Cooler Master ATCS 840 Aluminium ATX Case

External Appearance Cont..

External Appearance Continued...
 
Cleaning and removal of the 230mm fans is quite easy thanks to the slide-out grill that is secured into place with two thumbscrews. This is a huge bonus for those of us who are often forced to completely disassemble our systems when fans and radiators get clogged with dust. Replacing the grill after cleaning can be a tad tricky as it requires perfect lining up of the grill with two small rails at either side, but this is a small price to pay for a grill that doesn't vibrate when the system is powered on.
 
Cooler master ATCS 840 Fan Grill Cooler Master ATCS 840 Fan Grill Open
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Fans Cooler Master ATCS 840 Rad Mount
 
Placing the radiator mounting kit over the 230mm fan screw holes we can see just how the system would fit together with a 360mm radiator installed. It's a bit disappointing that Cooler Master opted to make the brackets from plastic rather than something a little more robust such as aluminium or steel, but the plastic does feel slightly reinforced and we doubt there will be any complaints of radiators snapping off.
 
Unfortunately we didn't have any radiators to hand to test measurements and fitting, but Cooler Master tell us that the ATCS will support the same radiators as the Cosmos S, which from our previous review are:
 
Compatible:
HWLabs BlackIce GT Stealth III
HWLabs BlackIce GT Xtreme III
HWLabs BlackIce Pro III
HWLabs BlackIce GT
Watercool HTSF 360
XSPC RS360
XSPC R120-T
Aquacomputer Airplex Evo
Aquacomputer Airplex Pro
Alphacool NexXxoS Pro III
Magicool Aluminium 360
Magicool Xtreme 360 Radiator
Magicool Slim 360 Radiator
Swiftech MCR320 QP 360 - thanks mushikun!

Not Compatible:
Thermochill PA120.3
 
 Cooler Master ATCS 840 Rear Cooler Master ATCS 840 Top PSU
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Fan Cooler Master ATCS 840 PCI Area
 
Finishing up at the back end we can see that the ATCS 840 has space for two PSU's. Obviously adding a second PSU to the top of the case removes any chance of installing a radiator, but it's certainly nice to be given the option anyway. The top PSU blanking plate features two holes fitted with rubber grommits for feeding water tubing to the outside of the case should you want to mount a radiator externally.
 
Unfortunately Cooler Master couldn't fit another 230mm fan at the back of the case (haha), but we're sure if they'd been given the chance they would have done. Instead the main exhaust fan for the ATCS 840 is a rather standard 120mm complimented by a honeycomb grill that runs down the right hand side of the expansion slots.
 
 Cooler Master ATCS 840 PCI Vents Cooler Master ATCS 840 PCI Vent
 
Here we see the "External Air Duct" mounted to the PCI expansion slot area. The idea behind this system is to draw the hot air from devices such as graphics cards and the general system out the back of the case and redirect it sideways. This prevents hot air from 'bouncing' back into the case when it is pushed up against a wall and will hopefully help to keep system temperatures lower.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2008, 07:32:25

JN
"Cooler Master has revived the much loved ATCS range and we were given the chance to take the ATCS 840 for a testdrive."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135323205s.jpg

Cooler Master ATCS 840 Aluminium ATX Case

26-11-2008, 08:54:23

PV5150
Wow what a gorgeous looking beast and I agree with the areas that you highlighted for further improvement. I've gotta get me a black one of these

26-11-2008, 10:29:29

SuB
wow that's stunning! i'd easily have one of these with a full black interior possible window or mesh side panel and a BLACK badge... hrm...

I'm due a new case, be nice to have one thats basically ready to go for watercooling too... tempting...

how much is this? i didn't see a price

26-11-2008, 10:44:14

D-Cyph3r
Been waiting for this review.

Absolutely gorgeous case though, easily able to hold it's own against a Lian Li or Silverstone. I also like how they took all the good bits from the Cosmos S aswell, the tool-less drive bays and radiator-compatible roof particularly.

Also, lovely artwork on the front of the box, if a little out of place.

26-11-2008, 11:02:09

Brooksie
That case is stunning . Love all the little details. This would definitely be in my case wishlist xD

26-11-2008, 11:11:06

MeltedDuron
Wow Jim thats a great review as usual! I think thats a lovely case with some insane cooling, but I dont get how they can call it an ATCS At least to me the ATCS cases were nearly all smallish mid towers with beautifully simple design...

Even though I've butchered it a lot, my old Praetorian (last rev. ATC-201 in black ano) still makes me go wow at the engineering involved, if you took out the fans, switches, LED's and the front IO thing you wouldnt be able to find a piece of plastic in the whole case.

The ATCS 840 is lovely but I don't have one on my christmas list. If anyone from CM can read this (yeah right ) come out with a beautiful mid tower (think ATC-110), and I'll buy one, maybe even two!

On a side note, didn't CM fire the ATCS engineers years ago and they went to work for silverstone?

