Cooler Master 690 II Advanced White Edition Video Review

Conclusion & Video

 Cooler Master 690 II Advanced White Edition Video Review

Conclusion & Video Review 

We felt a video for this case would be the best way to show it off properly compared to a standard review. That and the fact when put in the light tent it cloaked like a Klingon Bird Of Prey into the background!

Cooler Master have taken the award winning 690 II Advanced and have made everything white. The hard drive bays are now white plastic, the dust filters are white, the tool-less drive bay clips are white, obviously the case itself has been given a lick of gloss white powdercoat but even right down to the water cooling grommets in the back are now, yep you've guessed it, white!

The fans are all clear but we have all been in agreement that just the front fan having blue LED's is a bit of a let down as it looks spanking gorgeous. These can be bought cheaply and easily enough, this could also give you the excuse to explore different colour options. It's a shame to see Cooler Master following the Corsair route of saving a couple of pennies but spoiling the look.

Its great to have a mid-tower sized case with real water-cooling support. Some manufacturers use the loose term water cooling support but this is well and truly a water coolers dream for its size. It's not just the support for a decent thickness 240MM radiator in the roof but if you remove the bottom half of the hard drive cage you can fit another in the floor as well. This really does mean you can have a fully water cooled system in a mid-tower chassis, but to make it even better the white case really will show off your coolant and give you the excuse to paint your radiators to match!

As more and more white products are released from power supplies to water-blocks, cases like this can only become more and more desirable. With some clever planning you really can paint the inside of the case with light to completely change the look of the internals, making the 690 II practically a modders dream.

For something so different to the norm we normal expect to pay a premium, especially from a big name brand like Cooler Master. However, they've released the 690 II at a mere £80 which is the perfect point for a high-end mid-tower case, let alone one that looks as good as this and ticks every box on the list.

With all the details taken in to account how could we give this anything less than the coveted OC3D Gold Award.

  

Thank you to Cooler Master for the 690 II on test today, you can discuss your thoughts in our forums.

«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-12-2010, 05:13:23

tinytomlogan
So what if the whole country has been white lately, a little more cant hurt! We take a look at the White 690 II Advanced.

Continue Reading

06-12-2010, 07:39:02

Rastalovich
It's just my own personal opinion, and I'm not really a case-person - but I know what's decent looking prior to modding, but in all honesty I find this case nasty.

Soon as it's nice'n'popular and falls to <60, it'd semi justify it to people with a white fetish, even tho the whole mesh thing looks cheap to me.

Insides are like all their cases I've touched, nice. Just a shame about the looks, imo.

06-12-2010, 08:19:08

hmmblah
I have this case in black, not sure if I like the white yet. The phantom looks great in white, but the mesh front of the 690 II doesn't look so hot in white IMO. Still an excellent case for price and layout though.

06-12-2010, 08:35:25

tinytomlogan
I have to admit in the flesh I really like this, and for 80 Id honestly say this is awesome for those that like white but dont want a full tower. It also has better WC support than all the other white chassis available.

06-12-2010, 08:58:59

hmmblah
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

I have to admit in the flesh I really like this, and for 80 Id honestly say this is awesome for those that like white but dont want a full tower. It also has better WC support than all the other white chassis available.
It's only $80 here. I've seen it as cheap as $60 on sale. I paid about $100 when it first came out. Good pricing though either way. Do you know how thick of a radiator you can fit in the top?

06-12-2010, 10:24:36

THD
Talking white : Tom you said you would be using the phantom as your personal rig and would come with a review on that case.

Will it come this month and can you hint on how it is compared to this one

06-12-2010, 11:13:34

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by THD View Post

Talking white : Tom you said you would be using the phantom as your personal rig and would come with a review on that case.

Will it come this month and can you hint on how it is compared to this one
Said Id use it for a month and I did, it was featured in the subscriber video #7. Both cases are very different dude and all the infor for the Phantom was covered in the original video review I did.

06-12-2010, 12:17:50

AMDFTW
so would you say this has teken the sub 100 crown off the utgard?

i dnt like the white i like the black but thats me

06-12-2010, 12:38:19

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

so would you say this has teken the sub 100 crown off the utgard?

i dnt like the white i like the black but thats me
The Utgard is epic for the money, but this feels slightly better quality, has support without mods for 2x 240mm rads and hey - its white!

Id say Utgard isthe best case around 60 and this is the best 70 - 100 chassis. Its so nice Id happily use it for a customer.

06-12-2010, 13:32:58

BertDaSquirt
Utgard is epic.. havent got round to using it yet tho.. but much better than my current case and as i cant splash out on the most expensive kit i would say if you dnt really mind about the case and WC then go for it.. but if you want the ability, this (690 II) seems much better and i would sadly say that i prefer black aswell...

06-12-2010, 16:23:55

THD
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Said Id use it for a month and I did, it was featured in the subscriber video #7. Both cases are very different dude and all the infor for the Phantom was covered in the original video review I did.
Saw the original video and was waiting for your follow up which was actually in 'Week In Words 18th September 2010'.

But i gues I missed that at first, as I usually only check out this site and not you tube.

Anyways.... Thanks for all the great reviews and keep it going it really helps me as a noob to make solid decissions to compose a nice rig

08-12-2010, 13:38:05

Aurus_OC
Just one quick question: From the review it's the 690 II advanced in white, however in Germany I only seem to be able to get a white 690 II lite. Is there any major difference between the lite and advanced models?

08-12-2010, 13:39:02

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurus_OC View Post

Just one quick question: From the review it's the 690 II advanced in white, however in Germany I only seem to be able to get a white 690 II lite. Is there any major difference between the lite and advanced models?
Not 100% what the difference are as Ive not done the lite, just check some reviews dude.

08-12-2010, 13:46:43

F-alienware
I usually really like white cases. I really do. This one sadly just made me a little sick in my mouth.

Now a white survivor? OMG. Boing !

I tell you what the front of this case reminds me of?

When I was a wee kiddy we had this old fashioned tumble dryer. Any way, inside the front door was this fluff filter thing. It was like, white mesh with a plastic frame. Looking at the front of the case really brings back some cool memories ! I used to collect up the fluff crap and go put it in my brother's bed. Imagine his horror when he got into bed and thought there was a dead mouse in his bed

It's no surprise he broke my nose. Not once but twice

08-12-2010, 13:52:32

Aurus_OC
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Not 100% what the difference are as Ive not done the lite, just check some reviews dude.
just checked at Aria and some other sites. It looks like the white ones are all "lite". http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Compo...roductId=41516

14-01-2011, 15:17:04

Morbious Stone
if your in the states the black Advanced version is $60 @ geeks.com

30-01-2011, 16:58:38

CSB30
Nice review TTL.

I also asked Cooler Master (via e mail) why/where has the HAF 932 Black Edition disappeared to. But still awaiting reply.

19-02-2011, 16:36:33

CSB30
TTL we now know you are into white cases (maybe it was something you let slip?) So whats your thoughts on the Corsair Special Edition White (/Black) Graphite Series 600T?

This edition includes (x2) 200mm Fans w/White LEDs, (x1) 120mm Fan. (Must have taken onboard some of your review comments)

To me looks like the best of both (Black/White) worlds and with a window side panel, what more could I want
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.