CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

Cooling Options

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Cooling Options

The roof of the case offers 65mm of space which if you're using 25mm thick fans means you'll be able to get any rad no greater than 40mm thick up here.  This means along with custom rads such as the Hardware labs Black Ice GT Stealth series you'll also be able to fit the thicker XSPC RS240.  Any of the current crop of 240mm AIOs, including CoolerMasters own Eisberg and Seidon 240 series will also fit just fine, along with others such as Corsairs H100i.  However, as NZXTs Kraken X60 is a 280mm unit it just isn't going to fit up here. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

There is hover a slight limiting factor in placing rads in the roof, and that is that as the rebate into the roof is 29mm deep by 285mm long, whichever rad you opt for must fit into this rebate.  This means that no rad greater than 285mm is going to fit up here (assuming side ports on the end tank).  As a result the XSPC EX cross flow at 290mm long will be too big as well as AX series at just 1mm over the 285mm of space available.  Now you might be thinking that it'd be easy sorted by just sticking the fans in first and slinging the rad underneath, allowing it to protrude proud of the rebate.  However, as the rebate is 29mm deep, and a case fan is only 25mm thick this won't work.  In the image below left you can see we've placed an XSPC RS 240 in the hole, which at 277mm long is still a snug fit.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

 

If you are after placing a thicker rad then the front of the case is the pace to be.  With all the drive cages removed the world is pretty much you oyster, however, with the gap between the floor of the 5.25" bays and the floor of the case being just 290mm you're still going to have to be mindful of the length of the rad.  It's also worth bearing in mind that you're going to have to steer it past the various lugs and tabs that stick out so if you're planning a build using a thick rad it might be worth putting it in first before anything else.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Fortunately if you need to retain some storage and still fancy a thicker rad or perhaps a push pull set up then all is not lost as the lower drive cage can actually be relocated further inboard opening up a gap of some 60mm in which to play.  In the example below we've again used the 35mm think RS240 both with and without an extra set of fans.  It fit's but only just.  It is though a cert that any of the AIOs which are way under 35mm thick will go in here as a push pull set up just fine.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

 

If you're still using air then the 690 III is also a good proposition, able as it is to take coolers up to 171mm in height.  The Havik 120 that we use for comparison purposes fits in here a treat, looking well proportioned to the rest of the case.            

    CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2013, 05:25:10

tinytomlogan
Oh boy, the new CM 690 III is here. Are we excited or what! We loved the first two generations so hopes are high.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164733182l.JPG


Continue Reading

16-09-2013, 05:32:45

Etlar
Miss a link :-D

16-09-2013, 06:51:20

barnsley
Everytime I see this case it reminds me how much of a copy my enermax case is of this :l.

Anyway, good to see that its still a strong, solid performer.

16-09-2013, 06:53:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etlar View Post
Miss a link :-D
Easy doofus I was still putting it live.

16-09-2013, 08:22:57

Saltire35
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.

http://imagescdn.tweaktown.com/news/...the_690_ii.jpg

16-09-2013, 08:26:07

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.

16-09-2013, 08:28:51

Saltire35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.
When I had the case, eBuyer were the only place that stocked them when they first came out.

16-09-2013, 16:32:28

Spiderz
Damm G-Dubz has been busy with the reviews recently. Do like the look of this case more than the II but at that money I'd honestly prefer the fractals.

16-09-2013, 18:51:37

Mgutierrez33
Great review. I'll never understand why grommets aren't included in this chassis, but once a windowed version releases my girlfriend's rig may be moving into one of these for sure.

17-09-2013, 01:36:30

deejayburnout
what a nice case. Might have to get my kids to buy me one for christmas.

17-09-2013, 08:59:36

Ady6UK
Windowed and non windowed versions available on pre order in the UK at Scan. About 5 difference between the two:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...usb-30-w-o-psu
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...window-w-o-psu

24-11-2013, 20:45:36

Mosephuss
Sadly I can't find it on amazon. I hope it sill be available in the US a bit more by the time I get my pc so I don't have to order from a different website.

06-02-2014, 18:41:00

Michel Merlin
What is the TRUE GPU compatibility of the CM 693 (with all HDD trays in place)?

Still little available, or expensive: $150 on CM 690 III - black - Mid Tower (amazon.com), 93.00 EUR ($126) on Cooler Master CM 690 III Ordinateur de bureau (amazon.fr), 98.91 ($161) on Cooler Master CM690 III, ohne Netzteil (amazon.co.uk).

For the GPU compatibility, all sites endlessly repeat Cooler Master site's "423mm" which is a joke: this is obviously the card length you can insert after removing the upper HDD cage; none shows the true compatibility, i.e. with keeping and using both HDD cages with all their trays, which is probably around 300mm. TIA to the one who would be able to post the true value.

Versailles, Fri 07 Feb 2014 00:41:00 +0100

03-07-2014, 14:26:20

PhatBastard
Just bought this for 79.99, it's windowed, comes with grommets and came with a free Cooler Master Seidon 120V AIO 120cm water cooler!

Got mine from Ebuyer. http://www.ebuyer.com/584015-cooler-...s-693-kwn1-s12
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.