CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

Up Close: Interior Overview and Drive Bays

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Up Close:  Interior Overview and Drive Bays

The CM690 has a spacious interior with a large CPU cut out.  Although it's by no means the largest we've seen it should be plenty big enough to allow hassle free installation of CPU coolers up to the 171mm in height that the case permits..  The three vertical cable management holes are on the slim side and again although they should be fine it would have been nice to see rubber grommets in a case at this price point.  Turning our attention to the 3x5.25" bays we can see that as expected they are of the tool free variety. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

It's when we start to look at the internal storage area that things start to get really quite interesting.  With the prices of SSDs dropping faster than a Granny on ice skates we're starting to see manufacturers come up with ever more ingenious ways of handling them and their older HDD siblings.  with the 690 III CoolerMaster have opted for a fully modular system of two cages, each of which can be either dismantled or re configured.  At point of delivery the drives are configured as you see them below left, the set being 3x3.5" underneath 4x2.5".  In this configuration the 690 III will be able to accept a GPU of up to 310mm (not including plugs).  Undoing a few screws and moving the end wall of the upper rack outwards converts the assembly into 7x3.5".  Obviously changing the drive configuration is going to affect the maximum GPU length, reducing it as it does down to a maximum of 260mm.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Not too bothered about storage, but have an old school monster GPU to find a home for?  No problem, dismantling the upper rack will up the max GPU length to 423mm.  And if you really need to you can always remove the lower rack.  And what do we see when we do?  Mounting holes for a 240mm rad, that's what.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Whereas the lower rack comes out in one piece, the upper rack comes apart on removal, giving you that slight "oh crap what have I done" feeling.  It is in fact a piece of piddle to put back together so you can keep a firm grip on your man card for now.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

As necessity is the mother of invention CoolerMaster have come up with a rather clever method of adapting what appears to be a standard HDD caddy to accept both 2.5" and 3.5" drives.  Releasing a small catch underneath allows the caddy to be pulled open to just wider than the desired width allowing the drive to be slotted in and the caddy slid shut around it.   

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Manufacturers are also coming up with other ingenious hiding places for the slim line SSD, with CoolerMaster being no exception the 690 III has a mount on the floor of the lower 5.25" bay as well as the floor of the actual case.  At least that'll stop people putting fans down there.

 CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2013, 05:25:10

tinytomlogan
Oh boy, the new CM 690 III is here. Are we excited or what! We loved the first two generations so hopes are high.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164733182l.JPG


Continue Reading

16-09-2013, 05:32:45

Etlar
Miss a link :-D

16-09-2013, 06:51:20

barnsley
Everytime I see this case it reminds me how much of a copy my enermax case is of this :l.

Anyway, good to see that its still a strong, solid performer.

16-09-2013, 06:53:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etlar View Post
Miss a link :-D
Easy doofus I was still putting it live.

16-09-2013, 08:22:57

Saltire35
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.

http://imagescdn.tweaktown.com/news/...the_690_ii.jpg

16-09-2013, 08:26:07

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.

16-09-2013, 08:28:51

Saltire35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.
When I had the case, eBuyer were the only place that stocked them when they first came out.

16-09-2013, 16:32:28

Spiderz
Damm G-Dubz has been busy with the reviews recently. Do like the look of this case more than the II but at that money I'd honestly prefer the fractals.

16-09-2013, 18:51:37

Mgutierrez33
Great review. I'll never understand why grommets aren't included in this chassis, but once a windowed version releases my girlfriend's rig may be moving into one of these for sure.

17-09-2013, 01:36:30

deejayburnout
what a nice case. Might have to get my kids to buy me one for christmas.

17-09-2013, 08:59:36

Ady6UK
Windowed and non windowed versions available on pre order in the UK at Scan. About 5 difference between the two:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...usb-30-w-o-psu
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...window-w-o-psu

24-11-2013, 20:45:36

Mosephuss
Sadly I can't find it on amazon. I hope it sill be available in the US a bit more by the time I get my pc so I don't have to order from a different website.

06-02-2014, 18:41:00

Michel Merlin
What is the TRUE GPU compatibility of the CM 693 (with all HDD trays in place)?

Still little available, or expensive: $150 on CM 690 III - black - Mid Tower (amazon.com), 93.00 EUR ($126) on Cooler Master CM 690 III Ordinateur de bureau (amazon.fr), 98.91 ($161) on Cooler Master CM690 III, ohne Netzteil (amazon.co.uk).

For the GPU compatibility, all sites endlessly repeat Cooler Master site's "423mm" which is a joke: this is obviously the card length you can insert after removing the upper HDD cage; none shows the true compatibility, i.e. with keeping and using both HDD cages with all their trays, which is probably around 300mm. TIA to the one who would be able to post the true value.

Versailles, Fri 07 Feb 2014 00:41:00 +0100
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.