Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

  Cooler Master Eisberg 240L Prestige Review

 

Introduction

We reviewed the smaller single radiator version, the 120L prestige back in June 2013 and it's fair to say we weren't overly impressed with it.  With all thoughts of it out of our mind we approach the larger version, the 240L Prestige with unsullied thoughts and a spring in our step.  As you might have guessed this is a double width version of the 120L, coming as it does with 2x120mm 1600rpm fans.  Double the surface area should make for improved performance  and of course the Eisberg range offer what conventional AIOs do not.  Although at point of delivery the 240L is essentially and AIO it can be taken apart, added to and expanded.  This flexibility though comes at a price.  At £131 It's a lot more expensive than traditional AIOs.  To see what we're getting for our money let's take a look at the technical Specification.

 

Technical Specification

Intel   Compatibility

Socket 2011
Socket 1366
Socket 1156
Socket 1155

AMD   Compatibility

Socket FM2
Socket FM1
Socket AM3+
Socket AM3
Socket AM2+
Socket AM2

CPU   Waterblock

Copper Micro Channel CPU Waterblock

Radiator

2 x 120mm

Radiator   Dimensions

280 x 124 x 30mm (without fan)

Fan

2 x 1600 rpm Coolermaster Fans

Fan   Connection

3 Pin

Fan   Airflow

60.2 CFM

Fan   Noise

20.5 dBA

Special   Features

All   In One CPU Cooler
Can be Expanded
Micro Channel Technology

Package   Contents

1 x Coolermaster Eisberg
2 x 120mm Fans
Mounting Hardware
Factory Filled Coolant

 

  • Features
  • German designed pump provides stable and strong water pressure
  • JetStream Technology – provides turbo injection of water inside the waterblock
  • Improved cold plate design:
  • Easy installation with Eisberg mounting kit
  • Large Micro Channel contact area
  • - 100% copper
  • - Fine cut Jet Plate
  • - Integrated pump and waterblock

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-09-2013, 05:49:35

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...073825886l.jpg

Having reviewed the 120L back in June it's now time to take a look at the big brother, the 240L Prestige.

Continue Reading

30-09-2013, 07:03:20

barnsley
I'd expect a noisy pump with the cheaper seidon series, not with their upmarket eisberg coolers, good job coolermaster :/.

-edit-
If my seidon 120m is anything to go by, the seidon 240m would be a much better buy than this.

30-09-2013, 07:49:43

Excalabur50
Wow so glad I'm running a H100i after reading that

30-09-2013, 17:03:52

R0Y
I highly doubt if anybody who can afford a high-end system with a 3960X will be opting for a AIO at all, if extreme OC is the intention.

I think a mainstream 4670K or 4770K system might be a more reasonable test system for a AIO like this.

Also, some of the graphs aren't right. eg: H100i max and balanced @4GHz/1.25v

01-10-2013, 06:47:44

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
I highly doubt if anybody who can afford a high-end system with a 3960X will be opting for a AIO at all, if extreme OC is the intention.

I think a mainstream 4670K or 4770K system might be a more reasonable test system for a AIO like this.

Also, some of the graphs aren't right. eg: H100i max and balanced @4GHz/1.25v
We run the tests on the 3960X because it's a "hot" chip, the idea being that if a cooler can cope with its thermal characteristics when Overclocked then it is most definitely going to be able to cope with other CPUs.

Secondly, to compare the performance of one cooler against another it's essential that all the tests are run under the same conditions and with the same hardware. Imagine if we ran GPU tests using different hardware and different test set ups and benchmarks etc. there'd be no continuity and as such no comparisons could be made which would render the whole thing pointless.

Having explained the reasons for two of your points, i'm going to let you go away and work out for yourself why the H100i results are as they are.

01-10-2013, 13:52:13

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We run the tests on the 3960X because it's a "hot" chip, the idea being that if a cooler can cope with its thermal characteristics when Overclocked then it is most definitely going to be able to cope with other CPUs.

Secondly, to compare the performance of one cooler against another it's essential that all the tests are run under the same conditions and with the same hardware. Imagine if we ran GPU tests using different hardware and different test set ups and benchmarks etc. there'd be no continuity and as such no comparisons could be made which would render the whole thing pointless.

Having explained the reasons for two of your points, i'm going to let you go away and work out for yourself why the H100i results are as they are.
Thanks for the reply. I understand the need for consistency. I was only suggesting that it would be nicer to see the hot-enough Haswell 4670K/4770K chips being used for the tests, since that would allow the majority of users (the ones who are actually likely to buy the cooler for their chips) to know the ACTUAL temps they can expect at their locations.

I still don't understand how "balanced" can be cooler than "max".

01-10-2013, 16:13:26

tinytomlogan
Short of testing everything on multiple sockets its not going to happen with 1150. We have used 2011 since it first come out and thats why there is so much info in the graphs.

Saying "use 1150 so people know" is also a bit off because there are too many variables

01-10-2013, 16:35:10

R0Y
Aah well. Thanks anyway.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.