Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

Up Close: Radiator and Tubing.

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

Up Close:  Radiator and Tubing

At just 280mm long the radiator is quite compact, having a small end tank at the port end and a slight bulge at the distal end.  The Radiator shroud like the pump/contact plate housing is finished in Satin Black which is nicely counterpointed by the high gloss black tubing and anti kink coils.

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

As well as looking the part the tubing is also highly flexible regardless of the anti kink coils.  The only other connection to consider is the 3pin fan type power lead which is hard wired into the pump housing.  This can either be connected to a motherboard header, directly to a 12v supply as we do for our testing, or if you wish to slow things down a bit via the speed reducer that comes included. 

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

The general level of finish is quite high, as we've come to expect from Cooler Master.  The Radiator was clean and blemish free with no bent fins or channels.  As with the pump the narrow bore tubing is attached via matte black knurled finish compression fittings which blend perfectly with the shading of the other hardware.

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review  

 

At 30mm thick the 240L radiator should fit into the roof of most cases where a roof mounted rad is an option, not forgetting to factor in the 25mm needed for fans should they need to be mounted inboard.  the 15mm spacing of the fans is also something of an industry standard now for 120mm fan based radiators, but there are a still a few exceptions out there. 

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

The Radiator and pump are connected by a generous 330mm of tubing with the power and reducer cables being 250mm and 230mm respectively

Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review      

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2013, 05:49:35

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...073825886l.jpg

Having reviewed the 120L back in June it's now time to take a look at the big brother, the 240L Prestige.

Continue Reading

30-09-2013, 07:03:20

barnsley
I'd expect a noisy pump with the cheaper seidon series, not with their upmarket eisberg coolers, good job coolermaster :/.

-edit-
If my seidon 120m is anything to go by, the seidon 240m would be a much better buy than this.

30-09-2013, 07:49:43

Excalabur50
Wow so glad I'm running a H100i after reading that

30-09-2013, 17:03:52

R0Y
I highly doubt if anybody who can afford a high-end system with a 3960X will be opting for a AIO at all, if extreme OC is the intention.

I think a mainstream 4670K or 4770K system might be a more reasonable test system for a AIO like this.

Also, some of the graphs aren't right. eg: H100i max and balanced @4GHz/1.25v

01-10-2013, 06:47:44

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
I highly doubt if anybody who can afford a high-end system with a 3960X will be opting for a AIO at all, if extreme OC is the intention.

I think a mainstream 4670K or 4770K system might be a more reasonable test system for a AIO like this.

Also, some of the graphs aren't right. eg: H100i max and balanced @4GHz/1.25v
We run the tests on the 3960X because it's a "hot" chip, the idea being that if a cooler can cope with its thermal characteristics when Overclocked then it is most definitely going to be able to cope with other CPUs.

Secondly, to compare the performance of one cooler against another it's essential that all the tests are run under the same conditions and with the same hardware. Imagine if we ran GPU tests using different hardware and different test set ups and benchmarks etc. there'd be no continuity and as such no comparisons could be made which would render the whole thing pointless.

Having explained the reasons for two of your points, i'm going to let you go away and work out for yourself why the H100i results are as they are.

01-10-2013, 13:52:13

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We run the tests on the 3960X because it's a "hot" chip, the idea being that if a cooler can cope with its thermal characteristics when Overclocked then it is most definitely going to be able to cope with other CPUs.

Secondly, to compare the performance of one cooler against another it's essential that all the tests are run under the same conditions and with the same hardware. Imagine if we ran GPU tests using different hardware and different test set ups and benchmarks etc. there'd be no continuity and as such no comparisons could be made which would render the whole thing pointless.

Having explained the reasons for two of your points, i'm going to let you go away and work out for yourself why the H100i results are as they are.
Thanks for the reply. I understand the need for consistency. I was only suggesting that it would be nicer to see the hot-enough Haswell 4670K/4770K chips being used for the tests, since that would allow the majority of users (the ones who are actually likely to buy the cooler for their chips) to know the ACTUAL temps they can expect at their locations.

I still don't understand how "balanced" can be cooler than "max".

01-10-2013, 16:13:26

tinytomlogan
Short of testing everything on multiple sockets its not going to happen with 1150. We have used 2011 since it first come out and thats why there is so much info in the graphs.

Saying "use 1150 so people know" is also a bit off because there are too many variables

01-10-2013, 16:35:10

R0Y
Aah well. Thanks anyway.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.