CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

Up Close: Roof, Rear and Base

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Up Close:  Roof, Rear and Base

The majority of the roof of the case is given over to a large rectangular mesh panel.  Anterior to this there's a high gloss smoked/opaque acrylic sheet that slots into guides providing a sliding access to a decent sized cubby hole beneath.  There is nothing elegant or sophisticated about the sliding action, indeed, it does tend to stick a little and we suspect it won't be too long before the high gloss finish is covered in greasy fingerprints.  A better alternative may have been to hinge the panel, or perhaps to make it from the mesh material and so extend this along the roof. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

The mesh panel is easily removed by means of a thumb bolt at the rear.  Lifting it cleanly off reveals fixings for 2x120mm or 2x140mm fans.  Although the fixings aren't shown in the image below, the roof is also able to take a 200mm fan.  The observant amongst you will also have noticed that several of the screw holes are elongated, hinting at the cases ability to house 240 rads in the roof.  There's not really enough room up here to stick a fan in, but as you'll see when we move to the build, there's plenty of room on offer inside.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

As well as providing cover for a little cubby box the sliding panel also serves to blank off the front I/O area when it's not in use. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

A pair of USB3.0s are teamed up with a pair of USB2.0s, the usual audio headers and a separate power and reset switch. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Round the back all is much as you would expect.  A single 120mm fan on extract sits above a trio of rubber grommeted tubing holes (please stop this).  Below we find 7 vented PCI slot covers with an additional vertically mounted cover providing a mounting option for devices that do not need motherboard connection, such as fan and lighting controllers.      

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

The case is supported by four large rubber capped feet which give it a very firm base to stand on.  a long slim removable dust filter covers the PSU and base fan area.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2013, 05:25:10

tinytomlogan
Oh boy, the new CM 690 III is here. Are we excited or what! We loved the first two generations so hopes are high.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164733182l.JPG


Continue Reading

16-09-2013, 05:32:45

Etlar
Miss a link :-D

16-09-2013, 06:51:20

barnsley
Everytime I see this case it reminds me how much of a copy my enermax case is of this :l.

Anyway, good to see that its still a strong, solid performer.

16-09-2013, 06:53:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etlar View Post
Miss a link :-D
Easy doofus I was still putting it live.

16-09-2013, 08:22:57

Saltire35
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.

http://imagescdn.tweaktown.com/news/...the_690_ii.jpg

16-09-2013, 08:26:07

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.

16-09-2013, 08:28:51

Saltire35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.
When I had the case, eBuyer were the only place that stocked them when they first came out.

16-09-2013, 16:32:28

Spiderz
Damm G-Dubz has been busy with the reviews recently. Do like the look of this case more than the II but at that money I'd honestly prefer the fractals.

16-09-2013, 18:51:37

Mgutierrez33
Great review. I'll never understand why grommets aren't included in this chassis, but once a windowed version releases my girlfriend's rig may be moving into one of these for sure.

17-09-2013, 01:36:30

deejayburnout
what a nice case. Might have to get my kids to buy me one for christmas.

17-09-2013, 08:59:36

Ady6UK
Windowed and non windowed versions available on pre order in the UK at Scan. About 5 difference between the two:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...usb-30-w-o-psu
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...window-w-o-psu

24-11-2013, 20:45:36

Mosephuss
Sadly I can't find it on amazon. I hope it sill be available in the US a bit more by the time I get my pc so I don't have to order from a different website.

06-02-2014, 18:41:00

Michel Merlin
What is the TRUE GPU compatibility of the CM 693 (with all HDD trays in place)?

Still little available, or expensive: $150 on CM 690 III - black - Mid Tower (amazon.com), 93.00 EUR ($126) on Cooler Master CM 690 III Ordinateur de bureau (amazon.fr), 98.91 ($161) on Cooler Master CM690 III, ohne Netzteil (amazon.co.uk).

For the GPU compatibility, all sites endlessly repeat Cooler Master site's "423mm" which is a joke: this is obviously the card length you can insert after removing the upper HDD cage; none shows the true compatibility, i.e. with keeping and using both HDD cages with all their trays, which is probably around 300mm. TIA to the one who would be able to post the true value.

Versailles, Fri 07 Feb 2014 00:41:00 +0100

03-07-2014, 14:26:20

PhatBastard
Just bought this for 79.99, it's windowed, comes with grommets and came with a free Cooler Master Seidon 120V AIO 120cm water cooler!

Got mine from Ebuyer. http://www.ebuyer.com/584015-cooler-...s-693-kwn1-s12
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.