Cooler Master HAF XB Case / Test-bench Review

Up Close: Test Bench Configuration

Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review

 

Up Close: Test Bench Configuration.

The well made and smooth fitting top and side panels are easily removed by means of knurled thumb screws revealing the bare frame of the chassis. Like the case exterior the chassis itself and interior are powder coated in thick matte black so should be well able to withstand a knock or two without losing their rugged good looks. The release of 6 clips allows the front panel to be removed leaving the front I/O and power board behind. In this configuration, with all the pretty panels removed the HAF XB reveals its inner test bench credentials.

Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review      Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review  

 

Although not offering quite the same amount of access as units such as the Dimastech units, it does have to be said that working on the hardware in the HAF XB with all the main panels stripped away is simplicity itself. Perhaps the ability to remove the struts running from front to back along the upper corners of the case would have made access even better, but we really are just being pedantic. Credit where credit is due though, although we might have preferred screws enabling removal, Cooler master have ensured the structural rigidity and strength of the unit by double riveting the joints between cross members. Not something you see every day, but i guess if you're designing something to be portable it's best to make sure that the thing you're carrying it by stays attached to the rest of the case.

Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review     Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review 

 

So having stripped the case down to its undies, before we move on to the build let's have a quick look at what else we get in the box. First up is a set of comprehensive instructions with informative although quite small diagrams. A small brown box secured inside the case contains the usual selection of screws, a slack handful of black cable ties a buzzer and a set of rails for mounting the 2.5" drives.

Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review     Cooler Master HAF XB case/testbench review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-01-2013, 06:03:29

tinytomlogan
With the HAF series fast encroaching on legendary status Cooler Master have decided to stir the pot with a new footprint for the latest incarnation, The HAF XB


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...160321682l.jpg


Continue Reading

28-01-2013, 10:55:25

badtaylorx
dont you guys usually do a vid for a product worthy of a gold???

28-01-2013, 10:57:52

hoxlund
can 280mm closed loop water coolers fit in the front intake spot? like the nzxt kraken x60 or the corsair h110

28-01-2013, 11:44:14

hoxlund
all the reviews im seeing say only 240mm rads in the front. booooo

28-01-2013, 12:46:50

southwind
want one!

28-01-2013, 16:45:06

Greenback
If I was thinking of going back to air I'd consider getting 1 of these for the price it's a really nice case, I have a Haf X and for water it's good but it's size and weight makes it cumbersome to move.

28-01-2013, 18:13:16

| raVen |
I really like the look of this case

28-01-2013, 23:11:41

S_I_N
I've wanted one since I first saw it. Want to mod it into a white case and some serious WC

29-01-2013, 05:52:06

allen
likes the look of this case

29-01-2013, 15:35:03

andrevautour
I didn't like the look of this at first, but it has grown on me a little.

29-01-2013, 15:42:27

hoxlund
sure enough the kraken x60 fits just fine in the haf xb - http://computersandcircuits.com/cont...n#.UQgzxr_uU0k

30-01-2013, 09:41:17

Rastalovich
Like this very much.

01-02-2013, 23:33:05

Deadtroopers
Nmm Nmm,Nmm Nmm, Nmm

06-02-2013, 09:35:51

sg12004
realy like this case will defnitly have to get one

11-02-2013, 06:23:26

Smithy 92
The only problem I seem to have with this case is that I wish there was more space for 3.5" hard drives and maybe fewer SSD mounts but that is just my opinion. Other than that though I still think this case looks great especially once you have some red leds mounted inside.

17-02-2013, 04:16:52

hoxlund
agreed about the 3.5" drive support. I'm sitting here contemplating on pulling the trigger and just buying this case over the cosmos 2. See I'm stationed in united kingdom until 2016 and of course the military movers broke my corsair 800d case. So I need to replace it.

I have 5x 3.5" drives and 2x 2.5" SSD's (patriot pyro 128's in RAID 0) I need to fit.

I'm pretty sure with all the room in the bottom hard drive area (2.5" cage area) I can make something work to where I can either add a 3.5" cage or just drill out the 2.5" and just replace that cage. I've got plenty of sheet metal and car guys that have the tools who work with me in the Air Force.

But then I look at the cosmos 2 and really drool over all the area it has. But then I'm reminded that in 3 years the military movers are going to be handling my stuff again and quite possible are going to break another $300 case.

Both cosmos 2 and haf xb fit the new 280mm all in one water coolers, thats a must have for me with a new case.



AHHHHHH I'm torn. I'm leaning towards the HAF XB

18-02-2013, 11:20:22

AverageNinja
I'm really liking that case! Great review G-Dubs!

21-02-2013, 21:03:50

BigCoffeeGaming
hoxlund, you don't need to drill out the cage, it just has 4 phillips head screws in there and that's it.

Btw I just purchased this case with my new build about a month ago and say I love it. With some quieter fans I could make it much better on the ears. But really, if you buy a HAF case, you aren't bothered by some wind noise.

EDIT: Also if you have the Noctua NH-D14 it fits like a charm. You won't be able to put the 240mm fan on top but the cooling is good enough you don't need to.

One of my MSI 560ti Twinfrozr fans went out on me and it still stays plenty cool enough in this case. Very very pleased.

29-03-2013, 14:50:42

d6bmg
A great chassis out there. Innovative design plus lots of space.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.