Cooler Master Hyper N520 Heatsink

Introduction

Introduction
 
Cooler Master are a company that no self respecting PC enthusiast won't be familiar with. Providing products such as heatsinks and chassis for several years and recently branching out into the power supply market. We here at Overclock3D are definitely no stranger to CM's products, having recently been impressed with the likes on their ATCS 840 chassis and the Hyper Z600 heatsink.
 
Today we move down from the higher end to take a look at another one of CM's cooling products, a heatsink & fan combination dubbed the Hyper N520. Measuring in at 122(L)x102(w)x141(H)mm it's a fair bit smaller than a lot of heat sinks on the market today - and at 688g it's relatively light too. However we can be sure that monster heat sinks aren't everyone's cup of tea and for smaller systems this could be the ticket.
 
 
Specifications
 
Interestingly, Cooler Master tell us nothing of the N520 on their UK site. I had to travel across the ocean to the US site to find details on the product. So taken from said US site, here is the features list and specification:
 
Features
* Universal Design Intel LGA775
* AMD (754/939/940/AM2/AM2+)
* Optimum Air Flow Distinct appearance with dual fan bracket
* Unique dual fan cooling design ensures cool air accelerates straight through the heat sink
* Superior Cooling Performance Mirror finished copper base guarantees perfect contact between CPU and cooler
* 5 heat pipes optimise heat transfer

Pure Copper Base & Heat Pipes
Pure Copper Base provides excellent cooling performance with 5 Heat Pipes to maximise heat transfer

Aluminium Fins, Dual Fan & Unique Adaptor
Dual Fan for air flow through heat sink with Wide Surface Aluminium Fin Design to improve heat dissipation; comes with a 2 to 1 Plug Adaptor for easy installation
 
The N520 looks impressive on paper. Boasting support for I7 CPU's on top of the mass of 775 and AMD chips. The figures given for the fans also looking rather promising. But will they live up the the claims? 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-06-2009, 11:08:03

JN
"A niffty little LGA1366 ready heatsink from Cooler Master, We see how the Hyper N520 performs inside." - by Ham

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164059766s.jpg

Read on..

03-06-2009, 11:44:47

AntiHeroUK
Good review Graham. Should be LGA 1366 though

03-06-2009, 12:00:34

Youngie1337
Would this outperform the Noctua NP?

03-06-2009, 12:09:30

Ham
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AntiHeroUK'
Good review Graham. Should be LGA 1366 though
Bleh, all the proofs in the world and the error is on the outside .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Would this outperform the Noctua NP?
How does the NP stack up vs the vendetta and draw a conclusion form that? Or send me the NP and I'll test that .

03-06-2009, 14:49:23

Rastalovich
I'd accept the performance vS my vendetta2, work in the price - and probably buy it cos it has a lovely flat plate to clean !

Vendetta2 is a great cooler, but not for any1 who might switch cpus from time to time (which is unusual).

Great review, puts it all in perspective.

10-06-2009, 03:09:35

f0x.
Nice review mate, gave me something good to read in work xD

10-06-2009, 12:51:01

djw746
I have been looking at this cooler since the lower clearance (92mm) height and good performance make it a decent cooler (competes near 120mm towers), but I have seen horror stories about how frustrating the installation process is for this board.

I am looking at putting in an AM3 board for $18 US after shipping which seems like a great deal to me but how much truth is there behind the installation issues?

10-06-2009, 13:16:56

Ham
Installation isn't the most simple proceadure, but it's certainly not a nightmare. It's a bit fiddely getting the backplate and then the nuts on but thats it.

10-06-2009, 13:48:43

djw746
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Installation isn't the most simple proceadure, but it's certainly not a nightmare. It's a bit fiddely getting the backplate and then the nuts on but thats it.
Thanks mate. I figured as much, but it always nice to chat with someone who has had to deal with it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.