Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

The Build

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

The Build

We saw when we looked at the package contents that fittings are provided for pretty much every contemporary AMD and Intel fitting.  Whatever flavour your CPu the steps are the same.  Simply clip together the requisite mounting bracket  via the channels that run along the base of the contact plate.  Couldn't be easier could it, which is just as well as the instructions are next to useless.

 

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

We found it easiest to mount the fans to the Radiator using the supplied screws and rubber baffles/anti vibration mounts, before trying to attach the Contact plate to the cooler, simply letting it dangle while we screwed the rad into the roof.

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

Specific double threaded pins are required dependant upon your socket type.  Here we're chosen the ones for the 2011 socket we have in our test rig.  And yes, just like before we got the wrong ones first because they all look identical.  With the pins in place, the contact plate, followed by a small nylon washer and a spring are placed over each of the four fittings

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review  

 

Finally blind ended bolt caps are placed over the springs and tightened down.  The blind ended nature serves to give a clean look to the fixing where a plain bolt would not.

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

With everything in place we can have a look at the Eisberg 240 Prestige inside the Cooler Master "Test Trooper" case that we use for all of our heatsink testing.  The 330mm of tubing means that the set up neither looks stretched or over stuffed with tubing.  We're not convinced of the need for the anto kink coils as their appearance is largly an aesthetic one, at least it's easily removed should you feel you fancy a cleaner look.

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2013, 05:49:35

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...073825886l.jpg

Having reviewed the 120L back in June it's now time to take a look at the big brother, the 240L Prestige.

Continue Reading

30-09-2013, 07:03:20

barnsley
I'd expect a noisy pump with the cheaper seidon series, not with their upmarket eisberg coolers, good job coolermaster :/.

-edit-
If my seidon 120m is anything to go by, the seidon 240m would be a much better buy than this.

30-09-2013, 07:49:43

Excalabur50
Wow so glad I'm running a H100i after reading that

30-09-2013, 17:03:52

R0Y
I highly doubt if anybody who can afford a high-end system with a 3960X will be opting for a AIO at all, if extreme OC is the intention.

I think a mainstream 4670K or 4770K system might be a more reasonable test system for a AIO like this.

Also, some of the graphs aren't right. eg: H100i max and balanced @4GHz/1.25v

01-10-2013, 06:47:44

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
I highly doubt if anybody who can afford a high-end system with a 3960X will be opting for a AIO at all, if extreme OC is the intention.

I think a mainstream 4670K or 4770K system might be a more reasonable test system for a AIO like this.

Also, some of the graphs aren't right. eg: H100i max and balanced @4GHz/1.25v
We run the tests on the 3960X because it's a "hot" chip, the idea being that if a cooler can cope with its thermal characteristics when Overclocked then it is most definitely going to be able to cope with other CPUs.

Secondly, to compare the performance of one cooler against another it's essential that all the tests are run under the same conditions and with the same hardware. Imagine if we ran GPU tests using different hardware and different test set ups and benchmarks etc. there'd be no continuity and as such no comparisons could be made which would render the whole thing pointless.

Having explained the reasons for two of your points, i'm going to let you go away and work out for yourself why the H100i results are as they are.

01-10-2013, 13:52:13

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We run the tests on the 3960X because it's a "hot" chip, the idea being that if a cooler can cope with its thermal characteristics when Overclocked then it is most definitely going to be able to cope with other CPUs.

Secondly, to compare the performance of one cooler against another it's essential that all the tests are run under the same conditions and with the same hardware. Imagine if we ran GPU tests using different hardware and different test set ups and benchmarks etc. there'd be no continuity and as such no comparisons could be made which would render the whole thing pointless.

Having explained the reasons for two of your points, i'm going to let you go away and work out for yourself why the H100i results are as they are.
Thanks for the reply. I understand the need for consistency. I was only suggesting that it would be nicer to see the hot-enough Haswell 4670K/4770K chips being used for the tests, since that would allow the majority of users (the ones who are actually likely to buy the cooler for their chips) to know the ACTUAL temps they can expect at their locations.

I still don't understand how "balanced" can be cooler than "max".

01-10-2013, 16:13:26

tinytomlogan
Short of testing everything on multiple sockets its not going to happen with 1150. We have used 2011 since it first come out and thats why there is so much info in the graphs.

Saying "use 1150 so people know" is also a bit off because there are too many variables

01-10-2013, 16:35:10

R0Y
Aah well. Thanks anyway.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.