Alex

26-11-2008, 13:01:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
Wow Jim thats a great review as usual! I think thats a lovely case with some insane cooling, but I dont get how they can call it an ATCS At least to me the ATCS cases were nearly all smallish mid towers with beautifully simple design...
Well most....

http://www.coolercases.co.uk/images/...c-s4000-sx.jpg

S4000-SX baby

But yeah i do agree, the original ATCS cases were midi-towers, but tbh that was more because most people had little use for anything larger at the time rather than CM's choice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
Even though I've butchered it a lot, my old Praetorian (last rev. ATC-201 in black ano) still makes me go wow at the engineering involved, if you took out the fans, switches, LED's and the front IO thing you wouldnt be able to find a piece of plastic in the whole case.
Yeppers I'm still on the look-out for an all original / immaculate Black Widow

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'

On a side note, didn't CM fire the ATCS engineers years ago and they went to work for silverstone?
Something like that, but ye all _original_ ATCS engineers are now Silverstone. Hence if you look at the TJ03, its basically a ATC-201 with a new front panel.

26-11-2008, 14:10:01

ionicle
well nice

does it come with a window

i dont usually like CM cases, but i think they've turned a corner

the stacker was horrible

the new stacker was horrible

most of their cheeper cases were cheep and nasty

the black widdow was nice

and the wavemaster, but thats it

this joins the nice club methinks

27-11-2008, 12:55:36

SuB
ok seriously? a price and a place to buy and a date?

28-11-2008, 04:17:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'
ok seriously? a price and a place to buy and a date?
The only confirmed stockist I've got at the moment is YOYOTech and it should be available early December. The RRP i was given + 15% Tax adds up to around 202, but it could be 210 tops I've been told.

28-11-2008, 05:15:38

SuB
hrm that's steep... but tbh reasonable cheers Jim i'll be keeping an eye out for them... this review really has made a decision for me tbh lol

28-11-2008, 11:21:42

Bungral
Ooo it is a lot but it is also very nice

*wants*

07-08-2009, 21:51:28

mushikun
hi guys, i'm new to this site. I know its and old thread but Id like to add something to the article. I was looking around the net to check the compatibility between the atcs 840 and the swiftech cmr 320.

first I find a thread from a guy who was planning to build the same computer as me : i7 920 atcs swiftech mcr 320... that guy also found a thread from a guy who built that computer (sorry i cannot post the link...)

but he decided not to use the swiftech cmr320 because of qc3d's article about the atcs 840 saying there s no compatibility between the 2.

do you follow me guys, I'm sorry english is not my language...

well, I was surprised and disappointed as I was planning to buy the atcs to watercool my cpu. i decided to check and sent a message to coolermaster asking about the compatibility between atcs 840 and swiftec mcr320

this is the answer from coolermaster :

Dear customer,

You will not have a trouble doing that in that case, you will have plenty of room for that radiator.

Respectfully,

coolermaster


I'm really happy I did that because I'm going to order that case and do the watercool i planned...

I m sure many people read this article and changed their plans... maybe it would be a good idea from the author to check, edit and change the wrong informations, even in 2009, they stay on the net...

08-08-2009, 03:56:13

VonBlade
The review does state that CM said it supports the same radiators as the Cosmos which from the previous test were..

So it was only taken on the information that Coolermaster provided at the time.

Although I can't see why any 15mm spacing rad shouldn't fit.

08-08-2009, 04:12:26

mushikun
I understand but still, when you're new to watercooling, and you dont know the case if u read this article you may change your initial plan like the guy I was talking about. I just added that comment for the people who like me want that case and the same watercooling system and who want to know about compatibility.

08-08-2009, 05:13:46

JN
Hi Mushikun,

The list of radiators posted in the review were actually tested by our friends over at WaterCoolingUK. I can only assume that either the Swiftech radiator used was damaged, or that since the review Swiftech have updated their radiators to follow the 15mm spacing that other manufacturers use.

Either way i'll update the review.

Jim

08-08-2009, 10:02:41

mushikun
thank you, I hope you didn't get me wrong, my purpose was just to help.

I mean, when I found this article I was very disapointed, because I was planning to get these parts. so no compatibility implied looking for another shop... maybe more expensive... it took me a long time to check on the net and I finally decided to contact coolermaster directly.

still, your article was very helpful and the people here know a lot. I learnt many things about watercooling and I feel more confortable now with the new parts I'm going to get soon.

thank you guys

mushi

08-08-2009, 13:45:02

ScottALot
Sleek, shiny look. Looks durable, too!

02-06-2011, 15:14:36

Perfectionist
I was thinking about getting one of these but unfortunately the cubby hole in my desk is only 500mm depth leaving 130mm overhang. I suppose i could remove the legs on the tower (is it possible?) and just pull back the desk a little bit. I was wondering though, would an h50 fit into the removable tray, if not are there any recommendations on similar style cases (around 150 limit)? I watched Toms recent review on the Fractal v H2 and agree about the hard drive bays and airflow for front fan.

Inside the desk ive a 700mm available for height, 260mm width.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.