Cooler Master Hyper Z600 CPU Cooler

Packaging & Appearance

Packaging

The front of the box of the Z600 is fairly plain, but rather eye catching. There is a glossy cut out of the cooler attached in the centre, so that it is raised from the rest of the box, with a black outer glow surrounding the edges. It also features the Cooler Master Logo and product name.
 
Cooler Master Z600 Box Cooler Master Z600 Box
 
The remainder of the box contains product details, specifications and shows a few images of the cooler in action.
 
Cooler Master Z600 Box Cooler Master Z600 Box
 
Once inside the outer shell, you are presented with the internal packaging. This consists of two main pieces that split apart leaving the cooler in the middle. There is foam padding inside each compartment, protecting the cooler from damage during transit.
 
Cooler Master Z600 Internal Box Cooler Master Z600 Box Open
 
Cooler Master Z600 Box Contents Cooler Master Z600 Contents
 
All of the accessories are concealed neatly in the end of the large compartment and pulling up the edge reveals two plastic re-sealable bags containing all the accessories. Inside there is a warranty slip, fan mounts, mounts for sockets AM2 & 775 and a nut/screw thread used for attaching the cooler to the motherboard with the supplied screws.
 
 
Appearance

When you first set your eyes upon the cooler you are immediately amazed by the size of the thing. To put it simply, it is HUGE. Upon removing it from the packaging you also notice another thing - weight. The thing weighs a ton, and is incredibly solidly built. The fins are solid, and do not bend easily, and the base is nicely finished and smooth.

Cooler Master Z600 Cooler Master Z600

Comparing the Z600 to the stock Intel cooler, you get a very good idea for size; the stock cooler is just above the height where the fins on the Z600 start. Talking of heatpipes, you may also notice that the Z600 has a fair few of them - 6 in total.

Cooler Master Z600 Comparison Cooler Master Z600 Base
 
Cooler Master Z600 Fins Cooler Master Z600 Fans Attached

The Z600 uses two different fin sizes, using an alternating pattern down the cooler, and then smaller fins at the bottom to give clearance above the motherboard and VRM’s. You will also notice the ridges in the fins; this is for attaching fans using the supplied plates.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-09-2008, 13:12:39

JN
Thomas "Teknokid" Koflach gains his reviewer wings as he checks out Cooler Master's beefy Z600 CPU Cooler:

"Cooler Master have made some bold claims about their new Z600 cooler. We put the Z600 to the test to find out if it can really live up to the hype."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...205952745s.jpg

Cooler Master Hyper Z600 CPU Cooler

11-09-2008, 13:16:11

Luigi
Cheers Jim, Brings warmth to your heart seeing it up there live!

A big thanks goes to yourself and the whole OC3D team as well, top chaps!

11-09-2008, 13:46:02

Nick R
Could you give temps with the two fans attached @ 1.4v?

11-09-2008, 13:47:21

WC Annihilus
Haven't gotten a chance to read through it yet, but something to mention is that on the graphs themselves the stock ones should explicitly say it was run passive and the OC'ed ones should explicitly say run with fans. Tons of people who look up cooler reviews only look at the graphs and don't actually read any of the review itself.

11-09-2008, 13:48:41

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nick R'
Could you give temps with the two fans attached @ 1.4v?
It should be pretty similar, the Z600 handles extra heat extremely well. I cant really go testing for everyones individual set ups, otherwise It would take years. But if you are after a top notch HSF, the z600 is the one

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Haven't gotten a chance to read through it yet, but something to mention is that on the graphs themselves the stock ones should explicitly say it was run passive and the OC'ed ones should explicitly say run with fans. Tons of people who look up cooler reviews only look at the graphs and don't actually read any of the review itself.
There is the little text before the graphs, and hopefully people will look accross at them. I dont think there is enough room on the graphs themselves to add in "@ passive" or "@ Load". But I will have to wait for Jim on that one

11-09-2008, 13:54:20

Nick R
I misread the latter text and thought that it was still passive when OCed.

11-09-2008, 13:57:31

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nick R'
I misread the latter text and thought that it was still passive when OCed.
Nope, For testing we figured that users that are going to overclock would run the cooler with fans, so therefore tested it in that configuration.

11-09-2008, 17:57:27

ionicle
very nice review

well written

good item

decent price

good performance

11-09-2008, 19:41:02

gotmaxpower
It looks a bit like a cross shaped version of the Scythe Ninja.

12-09-2008, 03:37:36

Diablo
Great review, but, should the passive cooling test last for a bit longer, because even with the best heatsink in the world, over time the fins would heat up and the temperature of the processor would increase. Maybe if you had a time vs. temperature for the cooler it would be helpful.

On another point, would this handle the QX9770 (at 4.0 ghz), I move my computer far too much to want to water cool it, so I need decent air cooling. I'm getting idles of 51, 52, 36, 41 and loads (after 20 mins of cpu burn at 100% cpu usage) of 59, 57, 58, 61

12-09-2008, 11:27:52

Luigi
If you put fans on it, I would expect it to handle that quite easily, Especially if your current cooler is....

If we tested for an hour, there would be someone who would say 2, and so on. At the end of the day, 15 minutes is enough IMO

12-09-2008, 14:49:09

Diablo
Fair enough, if the results are very similar across that time, it would still be nice to see some time vs. temperature graphs. Great review though.

Also, a quick remount later, turned out the thermal paste hadn't spread properly, was a sort of thick layer on the middle, bit of scraping out solved everything. Now in the mid 40-s for 1 and 2 and low 40s for 3 and 4.

12-09-2008, 16:34:20

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
Fair enough, if the results are very similar across that time, it would still be nice to see some time vs. temperature graphs. Great review though.

Also, a quick remount later, turned out the thermal paste hadn't spread properly, was a sort of thick layer on the middle, bit of scraping out solved everything. Now in the mid 40-s for 1 and 2 and low 40s for 3 and 4.
If you're worried about remount descrepancies in the review, the cooler was remounted 3 times and an average taken, so all should be fine for the review figures.

12-09-2008, 17:20:25

Diablo
Sorry, to clarify, i thought your review was done very thoroughly, when I remounted my cooler, the temps dropped. Sorry for the confusion!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.