Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

Up Close: Contact Plate and Radiator

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

 

Up Close:  Contact Plate and Radiator

The window in the side is a bit of a give away to this cold plate being more than just..well..a  cold plate.  Peer through the window and you can see the axial flow pump assembly assembled within a chamber which is designed to double as a small reservoir.  If you were to use this unit and upgrade later there'd be nothing wrong with keeping it as is, but we would recommend the addition of a slightly larger reservoir in your system.  The image blow right shows the Matte black compression fittings and the fill port which are key to he Eisberg's expandability. 

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

 

The contact plate is large and although not mirror finished is certainly very shiny.  Mounting brackets slot into the grooves near the base as we will see when we come to the build section.

 Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review  

 

Both the contact plate and the radiator are copper so as to reduce the risk of corrosion that can occur with dissimilar metals.  In the images below we can clearly see the copper of the cooling fins that the paint hasn't quite made it through to.  Although this might look a bit tatty in fact the lack of a paint coating can only help the heat transfer as air passes through. 

Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

 

A few bent and dented fins were noted on the radiator, although this is nothing unusual  it is worth mentioning.  The same Matte Black compression fittings as on the cold plate also serve to attach the tubing to the radiator.

 Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review

The Eisberg comes with a pair of 120mm 1600 RPM fans as well as a selection of long and short screws to  enable mounting.  Also included are a pair of thick rubber spacers.  These serve not only to reduce transmitted sound and vibrations from the fans through the case, but also act as baffles, slightly increasing the distance of the fans from the radiator surface and as such improving the airflow and cooling capabilities.

 Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review     Cooler Master Eisberg 120L Prestige Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-06-2013, 04:19:34

tinytomlogan
With only only 10% of an Iceberg visible above water there's a lot that's not immediately obvious. But does the Eisberg from Cooler Master have hidden depths?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...081521495l.JPG


Continue Reading

10-06-2013, 08:59:48

Greenback
interesting results, shame you didn't get the 240 version seems to do well in reviews.
Haven't cooler master been saying they are going to fix the noise since last year as it seems by other reviews as well it has noise issues.
But at 130 for the 240 version that's getting into Xspc kit range or even Swiftech H220 + another 240 rad, which makes it well over priced imo

10-06-2013, 17:46:54

airdeano
aye, shoot the flare, the eisburg has capsized and is sinking quickly. the sounds
of the swelling whitecaps are drown out by the 7v pump growl! was really looking
forward to seeing this and its 240 brother really take off, instead of taking its last
gulp of coolant before up-ending.. too bad

10-06-2013, 23:27:09

Mgutierrez33
*Jayne Cobb voice* ... Well that's just damn disappointing'.

Oh well, I suppose you can't win them all. Plus, based on the specs of that pump it really wouldn't do ti add much more into the loop apart from a 240 mm rad and possibly including a MOSFETT block, but I wouldn't throw much more at it than that really.

17-06-2013, 05:18:02

You_What?
Wil give this a read later tonight, been looking at at a 120mm AIO but the 240mm version caught my eye with the expandability?

17-06-2013, 06:30:20

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by You_What? View Post
Wil give this a read later tonight, been looking at at a 120mm AIO but the 240mm version caught my eye with the expandability?
If you want a 240 with expandability then look at the swiftech H220

19-06-2013, 05:23:05

G-Dubs
We've actually got the 240 version in the labs here at OC3D towers and will be reviewing it soon.

19-06-2013, 05:50:28

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We've actually got the 240 version in the labs here at OC3D towers and will be reviewing it soon.
Actually Dubs has it at his house

19-06-2013, 06:01:53

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
We've actually got the 240 version in the labs here at OC3D towers and will be reviewing it soon.
It would be nice to see how it performs, however the price of the 240 version is way to much considering other AIO's and available kits

19-06-2013, 10:10:34

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Actually Dubs has it at his house
SSSSSSHHHHHHH, no one must know his secret O_O

Srsly hoping this one has any shred of anything better (comparatively) going for it than the 120 model did. I actually did notice that in general the pumps for the Cooler Master AIO's are all pretty noisy, but when my gf's PC is running you can't make it out unless your head is right near the top exhaust of the 690II. Still, quiet, quality performance is what we aim for.

26-06-2013, 06:10:20

You_What?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Actually Dubs has it at his house
Tell him to stop hogging it and that your viewers are waiting!!!

Why TTL would you let him do that? Why?

14-07-2013, 10:54:43

Vlada011
I like this diagram it's best on NET.
H100i is for me best option today and X60 Extreme.
It's really weird how X60 is better than H100i but that's it.

I like because and CM start to make this all in one.
Any of them is better than massive coolers.
And price difference is not so big any more.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.