Coolit Domino A.L.C. DM-1000 CPU Cooler

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
So how do we sum up the Domino A.L.C? Well over the last few pages we've seen that it's a well built unit that feels solid enough to last. The Domino is a good looking solution too, that might be down to the fact that once installed you can't see much more than the panel that houses the LCD display, but we can let that go. Installation couldn't be easier with a thorough instruction manual that would manage to guide my grandma through the fitting process.
 
The performance  is a little here and there, depending on what your looking for in a cooler the Domino could be everything you need or a worst nightmare. The performance when the unit is running at it's highest setting is extremely impressive. The CPU tests yielded some good results, the highest temperature hitting 62°C which is more than acceptable.The simulated load results were even more promising with the Domino all out blitzing all other coolers tested here. The highest temp seen on the 200w test being still under 50°C! This is certainly impressive for an all in one cooler. The trade off for these nice temperatures however, is the fact that the Coolit is frankly far too loud at it's most powerful. This is a let-down, but then we have to sit back and look at the other two modes that the Domino comes pre-programed with. The mid setting was quite acceptable in the noise department, but the temperatures did suffer on the CPU tests. Most of the temperatures were quite reasonable, but again the hottest overclocked and loaded state approached 70°C, but managed to hold back from it by 2°C. The lowest setting however is, as you'd expect, the quietest. But the temperatures do suffer even more. The hottest test this time beating 70°C by 2°C which is a little toasty.
 
The Domino can be found over at various etailers for £75-80, for example Novatech have it for £77.04 at the time of writing, making it a tad on the expensive side as far as coolers go.
 
Overall I've been a lot more impressed with the Domino than I thought I would be going into this review. Most surprising was the simulated results, showing it's a very capable cooler. It's a tough call when it comes to recommending this over a lot of the high end air heat sinks however. It's a few more pennies, but it does offer a little more versatility via it's three performance levels.
 
 
The Good
- Cooling performance at high setting
- Noise levels at low setting
- Looks good
- Protective Packaging
- Simple Installation
 
 
The Mediocre
- Price may not be justifiable
 
 
The Bad
- Noise at high setting
 
 
 
Thanks to Coolit for providing the sample for review.
 
Discuss in the forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2009, 14:48:10

JN
"Looking for something a little different to keep you CPU cool? Take a look inside to see if Coolit's Domino A.L.C. will fit the bill..."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...191347175s.jpg

Coolit Domino A.L.C. DM-1000 CPU Cooler

02-07-2009, 15:10:36

Rastalovich
Great review.

I'm taking note that 1stly the price isn't as scary as some of the predecessors of these kind of units. Installation looks a cinch. Noises are an obvious concern . And they throw in an led panel.. which surprises me when they're sticking to 75+ (roughly the price of 2x competitor air coolers ?)

I said these things were going to get better and better, and it would be foolish to simply laugh them off when they 1st appeared. Thing we gotta bear in mind is even this unit is going to be improved on.

Let's say they change the pump, fluid and fan in the future, whilst doing a deal with a company regarding prices. Ham loses the irritating noises on the Version2 and the temps are a little better.. think we'd be that much more impressed.

Good stuff. Not quite there for me, but it's great to see how far these units have come, and hope they grab a little more respect. Even so, I'd not mock any1 wishing to buy this model to try it, I'd be eager to go look at it myself.

03-07-2009, 06:13:34

uchihas
I think it has a really great price. You get a fully built water cooler for a little more of the price of an IFX-14.

It's not the best, but it's the cheapest one, you can't demand the same to this than to a 500 water cooling solution.

It's a good way for people who want to try water cooling but don't have patience to build or don't have money.

03-07-2009, 06:39:09

themcman1
At least it's not completely awful.

I don't think many people on here would go for it though.

03-07-2009, 08:20:42

Datamonkey
Nice review,

Looks ideal for someone who wants to try out water cooling, wouldnt expect an enthusiast to buy one.

hmmm wonder if it could be modded to cool a graphics card

Saying that current gpu's throw out more heat than cpu's at the moment.

06-07-2009, 04:39:54

mayhem
still have my doubt. the type of people fitting this wont have much of a clue about water cooling and to be honest it would surprise me if they got the temps you did inside a case.

Yup the price is cheap when comparing to other water cooling solution but would the price be worth it over air cooling not really. id say middle of the road but defiantly not a buy for me and would not recommend to any way.

I wonder though if you cut the pipes off, and put in you own pump and tubing and changed the compound to some thing decent would this improve the over all temps ...

call it modding a moders peace of kit lol.

The only problem i have as well is how accurate is the lcd.

Another thing im seeing plenty of reviews of this product and its being talk about , But what about there next version up the one that uses Tec's to cool the system and all so have Software controlled monitoring and adjustments ... There doesn't seem to be much info about that on the net or any reviews.

06-07-2009, 05:09:25

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

Yup the price is cheap when comparing to other water cooling solution but would the price be worth it over air cooling not really. id say middle of the road but defiantly not a buy for me and would not recommend to any way.
Once place I thought that this could definitely come in useful is in a PC that is regularly moved around (like a LAN rig). Rather than having a big heavy cooler bending your motherboard out of shape in the boot of your car, this probably puts little/no stress on the socket at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

Another thing im seeing plenty of reviews of this product and its being talk about , But what about there next version up the one that uses Tec's to cool the system and all so have Software controlled monitoring and adjustments ... There doesn't seem to be much info about that on the net or any reviews.
This the one you mean: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/cases_cooling/coolit_freezone_elite_cpu_cooler/1 ?

06-07-2009, 05:13:49

mayhem
LOl thks jim yeh that's the one ... didnt see that.

06-07-2009, 05:20:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
LOl thks jim yeh that's the one ... didnt see that.
Its weird because the Elite has been around donkey's years, but I think there's a slightly modified version on its way out soon that addresses some of the 'issues' of the original. I do believe we're on the cards for a look at the new one too, so watch this space

16-10-2009, 11:54:57

harrydavidson
Great review, I will def choose this over the Corsair when i get paid at the end of the month!

16-10-2009, 14:22:19

Motoman
These systems are for very basic beginer's into water cooling arena, if you have a hot running cpu I would doubt you get temps that are good enough to use it. But they are a begining into water cooling and have thier place.

17-10-2009, 01:44:50

Socks
horrible things.....

might as well stick to air cooling if buying one of these...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.