Cooler Master Centurion 590

Conclusion

 
Conclusion
 
As mentioned at the start, enthusiast can often overlook a mid-range product simply through habit. The Centurion 590 is a shining example of why this shouldn't the case. It's a well designed chassis with a myriad of features that all hide away nicely behind its minimalist exterior. The Centurion 590 has enough fan mounts to generate a small tornado inside, and with a modders touch could be adapted very easily to accommodate a water-cooling loop. Inside there's more than enough space to house the hefty GPUs and monstrous heatsinks that make up a modern system. The mass of drive bays means that the chassis will accomodate all but the largest of drive configurations.
 
However, unfortunately it's not perfect. The major gripe I had was the fact that it's constructed of steel. This probably isn't so much of a issue as I perceive it to be but after being spoilt with Aluminium chassis for a good while, steel feels clumsy.The second issue was the easily marked paint. All brushes against the panels left a mark that wouldn't polish out, and even in the sort time I had it the case developed a heavlily used look.
 
Now onto the cost. The Centurion 590, despite its many features can be picked up for the very reasonable price of £60 from Tekheads. This makes it even more attractive to the consumer who' s looking for quality at a price.
 
Overall, if your looking for a solid, functional, good looking case and can overlook the steel and position it so it will come into little contact with anything harder than a feather duster, then the Centurion 590 should make the short list with no question.

The Good
  • Well thought out layout
  • More than enough fan mounts
  • Good looks
  • Quite Modable
 The Medium
  • Made of steel
The Bad
  •  Easily Scratched
 
 
Thanks go out to Cooler Master for providing the Centurion 590 for review
 
Discuss in the forum
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-08-2008, 06:58:36

PV5150
The Centurion line has proved a popular choice for the more budget conscious enthusiast looking for a quality mid-tower case, will Cooler Master's Centurion 590 make the grade?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153313228s.jpg

Cooler Master Centurion 590 review

15-08-2008, 09:47:44

Hassan
Don't really like that case.

But I found that the fan on the rear of the motherboard chassis to be useful. Good enough to draw cold air to the CPU

15-08-2008, 09:50:51

!TIMMY!
Nice very review Ham, pitty about the rad.

Been looking for a budget case to internal house my 240 rad. Looks like it will be the NZXT Tempest :S

15-08-2008, 09:54:01

Ham
Woah, when did this go live. Who likes my shrubs then?

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hassan'
But I found that the fan on the rear of the motherboard chassis to be useful. Good enough to draw cold air to the CPU
Is there a hole in your motherboard or something then? cos there's pretty much no way of the air getting to the cpu from that fan. In this case at least.

15-08-2008, 11:35:48

TJS
I've had a couple Cooler Master cases, they look good, feel sturdy (as compared to my NZXT Zero), and are inexpensive. I've been looking at cases, and the 590 presents a problem for me... the HDD/optical drive bays run from the top to the bottom. Another case, the COOLER MASTER Elite 340 RC-340C-KKN1-GP Black Steel MicroATX Mid Tower Computer Case, has two optical drive bays and two HDD bays, with the rest of the space below wide open. This will allow easy installation of a 120mm radiator I can mount two fans on (push/pull) for an internal water cooling rig. One bay for the optical drive, the other bay to house a Koolance pump/reservoir combo, and get a Danger Den CPU water block... should work just fine. Radiator would be a Danger Den GTX, like double wide so the water takes longer to run through and get cooler before going to the CPU block.

Thats one of the things I like about Cooler Master also... they make a lot of cases, so eventually you should find one you like, that will suit your needs.

15-08-2008, 19:57:10

Aqua-Pc's
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Woah, when did this go live. Who likes my shrubs then?
Not much of a shrub man myself but thats a well polished drive way you have there

19-08-2008, 13:03:39

tonschk
Hi , I think this CM590 is a very good case with a few minor defects , but overall is good

28-08-2008, 03:30:52

monkey7
I have built two rights with the centurion 590 so far, and I haven't had any major problems. Installation of the back upper fan is a pain in the ***, and the 'toolless' design leaves you using screws for about 75% of the job instead of 100, but no major problems.

In the now about 5 hours I have spent assembling hardware in it I have never met any serious trouble or cut my hands. I think that overall for €70 this is quite a good case.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.