Coolit Domino A.L.C. DM-1000 CPU Cooler

Apperance

Appearance
 
Looking over the Coolit Domino you see it's a pretty simple device really. The pump, radiator and reservoir are all built into one section. With the tubing protruding from it and out to meet the block.
 
 
The block is a pretty simple affair, low profile and quite unsubstantial when weighed up against the likes of the XSPC Delta. The base, as the cooler arrived, was covered in a grey TIM, hiding what appears to be a quite shiny surface underneath. This made me wonder as to what metal the block is made of and whether or not it was plated. The mounting bracket fit with a simple plastic screw and washer. The screw would have been more confidence inspiring if it was metal, but it didn't really serve more of a purpose than to stop the plate falling off while you mount it so it wasn't really a massive issue.
 
 
The tubing was stiff. Very stiff. As you may be able to tell from the pictures, however, once bent into place it stayed there. It wouldn't surprise me if there was some form of wire inside to aid it's malleability.
 
 
The pump/res/rad part of the unit felt fairly solid. Starting with the outside, panel containing the LCD was rather swish looking, bearing the mark of Coolit Systems and letting anyone who takes a peak in you case (or though a window) exactly which of their products your using. The LCD its self isn't massive, but we will have to see if it does the job while testing. Moving around we come to a standard 120mm fan. The rubber mounts come pre attached, but as you will see form the accessories below you also have the option to mount the cooler with screws. I for one am a bit sceptical of how firm a grip these rubber mounts will produce, so we have another thing to add to our checklist when testing swings around.
 
 
Swinging the camera further around we see the rad. This looked very much like most of the PC water cooling radiators I've seen in my time and felt a little reminiscent of a Thermochill radiator. There was a few very minor bent fins on the face of the rad, perhaps packaging could have been a little better to stop the block causing havoc.
 
 
Lastly we see the pump, and compact isn't the word to describe it. It makes Laing's DDC look like the empire state building. This does cast concern over its performance though. If it's so small the motor can't be massively powerful, and therefore will it limit the flow? Although with such thin tubing, will it matter? More to find out with testing!
 
 
Coolit don't shower you with accessories with the Domino, but you don't need more than what they give you. There's a mount and back plate for every modern socket (including LGA1366), along with a pile of screws to mount the product if the rubber seems inadequate and a detailed instruction manual of which I was rather impressed with.
 
So the Domino is a fairly good looking, well built bit of kit. Next up we'll see if it maintains it's standards in the area of performance and functionality.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2009, 14:48:10

JN
"Looking for something a little different to keep you CPU cool? Take a look inside to see if Coolit's Domino A.L.C. will fit the bill..."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...191347175s.jpg

Coolit Domino A.L.C. DM-1000 CPU Cooler

02-07-2009, 15:10:36

Rastalovich
Great review.

I'm taking note that 1stly the price isn't as scary as some of the predecessors of these kind of units. Installation looks a cinch. Noises are an obvious concern . And they throw in an led panel.. which surprises me when they're sticking to 75+ (roughly the price of 2x competitor air coolers ?)

I said these things were going to get better and better, and it would be foolish to simply laugh them off when they 1st appeared. Thing we gotta bear in mind is even this unit is going to be improved on.

Let's say they change the pump, fluid and fan in the future, whilst doing a deal with a company regarding prices. Ham loses the irritating noises on the Version2 and the temps are a little better.. think we'd be that much more impressed.

Good stuff. Not quite there for me, but it's great to see how far these units have come, and hope they grab a little more respect. Even so, I'd not mock any1 wishing to buy this model to try it, I'd be eager to go look at it myself.

03-07-2009, 06:13:34

uchihas
I think it has a really great price. You get a fully built water cooler for a little more of the price of an IFX-14.

It's not the best, but it's the cheapest one, you can't demand the same to this than to a 500 water cooling solution.

It's a good way for people who want to try water cooling but don't have patience to build or don't have money.

03-07-2009, 06:39:09

themcman1
At least it's not completely awful.

I don't think many people on here would go for it though.

03-07-2009, 08:20:42

Datamonkey
Nice review,

Looks ideal for someone who wants to try out water cooling, wouldnt expect an enthusiast to buy one.

hmmm wonder if it could be modded to cool a graphics card

Saying that current gpu's throw out more heat than cpu's at the moment.

06-07-2009, 04:39:54

mayhem
still have my doubt. the type of people fitting this wont have much of a clue about water cooling and to be honest it would surprise me if they got the temps you did inside a case.

Yup the price is cheap when comparing to other water cooling solution but would the price be worth it over air cooling not really. id say middle of the road but defiantly not a buy for me and would not recommend to any way.

I wonder though if you cut the pipes off, and put in you own pump and tubing and changed the compound to some thing decent would this improve the over all temps ...

call it modding a moders peace of kit lol.

The only problem i have as well is how accurate is the lcd.

Another thing im seeing plenty of reviews of this product and its being talk about , But what about there next version up the one that uses Tec's to cool the system and all so have Software controlled monitoring and adjustments ... There doesn't seem to be much info about that on the net or any reviews.

06-07-2009, 05:09:25

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

Yup the price is cheap when comparing to other water cooling solution but would the price be worth it over air cooling not really. id say middle of the road but defiantly not a buy for me and would not recommend to any way.
Once place I thought that this could definitely come in useful is in a PC that is regularly moved around (like a LAN rig). Rather than having a big heavy cooler bending your motherboard out of shape in the boot of your car, this probably puts little/no stress on the socket at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'

Another thing im seeing plenty of reviews of this product and its being talk about , But what about there next version up the one that uses Tec's to cool the system and all so have Software controlled monitoring and adjustments ... There doesn't seem to be much info about that on the net or any reviews.
This the one you mean: http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews.php?/cases_cooling/coolit_freezone_elite_cpu_cooler/1 ?

06-07-2009, 05:13:49

mayhem
LOl thks jim yeh that's the one ... didnt see that.

06-07-2009, 05:20:24

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mayhem'
LOl thks jim yeh that's the one ... didnt see that.
Its weird because the Elite has been around donkey's years, but I think there's a slightly modified version on its way out soon that addresses some of the 'issues' of the original. I do believe we're on the cards for a look at the new one too, so watch this space

16-10-2009, 11:54:57

harrydavidson
Great review, I will def choose this over the Corsair when i get paid at the end of the month!

16-10-2009, 14:22:19

Motoman
These systems are for very basic beginer's into water cooling arena, if you have a hot running cpu I would doubt you get temps that are good enough to use it. But they are a begining into water cooling and have thier place.

17-10-2009, 01:44:50

Socks
horrible things.....

might as well stick to air cooling if buying one of these...
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.