Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

Conclusion

Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

 

Conclusion

Although it's taken them a little while to get out of the blocks, Cooler Master have produced what appears to be a decent little AIO water cooler.  In using a slim 27mm radiator and single fan allied to a cold plate by means of flexible corrugated tubing, Cooler Master have stuck to a well established recipe.  The Seidon 120M however is all their own work, with both design and manufacture being kept in house.

There is certainly quality evident in the manufacture and presentation of the components, no small feat given the £40 price point of the unit.  You get the feeling that savings have been made, rather than corners cut.  Heck, there's even a bit of bling in the form of the Blue LED on the pump top.  If you want high gloss aesthetics and rubberised tubing you need to look elsewhere.  However if you're fond of rugged simplicity and a design that looks like it was the product of an engineer as opposed to an artist then the Seidon does have a certain appeal.

Assembling and building with the Seidon 120M isn't as easy as with some AIOs, Corsair's new magnetic mount in particular taking the ease of build crown.  That said it isn't exactly hard to put together either, just remember to get the magnifying glass out to look at the diagrams in the instructions.  For those of you who haven't leafed through the full review (shame on you) the fitting process requires crescent shaped mounting brackets to be attached to the sides of the cold plate.  The whole shooting match is then screwed down to the motherboard or back plate (depending on the CPU) utilising captive sprung loaded screws mounted into the brackets.  Cooler Master even include a small syringe of TIM which should be good for 2-3 fittings should you choose to use it.

The Seidon performs well beating the recently reviewed H60 by a small margin at all clock speeds.  The slightly better performance could in part be down to the Seidon's higher RPM fan which at 2400RPM producing a max of 40dBA is also noticeably noisier than Corsair's fan which spins at a max of 2000RPM emitting a maximum of 30.85dBA.  Fan performance aside, at the end of the day it does beat the H60, if only by 10ths of a degree at times.  Remember that we test all set ups at the full 12 volts and as such show you the maximum that each is capable of.  We accept that if you slow the fan down then the noise will drop, but conversely the temperatures will climb.  Not a problem if you're just bimbling about on the web, but more of an issue if you forget to turn things back up before you go gaming.  The Seidon did fail the 4.6GHz test, but we didn't really expect it to pass.  It did however make it considerably further in than the H60 before hitting the fail point of 80 degrees max and thus stopping the OCCT test dead in it's tracks.

At a smidge over £40 it's hard to think of a cheaper way into effective water cooling.  In fact if you take the time to trawl around the numerous sales sites on the web we think you might agree that it would be quite a strange decision to opt to purchase a traditional tower air cooler at this price point.  It's unlikely any will get close to the performance achieved by the Seidon, and those that do will not doubt be of such megalithic proportions as to be causing you RAM encroachment issues.  You can of course get better performing AIOs, they are though, I goes without saying, considerably more expensive.  If you're going to want a massive overclock or very quiet running fans then you're going to need to spend over twice as much money as the £43 needed here.  

They may have taken their time, but we think Cooler Master have spent it well and have perhaps succeeded in making water cooling accessible to those on a very tight budget and for that reason we have decided to bestow it the OC3D Value for money award!

    

Thanks to Cooler Master for the Seidon 120M, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums. 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2013, 08:46:34

tinytomlogan
Let's put the 120M, smallest of Cooler Master's new Seidon series of AIO water coolers through its paces.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...140151561l.jpg


Continue Reading

03-04-2013, 09:51:58

Master&Puppet
Looks like a reasonable alternative to some of the mid-range tower coolers on cooler systems although it seems pretty noisy.

03-04-2013, 09:53:19

barnsley
I was hoping you'd review this! I've been looking at AIO coolers for my new build for sometime and I wondered about this. Definitely going on my parts to buy list

03-04-2013, 10:06:56

UkGouki
its a pretty good choice if you only wont a moderate overclock tbh im thinking of getting this as funds at the mo are tight and it will get me what i want out of my system

03-04-2013, 12:29:02

lwatcdr
I just do not get it. Why does everyone just use fan controllers and such when modern Motherboards have fan headers and heat sensors. Why can't people set a max CPU temp of say 60c and let the computer spin the fan up and down as the load changes? You could then alway have the lowest noise for a given temp. Seems like this should be an automated function.

03-04-2013, 14:20:06

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
I just do not get it. Why does everyone just use fan controllers and such when modern Motherboards have fan headers and heat sensors. Why can't people set a max CPU temp of say 60c and let the computer spin the fan up and down as the load changes? You could then alway have the lowest noise for a given temp. Seems like this should be an automated function.
I can only speak for myself but I have yet to possess a motherboard that
  • has enough fan headers for my needs in the right locations and/or
  • provides enough power on its fan headers to power an array of fans,
  • provides enough power for a D5 pump (I know they can be hooked up to the PSU directly and the Vario can be adjusted without a fan controller, but it's much more comfortable not having to use the little nob on the pump's back, and yes, I do change my pump's speed from time to time, albeit not often) and
  • lets me define not only max temps but actual fan curves, because everything else is useless (to me, at least).

These are unlikely to change in the future. It's not really reasonable to build a M/B with 10 to 12 fan headers (which you can easily use with two radiators on push/pull or something comparable) or fan headers that can provide ~30 W of power for a pump (market is too small).

