Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review

The Build

Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review

The Build

All three cases comes with the usual stand-offs, screws, cable ties and instructions you might expect, the 935 however comes with a  three outlet SATA power extension along with the blanking plates we looked at earlier in the review.  The instructions are extensive as is usually the case with Cooler Master, but yet again the diagrams are way too small.

Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review     Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review

 

Depending on how you're planning to configure your build you can choose to assemble each of the cases separately and bring them together at the end or build into the assembly as a whole, or for that matter a bit of both.  We're planning to build our main PC into the main section of the case and have a smaller PC, perhaps for use as a small server or guest PC built into the 915F positioned at the base of the Stacker.  To do this we will of course need two PSUs, and have chosen to show the build with a Cooler Master V1000 modular PSU in the main section and a smaller Cooler Master B600 in the 915F.

Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review     Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review  

 

Being able to take both the sides and the roof off the 915s gives unparalleled levels of access, and although with the Mother board mounted flat in the rear of the base there's no rear of motherboard area as such, there are plenty of cable toe points about the place to enable you to produce a tidy interior.  We've chosen to route our 24pin cable up along the upper longitudinal cross member and the 8pin CPU power cable down and under the case utilising two of the many apertures in the base.  At 140mm deep the B600 is by no means big, but as you can see space is already getting tight behind it.  We think 150mm would be fine but you wouldn't want to go much bigger, especially without modular cables.

Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review     Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review

 

With everything into the 915F, including a central rack of 3 HDDs borrowed from the 915R you can see there's actually quite a lot of room to spare.  In truth the case is quite big for an M-ITX chassis but as it forms part of the stacker line up it has to share the same depth and width dimensions.  Don't forge that you could quite easily couple this unit with a 915R above it either holding more HDDs or supporting a water cooling set up.  We think that even with a non modular PSU it's still possible to achieve a tidy loom.

Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review     Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review  

 

There's a good 170mm of had room above the motherboard for coolers  as demonstrated by our old faithful NZXT Havik 120.  We would recommend fitting the cooler before you connect the top section of the case though as it's damn near impossible otherwise. 

Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review     Cooler Master HAF Stacker System Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-01-2014, 05:38:11

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...165410279l.jpg

A big case needs a big review. And boy is the HAF Stacker system from Cooler Master BIG


Continue Reading

11-01-2014, 06:25:51

Mullet
Nice review Tom. Personally, I think the case looks pretty dreadful and I'm not sure who CM are pitching at with their modular approach. Most of us like to change our case every few years and if this is driven by a change in mobo form factor or some other reason.... most would want a new case. This looks like a jack of all trades attempt at being everything to everyone.... and pays for it.

11-01-2014, 06:34:30

Rastalovich
It's not going to tickle many people's fancy with it's looks ..

.. but as someone who considers looks pretty far down on the scale of case requirements - looking mostly for adaptation, options, practicality, ease of build/'monkeying around inside' - this is one heck of a range.

(even tho I'm not a case-looks person, I know when something isn't going to appeal to others)

There's some corporate uses this stack could come in useful for, and I'm keeping that in mind for suggestions. Sometimes you see something reviewed and it has features that stick in your mind when people talk to you about if and how they can have things created for them.

Good stuff. (didn't consider the pricing at all tbh)

11-01-2014, 07:38:21

tinytomlogan
Is it just me that thinks not being able to use a 240mm AIO in the top of the main section is nuts?

HDD's or WC in the bottom AIO in the roof, then add the extra bit on the roof if you want even more water space? I still think there should be a roof panel for the main section and AIO support basically.

I think by trying to make it appeal to everyone they have actually made it a bit half arsed.

11-01-2014, 08:29:33

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Is it just me that thinks not being able to use a 240mm AIO in the top of the main section is nuts?
.
Its to encourage you to buy more bits . Also, its probably because they want to make it for custom loopers, not people who use AIOs. Every other HAF case supports a 240 AIO in the roof/front(in the case of the XB ) I think.

11-01-2014, 08:31:16

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Its to encourage you to buy more bits . Also, its probably because they want to make it for custom loopers, not people who use AIOs. Every other HAF case supports a 240 AIO in the roof/front(in the case of the X I think.
Yeah but a roof panel should be avail so you can use the lower case. With the 240mm AIO's being so common just seems retarded to not support them straight out of the box.

