Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

The Build

 Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

 

The Build

Although  the instructions aren't the clearest in the world, and depending on the quality of your eyesight may require you approach them Sherlock Holmes style with a magnifying glass, they are, none-the-less, sufficient enough to enable even the most ham-fisted amongst you to get the job done.  Just expect to do a lot of squinting.  The parts come bagged and labelled with it being fairly easy to determine which bit's you've going to need for your chosen CPU.

Job one is to attach the retaining brackets to the Cold plate.  The Intel and AMD ones do look very similar and both attach in the same way by means of 4 small grub screws passing through from underneath. 

Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

 

Next up is to screw in the Motherboard retaining bolts.  If you're using anything other than 2011 then you'll also be screwing through to a back plate at this point.  Cooler Master have provided a socket with a screw driver adaptation to allow you to get them tightened down.

  Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review  

 

Remembering to add your TIM (all too easy to forget in the heat of the moment), the cold plate is carefully lined up with the retaining bolts.  Sprung loaded screws on each corner of the cold plate bracket are then pushed down and tightened with a screwdriver.  It's a bit of a fiddle as there's a propensity for the cold plate to want to skate about a bit at first, and although there are better mounting systems out there, there are definitely worse.

Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

 

If you're setting up the Seidon on extract with the fan internal on push, which is how we do it, then the next job on your list is to use the provided short screws to attach the rad to the case from the outside.  The fan is then attached to the rad by utilising longer pass through screws from the inside.  As Cooler Master provide an additional set of these longer screws it's a relatively easy task to add another fan in push pull configuration.  When we talked about the radiator earlier we mentioned the importance of checking the dimensions and clearance.  the image below left shows the small amount of room between the end tank and the expansion card recess in our Cooler Master Storm Trooper case.  Should your case not have sufficient room, all is not lost, it just means you'll have to mount the fan to the case using it as a spacer to enable the rad to be fitted.  in this configuration it's still possible to have a intake or extract set up.

  Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review  

 

The flexibility of the tubing and the rotating 90 degree elbows as they join the cold plate assembly make the task of routing the tubing an easy one.  At 30cm the tubing is long enough for most cases without being so long as to make things look messy (We're looking at you Swiftech).

Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

 

As with all our testing we hook the fan and the pump up to a 12volt supply straight from the PSU.  Both the pump and the fan can be attached to the motherboard or fan controller via fan headers but in the case of the pump this really isn't necessary as it runs pretty much silently even at the full 12 volts.  The fan is PWM compatible so if you choose it can be controlled by your Motherboard.  Both cables are 32cm long including the plug and are braided in black.  Seen here inside our loyal Cooler Master "Test Trooper" we think you'll agree the Seidon makes for a tidy build.

 Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review

 

All assembled then and time for some low light shots to show off the subtle blue LED built into the cold plate housing 

 Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review     Cooler Master Seidon 120M Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-04-2013, 08:46:34

tinytomlogan
Let's put the 120M, smallest of Cooler Master's new Seidon series of AIO water coolers through its paces.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...140151561l.jpg


Continue Reading

03-04-2013, 09:51:58

Master&Puppet
Looks like a reasonable alternative to some of the mid-range tower coolers on cooler systems although it seems pretty noisy.

03-04-2013, 09:53:19

barnsley
I was hoping you'd review this! I've been looking at AIO coolers for my new build for sometime and I wondered about this. Definitely going on my parts to buy list

03-04-2013, 10:06:56

UkGouki
its a pretty good choice if you only wont a moderate overclock tbh im thinking of getting this as funds at the mo are tight and it will get me what i want out of my system

03-04-2013, 12:29:02

lwatcdr
I just do not get it. Why does everyone just use fan controllers and such when modern Motherboards have fan headers and heat sensors. Why can't people set a max CPU temp of say 60c and let the computer spin the fan up and down as the load changes? You could then alway have the lowest noise for a given temp. Seems like this should be an automated function.

03-04-2013, 14:20:06

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
I just do not get it. Why does everyone just use fan controllers and such when modern Motherboards have fan headers and heat sensors. Why can't people set a max CPU temp of say 60c and let the computer spin the fan up and down as the load changes? You could then alway have the lowest noise for a given temp. Seems like this should be an automated function.
I can only speak for myself but I have yet to possess a motherboard that
  • has enough fan headers for my needs in the right locations and/or
  • provides enough power on its fan headers to power an array of fans,
  • provides enough power for a D5 pump (I know they can be hooked up to the PSU directly and the Vario can be adjusted without a fan controller, but it's much more comfortable not having to use the little nob on the pump's back, and yes, I do change my pump's speed from time to time, albeit not often) and
  • lets me define not only max temps but actual fan curves, because everything else is useless (to me, at least).

These are unlikely to change in the future. It's not really reasonable to build a M/B with 10 to 12 fan headers (which you can easily use with two radiators on push/pull or something comparable) or fan headers that can provide ~30 W of power for a pump (market is too small).

The fan curve thing should be feasible though, I'll admit. I don't want my fans spinning up to 100% when a certain max temp is hit, I want them to ramp up by maybe 20% to see if that's enough and then throttle down again.

