Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Cooler Master Nepton 280L Review

Introduction

Like it's little brother the Nepton 140XL, reviewed at the beginning of March, the 280L is based on a 140mm fan design and so is immediately able to offer greater surface area over radiators based on the smaller 120mm fan size.  Unlike the push pull set up of the 140XL model the 280 has an "L"  suffix denoting that although it has two fans, as you would expect, they are both mounted on the same side of the radiator.  The smaller 140XL made rather a good fist of the dreaded torture tests and we're thinking that maybe, just maybe we may have a Cooler that 's capable of matching, if not actually beating the Mighty Kraken X60.

 

Technical Specification

 Model RL-N28L-20PK-R1
 CPU Socket Intel LGA 2011 / 1366 / 1150 /1155 / 1156 / 775
  AMD Socket FM2 / FM1 / AM3+ / AM3 / AM2
 Dimension 75 x 69.8 x 49.1 mm ( 3 x 2.7 x 1.9 inch )
 Radiator Dimensions 311 x 139 x 30 mm ( 12.2 x 5.5 x 1.2 inch )
 Radiator Material Aluminium
 Fans 2 x 140mm Coolermaster JetFlo Fans
 Fan Dimension 140 x 140 x 25 mm ( 5.9 x 5.9 x 1 inch ) *support 120mm fan x 2
 Fan Speed 800~2000 RPM (PWM) ± 10%
 Fan Airflow 54~122.5 CFM ± 10%
 Fan Air Pressure 0.7~3.5 mm H2O ± 10%
 Fan Noise Level (dB-A) 21~39 dBA
 Power Consumption 3.6W

 

Special Features

Mounts for 120mm Fans
PWM Control
Illuminated CPU Block

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-03-2014, 07:22:07

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...114305931l.jpg

Having seen what the 140XL could do we thought we'd summon up its big brother and see if the Nepton 280L could top the Cooling charts


Continue Reading

28-03-2014, 08:10:04

Xploited Titan
No idea if I missed it, but I don't recall seeing anything about sound levels.

How loud is that assembly?

28-03-2014, 08:18:58

Tripp
great review, its nice to see a really well performing coolermaster AIO on the market

28-03-2014, 08:31:08

barnsley
Good job coolermaster. Nice to see how much of an improvement over the seidons they've made.

28-03-2014, 08:41:21

Wraithguard
Great review! Just wish I had a case that would take a 280 rad I'd love to push this FX4100 past 4.4Ghz until the lid popped off, gives me a reason to buy a new one.

28-03-2014, 10:40:57

MeatWeed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xploited Titan View Post
No idea if I missed it, but I don't recall seeing anything about sound levels.

How loud is that assembly?
Depends on what fans you use
The orginal fan noise is listed on the front page of the review in the specs
"Fan Noise Level (dB-A) *21~39 dBA"

28-03-2014, 11:40:09

Xploited Titan
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeatWeed View Post
Depends on what fans you use
The orginal fan noise is listed on the front page of the review in the specs
"Fan Noise Level (dB-A) *21~39 dBA"

Doesn't help to make comparisons with other AIO coolers though
Constructor specs are one thing, real life emissions are the other.
Some quiet fans are not so quiet in the end. Hence my question.

Having my computer next to my desk, with the top in the open, sound levels perceived will be higher than if the case was under the desk. Meaning a balanced H100i is still not quiet enough for home cinema purposes.

28-03-2014, 18:14:58

G-Dubs
We talk about the noise levels towards the end of the second paragraph in the conclusion. The Nepton, like a good many other AIOs is quite noisy at the full 12V we perform all our stress testing at, but no where near as noisy as the Antec Kuhler1250 for example. In reality if you were to use an AIO you would probably balance the speed with the level of desired cooling.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.