see that the unit is indeed well protected with a thick layer of medium density polystyrene.
 
Inside Box  Inside Box
 
Inside this polystyrene box, new owners of the Freezone Elite will find:
 
1 x Freezone Elite Cooler
1 x MTEC Control Center
1 x 12v adapter
1 x USB input cable
1 x 775 mounting kit
1 x AM2 mounting kit
User guide and software
 
Unfortunately the cooler had picked up some superficial damage to the heatsink. Looking at the damage, however, I would say the damage was done during or before assembly of the unit:
 
Heatsink Damage
 
 
The Cooler
 
Usually with mass produced atypical cooling solutions (ie - ThermalTake) a lot of care goes into the looks of the product, with build quality and attention to detail falling by the wayside. I will say now that I really did expect the Freezone Elite to be somewhat the same; a crudely assembled chiller unit with a slick looking brushed aluminium cover. Once the cooler is out of its box however, you are able to really get a good look at every part of the system and quickly establish that this couldn't be further from the truth.
 
Cooler  Cooler Fan
 
Cooler Side   
 
The cooler, while actually fairly basic in design, looks very solid and neatly assembled. Each hose end is well sealed with crimped O-Rings; all the wires are well sealed with heatshrink, and every single bolt is done up tightly and the anti-kink coils are well secured at each end. The Coolit logo you can see cut in the faceplate is backed with a light emitting sheet and lights up a cool blue when in operation.
 
Pump
 
Hose Clips 
 
The main feature of this cooler is the rows of TEC blocks, across which the coolant is pumped to lower its temperatures. As you can see the blocks are well secured to both the waterblocks and heat dissipating HSF with what looks to be a thermally conductive adhesive.
 
One small let down I have to point out is the finish on the CPU block. Now it is usual for some CPU blocks to show signs of grinding in an effort to create a flat surface, leaving them with a slight surface grain in one direction. The block on the Freezone Elite however, appears to have been attacked from more than one direction with a grinder in what indeed looks like a method of flattening (small patches have escaped abrasion). Perhaps the unit will produce temperatures low enough for this not to matter but it would be nice to see a clean and polished surface here as it is after all, the 'business end'.
 
CPU Contact Surface
 
 The extras listed above are all of fair quality. All of the mounting equipment looks substantial, the MTEC control unit, while feeling a bit 'plasticy' (it is plastic) is equipped with good quality connectors and the wires included are nicely braided and sealed with heatshrink.
 
 
 
MTEC Unit Side  MTEC Unit End
MTEC Control Unit  Cables 
 Mounting Equipment
 
The fan attached to the bulky heatsink is a Panaflow NMB-MAT with the model number FBA12G12H.
 
Fan
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-05-2008, 15:31:48

JN
"The CoolIT Freezone uses the age-old Peltier concept to try and keep your CPU's temperature under control. Does it work? We find out..."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...132625517s.png

CoolIT Freezone Elite Review by Llwyd Johnson

21-05-2008, 16:37:12

Socks
Seen those, love the idea of TEC cooling, got me thinking about doing something of my own, but then i realised how much money would be needed and thought against it. XD

From some other reviews i read, that thing sounds like a rocket taking off on full load, and that price tag?!?!? DAMN!!! no thanks.

21-05-2008, 17:44:33

Mr. Smith
Cr@p; they can barely handle a low end dual core oc'd and they cost a fortune.

Thumbs down.

21-05-2008, 18:31:54

Rastalovich
250 = ouch.

If it was competitively priced I think people would drum up even curious interest, I probably would.

21-05-2008, 20:00:09

Bungral
What a horrible horrible finish on the block... That's unacceptable at 250.

22-05-2008, 04:17:37

llwyd
Yea I dont really get whats going on there, low performance is one thing and there certainly is a market for it (although its probably priced itself out of that market) but a decent finish on the CPU block is the least you can hope for at that price. 5 Akasa coolers manage a better surface

It's an odd one because it really is fantastically well put together and has a lot of potential, just falls short in one too many important areas. I was speaking to Jim about it pre-publish and we both thought it was odd that the pelt is used to cool the water rather than to cool the CPU directly and the coolant / heatsink system used to cool the TEC

22-05-2008, 04:53:15

Mr. Smith
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
It's an odd one because it really is fantastically well put together and has a lot of potential, just falls short in one too many important areas. I was speaking to Jim about it pre-publish and we both thought it was odd that the pelt is used to cool the water rather than to cool the CPU directly and the coolant / heatsink system used to cool the TEC
Fundamental design flaw. Even if they addressed this I imagine the tec would be so weak that the cooling it offered would still be execrable for the price. As Llwyd stated there is a market for ‘ok’ all in one cooling but they have overpriced the product, even at 125 I’d say this was a rip off. A 40 air cooler gives it a run for its money.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again they should change their name – Cool(sh)IT

I feel sorry for retailers who stock this

22-05-2008, 08:19:54

llwyd
lol I wouldn't worry about sales, its brushed alu, lights and fancy peltier technology will easily woo the more well off thermaltake type buyers. Personally I would 100%, no question about it and nothing that could convince me otherwise, buy the NH-C12P I reviewed recently. It performs on par at higher loads (what matters) and doesn't ever sound like a space shuttle launch.

To convince me otherwise it would have to cost 75% less and perform 25% more

22-05-2008, 08:36:04

Rastalovich
I will say 1 +ve thing about the project tho.

It`s something that is appealing in it`s concept - if u like.

Block type cooler for the cpu - some wc type tubes/cabling, that runs off to something u can put in a drive bay.. extremely quiet fannage ..

Perfect tbh !

With pricing thrown around, I`d hesitantly pay 75 for a good project like this. If it was prooven to be 2ce as good as a scythe tower - I`d stretch 100-150. That way I see it as an investment as well as competeing with a full wc solution.

If it was absolutely an outstanding project with temps below 40 under load at all times with major quietness... 200? hmmm possibly, it`d have to be very prooven. I`d probably want connectors for other blocks tho LOL

22-05-2008, 08:40:29

llwyd
Yea but unfortunately then you would be talking some serious TECage, which would need its own power supply and a solution to condensation.

The coolit elite TECs were only like 80W in total, 40W per bank of 3 TECs and they managed to develop some slight condensation. I reckon if the coolant pulled much more below 11*C it wouldve started to drip

One idea would be a self contained unit, like the Elite but with the option for custom watercooling. Or a similar unit with higher wattage TECs and a 240mm radiator as part of the unit instead of the alu heatsink seen here

27-05-2008, 12:50:30

usman.zx10
i have been looking into this unit for a bit now, but i guess i will steer away from it for a complete watercooling solution.

im thinking koolance.

27-05-2008, 14:27:55

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='usman.zx10'
i have been looking into this unit for a bit now, but i guess i will steer away from it for a complete watercooling solution.

im thinking koolance.
I'm thinking you should think not koolance

Try asking in our w/c forum, we will spend your dosh on something nice and shiny
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.