CM Storm Sniper Black Edition

Conclusion & Videos

Bundled Extras
 
The case comes bundled with one of CM Storms new gaming surfaces. Ok ok I know its a mouse mat, but 'gaming surfaces' sounds like I know what I'm talking about. I'm a recent review we featured a selection of CM Storms new mats and also its new mouse. I think its a great touch that they decided bundle one with the case. Its great quality, you can use it for hours and it will add a comedy element to your set up and the next LAN.
 
Bundle Mouse Mat     Bundled Mouse Mat
 
 
Conclusion
 
The Sniper was a winner from the outset, its won many awards, since release its also gained many fans. So it was the right choice for CM to leave the design as it was. The Black Edition brings the case bang up to date with the latest trend The side fan made little difference in our tests, but I have a feeling that if your graphics cards do not exhaust their hot air out the back of the case this fan will play a much more important role in cooling the case. I did also notice a low end hum when the fans were on maximum, but to be honest I never actually needed to run them up that high to keep the system cool. The long and short of it is by keeping the Black Edition simple it made a great case better. Its kept all the award winning features but just made the package feel more mature. The black internals really do bring a feel of quality to the table.
 
 
Video Review
 
 
 
 
The Good
- Black Edition brings the Sniper Bang up to date
- Additional side panel fan
- They kept it simple
 
Mediocre
- Fan controller cables are still a pain
- When using the fans at maximum the case hums.
 
The Bad
- not a sausage
 
 
 
We would like to thank Cooler Master for the chance to review the Storm Sniper Black Edition. You can discuss this further in our forums.
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2009, 21:42:30

tinytomlogan
After the success of the original Sniper we couldnt wait to get our hands on the Black Edition.

Continue Reading

15-10-2009, 02:41:51

VonBlade
Very nice looking case. Although it does make me wonder why CM wont make a Black ATCS.

Good review too Tom. Would you still say the ATCS has the crown? (I've yet to watch the video review).

15-10-2009, 02:44:25

f0x.
Great review mate, always a nice touch to see a video of the cases in the flesh, always give a better showing of the cases size than the static pictures.

15-10-2009, 03:53:58

tinytomlogan
At the moment Id still say the 840 is the daddy, but then then its much more expensive than the Sniper. Ill be filming all the case reviews now boys so its going to be a regular feature.

15-10-2009, 15:28:07

Judderman
Top job Tom, thorough as always, any idea's wot cases we got to look forward to yet?

Or is that still need to know

15-10-2009, 23:10:54

Gymreaper
Firstly to say that the ATCS is not a great gaming case as it does not have a window. Although that sounds dim, we gamers love looking at our expensive systems, especially when you add some cold cathode lights into the sniper.

I did not care about the mesh addition as I wanted a great window. However I could not find a retailer in the UK that sells it, so I imported it from Germany at this awesome site:

*edited*

Postage was cheap too, however I am based in Ireland, so the Euro could knock the value up for you if you are in Blighty.

I look a lot of time with the wires and managed to get a very clean system, with all the wires around the back. Did not find this such a chore as you may seem.

Also I added a 140mm fan to the bottom, but due to my Coolermaster 1000W power supply there is not a lot of room for the cables, therefore I would recommend getting a 120mm fan here. The reason: Well you don't have a side window and if you want to mimick the ATCS then this is a great idea to bring in air for your graphics card from the amble room at the bottom.

I am a big gamer and have had my rig running over 2 weeks now and no problems on low fans. My 920@3.6gz is never over 50C, although it does have a prolimatech megahalems on it, coupled with a noiseblocker MF12-P. That truly is the ultimate cooling for air cooled systems.

Finally I would just like to add that I lover my Window version of the Black edition, so make sure you think about add lighting to show off your rig!

15-10-2009, 23:37:19

tinytomlogan
Dude the 840 is in a different league to the Sniper. the reason why it has no window is some of us actualy like to customise our rigs.

The reason why I said 840 was I was asked what the best case around is, and athough it is good, the Sniper isnt the best available.

The main difference lies between 'gamer' - and the grown up version of 'enthusiast'

Thanks for telling us about your rig though matey.....

16-10-2009, 11:30:42

sicat
Nice indepth review,keep em coming

20-10-2009, 21:38:40

ayala421
nice rig....sweet internal.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.