Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

Up Close: Radiator and Pump assembly

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

Up Close:  Radiator and Pump assembly

Aside from the double length radiator the rest of the Nepton 280L is largely the same as the 140XL model.  There's certainly plenty of tubing to play with which although of the ribbed (for your pleasure) variety is just as flexible as the more traditional smooth tubing.

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

 

Although designed to accept the bundled 140mm Cooler Master JetFlo fans the radiator also has fixing holes on both sides for 120mm fans.  This means that if your case has a roof mount for 2x120mm fans, and there's physically enough room you can, in principal at least, fit the 280L into a 240mm mount.  This of course goes quite some way to increasing the case compatibility of the cooler as it isn't limited only to those cases with 280mm mounts.

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

 

A few close ups of the tubing terminations show that Cooler Master have been wielding the Quality control stick

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

 

The Cold plate, Micro fins and pump are of Cooler Masters own design, topped off with a pale blue/purple illuminating Cooler Master Logo.  The 90 degree elbows are hinged so as to allow the tubing to move in either direction.

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2014, 07:22:07

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...114305931l.jpg

Having seen what the 140XL could do we thought we'd summon up its big brother and see if the Nepton 280L could top the Cooling charts


Continue Reading

28-03-2014, 08:10:04

Xploited Titan
No idea if I missed it, but I don't recall seeing anything about sound levels.

How loud is that assembly?

28-03-2014, 08:18:58

Tripp
great review, its nice to see a really well performing coolermaster AIO on the market

28-03-2014, 08:31:08

barnsley
Good job coolermaster. Nice to see how much of an improvement over the seidons they've made.

28-03-2014, 08:41:21

Wraithguard
Great review! Just wish I had a case that would take a 280 rad I'd love to push this FX4100 past 4.4Ghz until the lid popped off, gives me a reason to buy a new one.

28-03-2014, 10:40:57

MeatWeed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xploited Titan View Post
No idea if I missed it, but I don't recall seeing anything about sound levels.

How loud is that assembly?
Depends on what fans you use
The orginal fan noise is listed on the front page of the review in the specs
"Fan Noise Level (dB-A) *21~39 dBA"

28-03-2014, 11:40:09

Xploited Titan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatWeed View Post
Depends on what fans you use
The orginal fan noise is listed on the front page of the review in the specs
"Fan Noise Level (dB-A) *21~39 dBA"

Doesn't help to make comparisons with other AIO coolers though
Constructor specs are one thing, real life emissions are the other.
Some quiet fans are not so quiet in the end. Hence my question.

Having my computer next to my desk, with the top in the open, sound levels perceived will be higher than if the case was under the desk. Meaning a balanced H100i is still not quiet enough for home cinema purposes.

28-03-2014, 18:14:58

G-Dubs
We talk about the noise levels towards the end of the second paragraph in the conclusion. The Nepton, like a good many other AIOs is quite noisy at the full 12V we perform all our stress testing at, but no where near as noisy as the Antec Kuhler1250 for example. In reality if you were to use an AIO you would probably balance the speed with the level of desired cooling.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.