CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

Up Close: Exterior Overview and Front

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Up Close:  Exterior Overview and Front

The ancestry of the 690 III can clearly be seen it's lines harking as they do back to the 690II and the original 690.  Gone are the pronounced shoulders though, replaced instead by a bevelled edge blending back to the case sides.  The highly reflective chrome strip is still in evidence and if anything it's slightly broader and more impressive.            

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

The lineage of the 690 III can also be seen in the front elevation.  Large meshed areas, with the 5.25" bays barely distinguishable from the remainder of the meshed frontage.  The right hand side of the case is devoid of features having just a slight bulge to the side panel aiding rigidity and bestowing a few extra millimetres of cable management space.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Yes, we were also hoping for a window!  Thankfully the 690 III line up follows a similar patterns to that of it's predecors and it is available with a window.  We're guessing there will also be a lite version and a few different colours as the brand moves forward  In the meantime we have a non windowed, non bulged panel that has a large unfiltered ventilation area able to accommodate 2x120mm, 2x140mm 1x180mm or 1x200mm fans.  Granted that's not bad, but we'd still rather have had a window.  Did we mention we like windows???

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

The fine mesh that covers the front of the case is actually a series of vertical rectangles as oppesoed to the practically ubiquitous hex or circular mesh.  We've deliberately pulled focus here to help you see the structures behind the mesh and to give you an idea of how unobtrusive it is.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2013, 05:25:10

tinytomlogan
Oh boy, the new CM 690 III is here. Are we excited or what! We loved the first two generations so hopes are high.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164733182l.JPG


Continue Reading

16-09-2013, 05:32:45

Etlar
Miss a link :-D

16-09-2013, 06:51:20

barnsley
Everytime I see this case it reminds me how much of a copy my enermax case is of this :l.

Anyway, good to see that its still a strong, solid performer.

16-09-2013, 06:53:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etlar View Post
Miss a link :-D
Easy doofus I was still putting it live.

16-09-2013, 08:22:57

Saltire35
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.

http://imagescdn.tweaktown.com/news/...the_690_ii.jpg

16-09-2013, 08:26:07

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.

16-09-2013, 08:28:51

Saltire35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.
When I had the case, eBuyer were the only place that stocked them when they first came out.

16-09-2013, 16:32:28

Spiderz
Damm G-Dubz has been busy with the reviews recently. Do like the look of this case more than the II but at that money I'd honestly prefer the fractals.

16-09-2013, 18:51:37

Mgutierrez33
Great review. I'll never understand why grommets aren't included in this chassis, but once a windowed version releases my girlfriend's rig may be moving into one of these for sure.

17-09-2013, 01:36:30

deejayburnout
what a nice case. Might have to get my kids to buy me one for christmas.

17-09-2013, 08:59:36

Ady6UK
Windowed and non windowed versions available on pre order in the UK at Scan. About 5 difference between the two:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...usb-30-w-o-psu
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...window-w-o-psu

24-11-2013, 20:45:36

Mosephuss
Sadly I can't find it on amazon. I hope it sill be available in the US a bit more by the time I get my pc so I don't have to order from a different website.

06-02-2014, 18:41:00

Michel Merlin
What is the TRUE GPU compatibility of the CM 693 (with all HDD trays in place)?

Still little available, or expensive: $150 on CM 690 III - black - Mid Tower (amazon.com), 93.00 EUR ($126) on Cooler Master CM 690 III Ordinateur de bureau (amazon.fr), 98.91 ($161) on Cooler Master CM690 III, ohne Netzteil (amazon.co.uk).

For the GPU compatibility, all sites endlessly repeat Cooler Master site's "423mm" which is a joke: this is obviously the card length you can insert after removing the upper HDD cage; none shows the true compatibility, i.e. with keeping and using both HDD cages with all their trays, which is probably around 300mm. TIA to the one who would be able to post the true value.

Versailles, Fri 07 Feb 2014 00:41:00 +0100

03-07-2014, 14:26:20

PhatBastard
Just bought this for 79.99, it's windowed, comes with grommets and came with a free Cooler Master Seidon 120V AIO 120cm water cooler!

Got mine from Ebuyer. http://www.ebuyer.com/584015-cooler-...s-693-kwn1-s12
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.