The fan curve thing should be feasible though, I'll admit. I don't want my fans spinning up to 100% when a certain max temp is hit, I want them to ramp up by maybe 20% to see if that's enough and then throttle down again.

If you look at a real fan controller like the Aquaero, that's a very complex tool. You don't just integrate something like that into a M/B. It is certainly feasible, but it would cost accordingly.

Overall I'd say cost is probably the reason why the M/B that fits my needs regarding fan control is unlikely to arrive any time soon, and as long as that I'll stick to fan controllers. Besides, I like fan controllers, they have knobs and buttons and displays and stuff

03-04-2013, 16:39:35

Mgutierrez33
In the post I made about the rig I built up for my girlfriend, I also did a small review of this cooler. Even on an AMD processor churning out 1.36V it kept the temps VERY respectably low after 30-45 min straight of Prime95. Glad that this got the review it did :-)

03-04-2013, 19:12:37

lwatcdr
There should be no need for you to set a curve. The motherboard would not use what is called a bang bang system but would create it's own curve to keep the temperatures below the max you set. Once at max the temps would rise until the you hit the throttle temps. As to the power draw you could have a controller that you plug the fan header into and a molex or SATA connector into. When there is so much computing power sitting there it is just a bit nuts that we are fiddling with knobs and such to change our fan speeds.

04-04-2013, 09:49:30

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
There should be no need for you to set a curve. The motherboard would not use what is called a bang bang system but would create it's own curve to keep the temperatures below the max you set. Once at max the temps would rise until the you hit the throttle temps.
Not an unreasonable approach, but I actually might want to set my own curves. Although I suppose this could be solved by providing different preset profiles from which you could select the one you desire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
As to the power draw you could have a controller that you plug the fan header into and a molex or SATA connector into.
If I understand correctly you mean some sort of separate power circuitry on the M/B that provides enough fan headers and possibly has additional power input? Cost is probably why this has not been done so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
When there is so much computing power sitting there it is just a bit nuts that we are fiddling with knobs and such to change our fan speeds.
My machine runs at 100% pretty much 24/7, so I don't really need to fiddle with my fan controller very often (maybe if it gets very hot in summer I turn it up a bit and in winter down again).

To me, the value of a fan controller lies more in being able to monitor what my cooling system is doing (this includes flow meters, pump speeds etc.). The trouble with having that stuff controlled by the M/B is that the only way to get at that data while the computer is running would most likely be through some sort of monitoring software provided by the M/B manufacturer.

Most likely, this software would only run on Windows, and since I do not run Windows I would not have access to my cooling system's parameters anymore. Therefore, separating my cooling system from the rest of my hardware is actually quite valuable to me since I would not get proper support on my O/S anyway.

If interfaces for this were to be standardized and a proper API provided (such as with S.M.A.R.T. and temp sensors and such, which I can easily read out in Linux/FreeBSD et.al.), I could possibly get behind this, but I think that's not very likely since M/B manufacturers would probably like to distinguish themselves from their competitors and would devise their own, proprietary solutions.

12-04-2013, 14:18:06

DragonX444
What if you put on a 2nd fan... Lets say 2 Noiseblocker Multiframe M12-P (2000 rpm) or PS (1500 rpm) in a push pull combo... i wonder what the results would be!

12-04-2013, 15:49:10

Mgutierrez33
With the radiator being a low profile ordeal I don't know that you would see much of a performance increase really. I could be wrong on that one tho.

12-04-2013, 16:13:24

DragonX444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
With the radiator being a low profile ordeal I don't know that you would see much of a performance increase really. I could be wrong on that one tho.
I've seen another site do the same review with 2 low rpm noctua fans 1500rpm. The only difference was in noise which was a LOT lower as they stated. The cooling performance was the same. Also on the physics side of things ... its true that the thickness plays a important part, BUT... if you got power to move more air the rad is going to get cooler (up to a point).
Also i have seen in some reviews they say there comes a distinct ticking sound from the pump. How loud is it really? I dont wanna buy the thing and then wake up in the night like when your bathroom foset leeks

12-04-2013, 16:41:18

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonX444 View Post
Also i have seen in some reviews they say there comes a distinct ticking sound from the pump. How loud is it really? I dont wanna buy the thing and then wake up in the night like when your bathroom foset leeks
Being an owner of one of these, you have to have your head directly next tot he case to hear it, at which point yes it is very noticeable... but who puts their head directly next to their chassis on a regular basis?

13-04-2013, 01:59:38

DragonX444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
Being an owner of one of these, you have to have your head directly next tot he case to hear it, at which point yes it is very noticeable... but who puts their head directly next to their chassis on a regular basis?
Thx man... well im gonna get it and put 2 fans on it and see what happens... ill update you all when i got it set up!

26-04-2013, 20:49:21

Greenback
Tom will you be reviewing the Cooler Master Eisberg by any chance

05-05-2013, 19:25:07

GreenBarb
I have bought one of these and it's great. I have an intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 overclocked to 2.9ghz. With a Zalman low profile 3 pipe heatsink on BF3 I was hitting 65c, with the Cooler Master Sedion 120 I get 48c. That is a big drop in temp and it's in a NZXT Vulcan.

10-06-2013, 07:55:48

AJN
are they using Peltier chips for cooling??
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.