If you look at a real fan controller like the Aquaero, that's a very complex tool. You don't just integrate something like that into a M/B. It is certainly feasible, but it would cost accordingly.

Overall I'd say cost is probably the reason why the M/B that fits my needs regarding fan control is unlikely to arrive any time soon, and as long as that I'll stick to fan controllers. Besides, I like fan controllers, they have knobs and buttons and displays and stuff

03-04-2013, 16:39:35

Mgutierrez33
In the post I made about the rig I built up for my girlfriend, I also did a small review of this cooler. Even on an AMD processor churning out 1.36V it kept the temps VERY respectably low after 30-45 min straight of Prime95. Glad that this got the review it did :-)

03-04-2013, 19:12:37

lwatcdr
There should be no need for you to set a curve. The motherboard would not use what is called a bang bang system but would create it's own curve to keep the temperatures below the max you set. Once at max the temps would rise until the you hit the throttle temps. As to the power draw you could have a controller that you plug the fan header into and a molex or SATA connector into. When there is so much computing power sitting there it is just a bit nuts that we are fiddling with knobs and such to change our fan speeds.

04-04-2013, 09:49:30

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
There should be no need for you to set a curve. The motherboard would not use what is called a bang bang system but would create it's own curve to keep the temperatures below the max you set. Once at max the temps would rise until the you hit the throttle temps.
Not an unreasonable approach, but I actually might want to set my own curves. Although I suppose this could be solved by providing different preset profiles from which you could select the one you desire.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
As to the power draw you could have a controller that you plug the fan header into and a molex or SATA connector into.
If I understand correctly you mean some sort of separate power circuitry on the M/B that provides enough fan headers and possibly has additional power input? Cost is probably why this has not been done so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
When there is so much computing power sitting there it is just a bit nuts that we are fiddling with knobs and such to change our fan speeds.
My machine runs at 100% pretty much 24/7, so I don't really need to fiddle with my fan controller very often (maybe if it gets very hot in summer I turn it up a bit and in winter down again).

To me, the value of a fan controller lies more in being able to monitor what my cooling system is doing (this includes flow meters, pump speeds etc.). The trouble with having that stuff controlled by the M/B is that the only way to get at that data while the computer is running would most likely be through some sort of monitoring software provided by the M/B manufacturer.

Most likely, this software would only run on Windows, and since I do not run Windows I would not have access to my cooling system's parameters anymore. Therefore, separating my cooling system from the rest of my hardware is actually quite valuable to me since I would not get proper support on my O/S anyway.

If interfaces for this were to be standardized and a proper API provided (such as with S.M.A.R.T. and temp sensors and such, which I can easily read out in Linux/FreeBSD et.al.), I could possibly get behind this, but I think that's not very likely since M/B manufacturers would probably like to distinguish themselves from their competitors and would devise their own, proprietary solutions.

12-04-2013, 14:18:06

DragonX444
What if you put on a 2nd fan... Lets say 2 Noiseblocker Multiframe M12-P (2000 rpm) or PS (1500 rpm) in a push pull combo... i wonder what the results would be!

12-04-2013, 15:49:10

Mgutierrez33
With the radiator being a low profile ordeal I don't know that you would see much of a performance increase really. I could be wrong on that one tho.

12-04-2013, 16:13:24

DragonX444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
With the radiator being a low profile ordeal I don't know that you would see much of a performance increase really. I could be wrong on that one tho.
I've seen another site do the same review with 2 low rpm noctua fans 1500rpm. The only difference was in noise which was a LOT lower as they stated. The cooling performance was the same. Also on the physics side of things ... its true that the thickness plays a important part, BUT... if you got power to move more air the rad is going to get cooler (up to a point).
Also i have seen in some reviews they say there comes a distinct ticking sound from the pump. How loud is it really? I dont wanna buy the thing and then wake up in the night like when your bathroom foset leeks

12-04-2013, 16:41:18

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonX444 View Post
Also i have seen in some reviews they say there comes a distinct ticking sound from the pump. How loud is it really? I dont wanna buy the thing and then wake up in the night like when your bathroom foset leeks
Being an owner of one of these, you have to have your head directly next tot he case to hear it, at which point yes it is very noticeable... but who puts their head directly next to their chassis on a regular basis?

13-04-2013, 01:59:38

DragonX444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
Being an owner of one of these, you have to have your head directly next tot he case to hear it, at which point yes it is very noticeable... but who puts their head directly next to their chassis on a regular basis?
Thx man... well im gonna get it and put 2 fans on it and see what happens... ill update you all when i got it set up!

26-04-2013, 20:49:21

Greenback
Tom will you be reviewing the Cooler Master Eisberg by any chance

05-05-2013, 19:25:07

GreenBarb
I have bought one of these and it's great. I have an intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 overclocked to 2.9ghz. With a Zalman low profile 3 pipe heatsink on BF3 I was hitting 65c, with the Cooler Master Sedion 120 I get 48c. That is a big drop in temp and it's in a NZXT Vulcan.

10-06-2013, 07:55:48

AJN
are they using Peltier chips for cooling??
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.