Cooler Master ATCS 840 Aluminium ATX Case

Packaging & External Appearance

Packaging & External Appearance
 
Packaging on the ATCS 840 is quite a standard affair with the case arriving inside a brown double-walled cardboard box. At the front of the box is a sketch-like graphic of the case sitting in front of two unicorns and a knight. Around the back is yet another image of the 840, but this time from a more technical perspective with the case being fully 'exploded' to give potential buyers a good idea of just how the case fits together. Overall the design is fairly minimalistic, which is quite fitting considering Cooler Master are marketing the 840 as a 'Classic' design.
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Box Front Cooler Master ATCS 840 Box Back
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Packaging Cooler Master ATCS 840 Accessories
 
Once inside the box you are presented with the ATCS 840 sealed inside a clear plastic bag. To be honest, we were half expecting the drawstring fabric bag used on the Cosmos S to make a reappearance here, but unfortunately the 840 receives no such treatment. Two polystyrene slabs protect the top and bottom of the case and prevent it from moving around during shipping. However, at the end of the day the fate of the case is ultimately still in the hands of the courier.
 
Jumping ahead of ourselves a few steps, Cooler Master have secured two accessory boxes inside the case. Included in these boxes you will find the usual assortment of screws and motherboard spacers, some sticky cable tidies, a 120mm fan grill, brackets for securing a triple radiator and the external air duct that we'll cover in detail a little later.
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Front Cooler Master ATCS 840 Front-Side
 
Starting around the side that you're most likely to see during every day use, the most striking feature about the ATCS 840 is most definitely it's width. Compared to the likes of Lian Li's V2010, the 840 comes in around 4cm wider, giving the case a rather 'beefy' appearance. A total of six 5.25" drive bays are on show at the front of the case with one serving a dual purpose as a 3.5" bay as well.
 
Interestingly the drive bay covers are not totally made from aluminium, and instead have a plastic construction with an aluminium faceplate. This may sound like a cost saving exercise, but has actually been done so that the bezels work with Cooler Master's patent pending quick release drive buttons. Furthermore this also prevents the problem of scratches that some aluminium drive bezels leave behind when removing them from your brand new case.
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Front Lower Cooler Master ATCS 840 Front Fan
  
Moving on to the lower half of the case we can see the aluminium face plate that left many of our forum-goers in two minds when the ATCS 840 was revealed to us a couple of months ago. While I personally quite like the way the plate breaks up what could have been a rather bland case design, the oversized silver Cooler Master logo looks extremely out of place on the black version of the 840 and would have been much better sprayed entirely black.
 
Removal of the plate to access the 240mm fan and filter placed behind is actually quite tricky and led to a few cringe-worthy moments. While the manual simply shows the face plate being pulled outwards away from the chassis, the plastic tabs used to hold the plate in position looked like they would snap at any minute. For a case of this class it would have been much nicer to see some kind of magnetic hinging system, or even something as simple as four screws.
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Side Cooler Master ATCS 840 Side
 
The side panels of the ATCS 840 are fairly standard and slide into place like the marjority of other standard cases. Once again it would have been nice to have a door mechanism like the Cosmos S or indeed the Lian Li 'V' series, but maybe we're asking a bit too much? The ATCS 840 also falls short of the Cosmos S when it comes to the thickness of the side panels. Whereas the Cosmos S is often applauded for its rigid 1.5mm thick aluminium panels, the ATCS 840 panels are actually quite flexable when detached from the case and we'd estimate them to be around 0.9mm thick

Neither of the panels feature any kind of additional cooling - be it vents or fans (Not that it's needed!!), and at the present time we're unsure if Cooler Master will be releasing any windowed panels.
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Top Cooler Master ATCS 840 Top Grill
 
The top of the ATCS 840 is simply jaw dropping. While most manufacturers are happy with simply placing a couple of 120mm fans at the top of their case, Cooler Master have taken things several steps further by kitting the ATCS 840 with two 230mm fans. This gives the ATCS name some real meaning and as we've already seen from the accessories box, the fitting of a triple (or 360mm) radiator is absolutely no problem either.
 
Cooler Master ATCS 840 Ports Cooler Master ATCS 840 Button
 
To match the aluminium face plate at the front of the 840, Cooler Master have designed a console style area at the top of the case which contains the power and reset switches along with a pop-up interface that provides access to four USB ports, a 1394 port, an eSATA port and microphone/headphone sockets. Everything here feels of the utmost quality, with the power switch and USB interface having little lateral movement.
 
 Continued over next page...

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-11-2008, 07:32:25

JN
"Cooler Master has revived the much loved ATCS range and we were given the chance to take the ATCS 840 for a testdrive."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...135323205s.jpg

Cooler Master ATCS 840 Aluminium ATX Case

26-11-2008, 08:54:23

PV5150
Wow what a gorgeous looking beast and I agree with the areas that you highlighted for further improvement. I've gotta get me a black one of these

26-11-2008, 10:29:29

SuB
wow that's stunning! i'd easily have one of these with a full black interior possible window or mesh side panel and a BLACK badge... hrm...

I'm due a new case, be nice to have one thats basically ready to go for watercooling too... tempting...

how much is this? i didn't see a price

26-11-2008, 10:44:14

D-Cyph3r
Been waiting for this review.

Absolutely gorgeous case though, easily able to hold it's own against a Lian Li or Silverstone. I also like how they took all the good bits from the Cosmos S aswell, the tool-less drive bays and radiator-compatible roof particularly.

Also, lovely artwork on the front of the box, if a little out of place.

26-11-2008, 11:02:09

Brooksie
That case is stunning . Love all the little details. This would definitely be in my case wishlist xD

26-11-2008, 11:11:06

MeltedDuron
Wow Jim thats a great review as usual! I think thats a lovely case with some insane cooling, but I dont get how they can call it an ATCS At least to me the ATCS cases were nearly all smallish mid towers with beautifully simple design...

