Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

Up Close: Packaging and contents

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

Up Close:  Packaging and contents

Brand image is important and those of you who have played any of the various "name the brand" browser games will know just how set into our psyche's logos and even colours can be.  With this in mind, we're willing to bet that even with the graphics and logos removed most PC enthusiasts would have no trouble identifying this as a Cooler Master product.  Branding image aside, the box is still informative with images and details of specification and key features. 

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

 

Popping the lid open reveals the now common egg box card packaging, with plenty of polythene bags and sheets being used to keep the dust off the goods within.

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

 

Aside from the rad and pump assembly you also get a good selection of screws and brackets, along with a universal back plate.  As with the 140XL Cooler Master have coupled the 280L with some of their rather sexy and very effective 140mm JetFlo fans.

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

 

The instructions come as a CD box sized concertina and are informative and clear.  The sheet is divided up so as to separate the processes for Intel and AMD

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review     Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2014, 07:22:07

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...114305931l.jpg

Having seen what the 140XL could do we thought we'd summon up its big brother and see if the Nepton 280L could top the Cooling charts


Continue Reading

28-03-2014, 08:10:04

Xploited Titan
No idea if I missed it, but I don't recall seeing anything about sound levels.

How loud is that assembly?

28-03-2014, 08:18:58

Tripp
great review, its nice to see a really well performing coolermaster AIO on the market

28-03-2014, 08:31:08

barnsley
Good job coolermaster. Nice to see how much of an improvement over the seidons they've made.

28-03-2014, 08:41:21

Wraithguard
Great review! Just wish I had a case that would take a 280 rad I'd love to push this FX4100 past 4.4Ghz until the lid popped off, gives me a reason to buy a new one.

28-03-2014, 10:40:57

MeatWeed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xploited Titan View Post
No idea if I missed it, but I don't recall seeing anything about sound levels.

How loud is that assembly?
Depends on what fans you use
The orginal fan noise is listed on the front page of the review in the specs
"Fan Noise Level (dB-A) *21~39 dBA"

28-03-2014, 11:40:09

Xploited Titan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatWeed View Post
Depends on what fans you use
The orginal fan noise is listed on the front page of the review in the specs
"Fan Noise Level (dB-A) *21~39 dBA"

Doesn't help to make comparisons with other AIO coolers though
Constructor specs are one thing, real life emissions are the other.
Some quiet fans are not so quiet in the end. Hence my question.

Having my computer next to my desk, with the top in the open, sound levels perceived will be higher than if the case was under the desk. Meaning a balanced H100i is still not quiet enough for home cinema purposes.

28-03-2014, 18:14:58

G-Dubs
We talk about the noise levels towards the end of the second paragraph in the conclusion. The Nepton, like a good many other AIOs is quite noisy at the full 12V we perform all our stress testing at, but no where near as noisy as the Antec Kuhler1250 for example. In reality if you were to use an AIO you would probably balance the speed with the level of desired cooling.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.