11-01-2014, 08:39:37

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Yeah but a roof panel should be avail so you can use the lower case. With the 240mm AIO's being so common just seems retarded to not support them straight out of the box.
If enough people do a mod for it they'll release it as a panel to order. Its the same with my case, enough people wanted a window mod/did a window mod so you can now buy a windowed top on their site.

11-01-2014, 08:42:19

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
If enough people do a mod for it they'll release it as a panel to order. Its the same with my case, enough people wanted a window mod/did a window mod so you can now buy a windowed top on their site.
With all the other 'options' it should have been there from the start. Something like that not to be supported out of the box is actually a big thing to miss. If I had reviewed this Id have been a bit harsher on that aspect tbh.

11-01-2014, 08:50:14

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
With all the other 'options' it should have been there from the start. Something like that not to be supported out of the box is actually a big thing to miss. If I had reviewed this Id have been a bit harsher on that aspect tbh.
Yeah you are right, to be honest the way that they've marketed it I don't actually think I've seen one which didn't have a custom loop. It is a big shame tbh as the window is a lovely size on the main case. Its not like they don't do a 240 AIO either.

11-01-2014, 12:12:40

Davva2004
It's a case I considered before with two 360 rads in the small section below the main case, but now I'm seriously thinking it'll make a bloody good watercooled top end mini ITX build... Maximus VI Impact with full coverage block, 290X with a Kryographics block.... Mmmmmmm.

11-01-2014, 13:11:39

TheOuterOne
I don't really like the look of any HAF case, the mesh looks really cheap to me :/

Isn't there anything inbetween the front of a 350D and the front of a HAF case?

13-01-2014, 05:01:20

Warchild
Doesn't really deserve the name HAF anyway. If this case is intended for watercooling, why do they give it the "High Air Flow" series name.

But VERY ugly. I know you mentioned it already but it just seems like a company rip from the SR-2 stacker. The difference being here that the SR-2 is much more sleek (spelling?) and better designed. Then again most mod cases generally are.

I remember having the HAF932. The moment I switched from stock cooling to water cooling I felt limited with options for the case. Now this case is aimed at water cooling so give it a new name like HWF or WCP - watercooling performance.

13-01-2014, 06:13:51

ShaunB-91
Don't even know what to say about this case.

Really not a fan of any of the HAF series, it's just an ugly thing, but I do kind of think the design is kind of cool. The idea of having more than one build in one case, although I'm sure people have made better cases themselves to allow for this, kind of a strange one for me, yay and nay, shit hot but as two individual words does it best for me.

13-01-2014, 06:44:42

barnsley
I probably should add as someone who likes the HAF series, they've really ruined it now and should put the series to rest. the max airflow,max noise thing is kinda a bit dated as it is now. Don't get me wrong, I do really like my HAF but the whole original concept behind the HAF series is dead.

13-01-2014, 16:42:51

G-Dubs
We appreciate your thoughts on the HAF element of this case. What would you be thinking if this case was sleek and minimalist? In other words, is it the looks or the concept that's not lighting your fires?

13-01-2014, 17:30:29

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We appreciate your thoughts on the HAF element of this case. What would you be thinking if this case was sleek and minimalist? In other words, is it the looks or the concept that's not lighting your fires?
Its too much of a half way house between trying to go for the 'signature' HAF look (basically alot of mesh and big frontal fans) and trying to go towards a more sort of sleek look. What has happened hasn't really worked well I think. To be fair to them though I don't think they could elongate the "HAF look" much xD.

13-01-2014, 21:52:03

Dicehunter
I can see some people liking it but like their Corsair 540/hifi system ripoff, This is not for me.

13-01-2014, 23:10:15

Bartacus
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Its too much of a half way house between trying to go for the 'signature' HAF look (basically alot of mesh and big frontal fans) and trying to go towards a more sort of sleek look. What has happened hasn't really worked well I think. To be fair to them though I don't think they could elongate the "HAF look" much xD.
I second this. Plus I'd like to add that if CM is adding all this expansion capability, they are presumably targeting water coolers. For those of us under water, mesh is actually a negative, not a positive. A mesh case generally means more noise, as there isn't enough "case blockage" to silence the multitude of fans that we run. Personally, I'd much rather a case that's more "plugged up". Heck, I have 15 fans in my Case Labs M8 now, and I'd be rather despondent if it had more holes than it already does. That noise isn't doing my tinnitus any good.

EDIT: that being said, I'd love to see a water build in ITX format with *just* the 2 expansion pieces, and to heck with the big "middle" piece.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.