Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

The Build

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

 

The Build

Ron Swanson is a real man, not the sort to read instructions and neither are we.  Which is just as well really as should we need a "reference" source to confirm we've done things right then we'd best prepare to break out the magnifying glass.  We're not joking here.  These instructions are small and we mean Comedy small.  To give you an idea the size of the un expanded image on your screen below left is pretty much life size.  Having eventually worked out which screw we needed we assembled the gear and readied for assembly (we actually turned out to have selected the wrong screw, that's how bad the pictures are and as the packets of screws aren't labelled there's nothing else to go by). 

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review  

 

If you're using anything other than 2011 then you'll need to use one of the supplied back plates.  As we are then we can screw straight into the Motherboard.

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

 

Washers go over the screws then springs over the washers.  Black internally threaded tubes are then screwed down over the top of each of the screws until the base of them touches the washers, or in other words, as far as they will go.  No need for screwdrivers as it's all finger tightened.  

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review  

 

Getting the Radiator in is not nearly as simple and is practically a two person job.  What you're making here is a sandwich which goes fan-baffle-rad-baffle-fan. Easy enough to attach the inner fan to the rad with the baffle in between, but not quite so easy to line up the outer fan-baffle-rad assembly while at the same time feeding the long screw through from outside the case.  As the baffles are quite a floppy rubber they also have a tendency to slip into the fan blades if not held in place when tightening the screws.

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review  

 

Eventually we got the radiator assembly in place and with no filling or bleeding to do were able to fire up the trusty Cooler Master "Test Trooper" (with the side panels on of course and commence testing.  We were a little surprised how noisy the Eisberg was.  The given 25.5dBA seems a little on the low side.  The 9v reducer did quieten things down a little though but still a faint Buzz could be heard through the case sides. 

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-06-2013, 04:19:34

tinytomlogan
With only only 10% of an Iceberg visible above water there's a lot that's not immediately obvious. But does the Eisberg from Cooler Master have hidden depths?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081521495l.JPG


Continue Reading

10-06-2013, 08:59:48

Greenback
interesting results, shame you didn't get the 240 version seems to do well in reviews.
Haven't cooler master been saying they are going to fix the noise since last year as it seems by other reviews as well it has noise issues.
But at 130 for the 240 version that's getting into Xspc kit range or even Swiftech H220 + another 240 rad, which makes it well over priced imo

10-06-2013, 17:46:54

airdeano
aye, shoot the flare, the eisburg has capsized and is sinking quickly. the sounds
of the swelling whitecaps are drown out by the 7v pump growl! was really looking
forward to seeing this and its 240 brother really take off, instead of taking its last
gulp of coolant before up-ending.. too bad

10-06-2013, 23:27:09

Mgutierrez33
*Jayne Cobb voice* ... Well that's just damn disappointing'.

Oh well, I suppose you can't win them all. Plus, based on the specs of that pump it really wouldn't do ti add much more into the loop apart from a 240 mm rad and possibly including a MOSFETT block, but I wouldn't throw much more at it than that really.

17-06-2013, 05:18:02

You_What?
Wil give this a read later tonight, been looking at at a 120mm AIO but the 240mm version caught my eye with the expandability?

17-06-2013, 06:30:20

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by You_What? View Post
Wil give this a read later tonight, been looking at at a 120mm AIO but the 240mm version caught my eye with the expandability?
If you want a 240 with expandability then look at the swiftech H220

19-06-2013, 05:23:05

G-Dubs
We've actually got the 240 version in the labs here at OC3D towers and will be reviewing it soon.

19-06-2013, 05:50:28

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We've actually got the 240 version in the labs here at OC3D towers and will be reviewing it soon.
Actually Dubs has it at his house

19-06-2013, 06:01:53

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We've actually got the 240 version in the labs here at OC3D towers and will be reviewing it soon.
It would be nice to see how it performs, however the price of the 240 version is way to much considering other AIO's and available kits

19-06-2013, 10:10:34

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Actually Dubs has it at his house
SSSSSSHHHHHHH, no one must know his secret O_O

Srsly hoping this one has any shred of anything better (comparatively) going for it than the 120 model did. I actually did notice that in general the pumps for the Cooler Master AIO's are all pretty noisy, but when my gf's PC is running you can't make it out unless your head is right near the top exhaust of the 690II. Still, quiet, quality performance is what we aim for.

26-06-2013, 06:10:20

You_What?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Actually Dubs has it at his house
Tell him to stop hogging it and that your viewers are waiting!!!

Why TTL would you let him do that? Why?

14-07-2013, 10:54:43

Vlada011
I like this diagram it's best on NET.
H100i is for me best option today and X60 Extreme.
It's really weird how X60 is better than H100i but that's it.

I like because and CM start to make this all in one.
Any of them is better than massive coolers.
And price difference is not so big any more.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.