Cooler Master Cosmos S Case

Conclusion

Conclusion
 
The Cooler Master Cosmos S is without doubt one of the most well thought out cases I have ever encountered. From small things like the easily removable fan filters and quick-release doors, to the ability to install a monstrous triple 120mm radiator in the top of the case with no modifications needed, the Cooler Master Cosmos S has it all.
 
Normally I'm not a fan of the 'pre-modified' look, but Cooler Master have managed to make a totally unique case that is simply gorgeous. Sure there's still some plastic lurking in certain parts of the case's construction, but such a good job has been done with the styling, it would almost be a shame if it wasn't there.
 
While the original Cosmos 1000 has always been very popular, the Cosmos S takes things to a whole new level, improving in almost every area that its predecessor lacked. These improvements do however come at a price. With a retail price of £152. 69 over at WaterCoolingUK the Cosmos S is certainly not cheap, but do I personally think it's worth it? Yes, every penny.
 
 
The Good
• All-Aluminium frame and side panels.
• Full support for a triple 120mm radiator.
• Masses of space, with no obstructions.
• Ability to install radiator externally.
• Ten 5.25" bays - plenty of room for expansion.
• Touch sensitive switches.
• Easily removable dust filters.
• Effortless installation with no cut fingers!
 
The Mediocre
• Design of the case may not appeal to everyone.
• Maybe a little too much plastic still.
 
The Bad
• Cooler Master want it back!
 
 
Overclock3D Editors Choice Award
 
Thanks to Cooler Master for making this review possible. Discuss the review in our forums.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-02-2008, 08:21:10

JN
"We take a look at Cooler Master's all-aluminium (well nearly) Cosmos S case"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...144035858s.jpg

Cooler Master Cosmos S Case

24-02-2008, 08:38:28

ionicle
now that looks like a nice case...

especially for watercoolers

i'm guessing if you wanted to, if not watercooling, you could have 3 120 mil fans just on the top of the case, blowing hot air out, which would work like convection

24-02-2008, 08:52:07

Mr. Smith
It's ok; too much plastic (any plastic on a case is too much) and doesnt accept thermochill rads :/

24-02-2008, 09:33:54

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
It's ok; too much plastic (any plastic on a case is too much) and doesnt accept thermochill rads :/
Yeah problem with thermochill rads is if you design a case to take one, it wont take anything else...and the global distribution of thermochill pretty much sucks

24-02-2008, 11:18:32

Luigi
Just a little heads up, the last page on the page selector is called "double click to edit"..

I havent had a chance to read through it all, this may be explained but whats the 24pin for?

24-02-2008, 11:58:58

FarFarAway
Oops so it is, changed

Case looks nice, fantastic to be a 360mm RAD ready

24-02-2008, 12:18:26

equk
I think it looks good for cooling and nice to be ready for watercooling etc.

It's a shame it looks really plasticy and cheap (even if it isn't)

Looks like Alienware meet Lian-Li

02-04-2008, 05:00:38

XenoMorpH-TDI
Looking at the back of the CosmosS. The casefan is much larger than standard casefan. I don't think CoolIT WC setups won't be able to fit on it?

02-04-2008, 05:11:37

da2ca
I really like it. If i was looking for a new case it would make the short list, no probs.

02-04-2008, 07:57:17

!TIMMY!
Very good review, looks a great case of internal water cooling. Timmy loves Coolermaster cases

18-05-2010, 17:18:22

hadesan
I love this case - lots of room for everything. One problem is the right side of the case and cable management. It gets somewhat tight with the support bars that are in place. Looking to water cool and will see how it goes for that.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.