Even though I've butchered it a lot, my old Praetorian (last rev. ATC-201 in black ano) still makes me go wow at the engineering involved, if you took out the fans, switches, LED's and the front IO thing you wouldnt be able to find a piece of plastic in the whole case.

The ATCS 840 is lovely but I don't have one on my christmas list. If anyone from CM can read this (yeah right ) come out with a beautiful mid tower (think ATC-110), and I'll buy one, maybe even two!

On a side note, didn't CM fire the ATCS engineers years ago and they went to work for silverstone?

Alex

26-11-2008, 13:01:01

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
Wow Jim thats a great review as usual! I think thats a lovely case with some insane cooling, but I dont get how they can call it an ATCS At least to me the ATCS cases were nearly all smallish mid towers with beautifully simple design...
Well most....

http://www.coolercases.co.uk/images/...c-s4000-sx.jpg

S4000-SX baby

But yeah i do agree, the original ATCS cases were midi-towers, but tbh that was more because most people had little use for anything larger at the time rather than CM's choice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'
Even though I've butchered it a lot, my old Praetorian (last rev. ATC-201 in black ano) still makes me go wow at the engineering involved, if you took out the fans, switches, LED's and the front IO thing you wouldnt be able to find a piece of plastic in the whole case.
Yeppers I'm still on the look-out for an all original / immaculate Black Widow

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron'

On a side note, didn't CM fire the ATCS engineers years ago and they went to work for silverstone?
Something like that, but ye all _original_ ATCS engineers are now Silverstone. Hence if you look at the TJ03, its basically a ATC-201 with a new front panel.

26-11-2008, 14:10:01

ionicle
well nice

does it come with a window

i dont usually like CM cases, but i think they've turned a corner

the stacker was horrible

the new stacker was horrible

most of their cheeper cases were cheep and nasty

the black widdow was nice

and the wavemaster, but thats it

this joins the nice club methinks

27-11-2008, 12:55:36

SuB
ok seriously? a price and a place to buy and a date?

28-11-2008, 04:17:59

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SuB'
ok seriously? a price and a place to buy and a date?
The only confirmed stockist I've got at the moment is YOYOTech and it should be available early December. The RRP i was given + 15% Tax adds up to around 202, but it could be 210 tops I've been told.

28-11-2008, 05:15:38

SuB
hrm that's steep... but tbh reasonable cheers Jim i'll be keeping an eye out for them... this review really has made a decision for me tbh lol

28-11-2008, 11:21:42

Bungral
Ooo it is a lot but it is also very nice

*wants*

07-08-2009, 21:51:28

mushikun
hi guys, i'm new to this site. I know its and old thread but Id like to add something to the article. I was looking around the net to check the compatibility between the atcs 840 and the swiftech cmr 320.

first I find a thread from a guy who was planning to build the same computer as me : i7 920 atcs swiftech mcr 320... that guy also found a thread from a guy who built that computer (sorry i cannot post the link...)

but he decided not to use the swiftech cmr320 because of qc3d's article about the atcs 840 saying there s no compatibility between the 2.

do you follow me guys, I'm sorry english is not my language...

well, I was surprised and disappointed as I was planning to buy the atcs to watercool my cpu. i decided to check and sent a message to coolermaster asking about the compatibility between atcs 840 and swiftec mcr320

this is the answer from coolermaster :

Dear customer,

You will not have a trouble doing that in that case, you will have plenty of room for that radiator.

Respectfully,

coolermaster


I'm really happy I did that because I'm going to order that case and do the watercool i planned...

I m sure many people read this article and changed their plans... maybe it would be a good idea from the author to check, edit and change the wrong informations, even in 2009, they stay on the net...

08-08-2009, 03:56:13

VonBlade
The review does state that CM said it supports the same radiators as the Cosmos which from the previous test were..

So it was only taken on the information that Coolermaster provided at the time.

Although I can't see why any 15mm spacing rad shouldn't fit.

08-08-2009, 04:12:26

mushikun
I understand but still, when you're new to watercooling, and you dont know the case if u read this article you may change your initial plan like the guy I was talking about. I just added that comment for the people who like me want that case and the same watercooling system and who want to know about compatibility.

08-08-2009, 05:13:46

JN
Hi Mushikun,

The list of radiators posted in the review were actually tested by our friends over at WaterCoolingUK. I can only assume that either the Swiftech radiator used was damaged, or that since the review Swiftech have updated their radiators to follow the 15mm spacing that other manufacturers use.

Either way i'll update the review.

Jim

08-08-2009, 10:02:41

mushikun
thank you, I hope you didn't get me wrong, my purpose was just to help.

I mean, when I found this article I was very disapointed, because I was planning to get these parts. so no compatibility implied looking for another shop... maybe more expensive... it took me a long time to check on the net and I finally decided to contact coolermaster directly.

still, your article was very helpful and the people here know a lot. I learnt many things about watercooling and I feel more confortable now with the new parts I'm going to get soon.

thank you guys

mushi

08-08-2009, 13:45:02

ScottALot
Sleek, shiny look. Looks durable, too!

02-06-2011, 15:14:36

Perfectionist
I was thinking about getting one of these but unfortunately the cubby hole in my desk is only 500mm depth leaving 130mm overhang. I suppose i could remove the legs on the tower (is it possible?) and just pull back the desk a little bit. I was wondering though, would an h50 fit into the removable tray, if not are there any recommendations on similar style cases (around 150 limit)? I watched Toms recent review on the Fractal v H2 and agree about the hard drive bays and airflow for front fan.

Inside the desk ive a 700mm available for height, 260mm width.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.