Cooler Master Hyper N520 Heatsink

Test Results

CPU Tests
 
The CPU tests were conducted at both stock and overclocked stated. The overclock used was 3.6Ghz using 1.45v.
 
CPU temps
 
As you can see the N520 held the little E7200 to perfectly acceptable temperatures in both stock and overclocked states. Even with what some would dub as excessive Vcore for a 45nm chip being pushed through it. Idle temperatures were too close to call, suggesting that the idle heat load was handled with ease.
 
 
Simulated Load Tests
 
STL_Graph
 
The results from the simulated load testing make some interesting reading. The Intel stock cooler pretty much fell flat on its face at the 150w mark, exceeding the 80°C. Where as the race between the OCZ Vendetta II and the N520 was much, much closer. Both held at more than acceptable temperatures all the way up to the 200w mark, where by they still didn't allow the reading to slip over 60°C. The OCZ Vendetta managed to edge out the N520 by the smallest of margins in this test. But it shows that the N520 is certainly not a sloppy product.
 
 
Noise
 
The noise each cooler made during the testing process was a bit subjective to which test was being performed at the time. On the simulator, each coolers fan was run at its maximum 12v to make sure that there was no throttling involved and thus keeping it fair. Out of the three coolers tested here, the N520 was actually the quietest in this state. It wasn't silent, but if you have a pair of medium flow 80mm fans in a case with it they would drown out the noise emitted by the dual 90mm fans with relative ease.
 
Testing on a real motherboard however, the N520 suffered a little for not having a PWM controlled fan, and thus when throttling did occur while the CPU was idle or under little load, the Vendetta II managed to be a whisper quieter than the N520. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-06-2009, 11:08:03

JN
"A niffty little LGA1366 ready heatsink from Cooler Master, We see how the Hyper N520 performs inside." - by Ham

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164059766s.jpg

Read on..

03-06-2009, 11:44:47

AntiHeroUK
Good review Graham. Should be LGA 1366 though

03-06-2009, 12:00:34

Youngie1337
Would this outperform the Noctua NP?

03-06-2009, 12:09:30

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AntiHeroUK'
Good review Graham. Should be LGA 1366 though
Bleh, all the proofs in the world and the error is on the outside .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Would this outperform the Noctua NP?
How does the NP stack up vs the vendetta and draw a conclusion form that? Or send me the NP and I'll test that .

03-06-2009, 14:49:23

Rastalovich
I'd accept the performance vS my vendetta2, work in the price - and probably buy it cos it has a lovely flat plate to clean !

Vendetta2 is a great cooler, but not for any1 who might switch cpus from time to time (which is unusual).

Great review, puts it all in perspective.

10-06-2009, 03:09:35

f0x.
Nice review mate, gave me something good to read in work xD

10-06-2009, 12:51:01

djw746
I have been looking at this cooler since the lower clearance (92mm) height and good performance make it a decent cooler (competes near 120mm towers), but I have seen horror stories about how frustrating the installation process is for this board.

I am looking at putting in an AM3 board for $18 US after shipping which seems like a great deal to me but how much truth is there behind the installation issues?

10-06-2009, 13:16:56

Ham
Installation isn't the most simple proceadure, but it's certainly not a nightmare. It's a bit fiddely getting the backplate and then the nuts on but thats it.

10-06-2009, 13:48:43

djw746
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Installation isn't the most simple proceadure, but it's certainly not a nightmare. It's a bit fiddely getting the backplate and then the nuts on but thats it.
Thanks mate. I figured as much, but it always nice to chat with someone who has had to deal with it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.