CM Storm Sniper Black Edition

Instalation & Testing

Installation
 
Multi graphics systems are far more common nowadays, and place more strain on a cases cooling system. This is why we now test all of our case's in for review with a Cross Fire 4870 1GB set up and a q6600. Its good marker point both for price and the heat that the system creates.
 
Test set up

Intel Core2Duo Q6600
Nexus HOC-9000
Asus Rampage Extreme
4GB Corsair XMS3 PC3-12800 Ram @ 9-9-9-24 1.9v
2x HIS 4870 1GB IceQ 4+
Corsair HX1000w
Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB
Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
 
Externals     Externals
 
The Sniper is large enough to follow our test system with ease, the surprising thing is how messy it all seems inside. There is not only wires for the fans, but also separate wires to control the LED's. This is a great feature but it makes concealing the wires very difficult. The wires really annoy me actually, it would be nice if Cooler Master had actually made a better attempt at routing them so they are better concealed. The wires as they are do not really allow for creative routing, hence the reason why they are very much on show.
 
Instalation     Instalation
 
 
Testing
 
Idle temperatures were taken after thirty minutes of booting up, and load temperatures after thirty minutes of torture tests using Prime95 to max out the 4 cores. Ambient temperature during testing was 22c controlled by an air conditioner. The Sniper was tested against a HAF922 for comparison.
 
• Everest Ultimate was used to monitor temperatures
• Prime95 - CPU & Ram testing
• HD Tach - To Simulate Random Reads on the hdd
• ATI Tool - GPU testing
 
There were no big surprises with the idle testing, the 922 and the Sniper could be seen as being chassis brothers as they are very similar, the results prove this.
 
 
The load tests are again very similar, the Sniper just that smidgen cooler on the GPUs and CPU. I can only imagine this is due to the mesh side panel allowing better movement. 
 
 
When I installed the side panel fan it took a further 2c off of the GPUs, I actually think that if the cards were not exhausting their hot air outwards that the side panel fan would have made an even bigger difference. 
 
 
Testing over with, no great surprises so lets move on to the conclusion & review videos. 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2009, 21:42:30

tinytomlogan
After the success of the original Sniper we couldnt wait to get our hands on the Black Edition.

Continue Reading

15-10-2009, 02:41:51

VonBlade
Very nice looking case. Although it does make me wonder why CM wont make a Black ATCS.

Good review too Tom. Would you still say the ATCS has the crown? (I've yet to watch the video review).

15-10-2009, 02:44:25

f0x.
Great review mate, always a nice touch to see a video of the cases in the flesh, always give a better showing of the cases size than the static pictures.

15-10-2009, 03:53:58

tinytomlogan
At the moment Id still say the 840 is the daddy, but then then its much more expensive than the Sniper. Ill be filming all the case reviews now boys so its going to be a regular feature.

15-10-2009, 15:28:07

Judderman
Top job Tom, thorough as always, any idea's wot cases we got to look forward to yet?

Or is that still need to know

15-10-2009, 23:10:54

Gymreaper
Firstly to say that the ATCS is not a great gaming case as it does not have a window. Although that sounds dim, we gamers love looking at our expensive systems, especially when you add some cold cathode lights into the sniper.

I did not care about the mesh addition as I wanted a great window. However I could not find a retailer in the UK that sells it, so I imported it from Germany at this awesome site:

*edited*

Postage was cheap too, however I am based in Ireland, so the Euro could knock the value up for you if you are in Blighty.

I look a lot of time with the wires and managed to get a very clean system, with all the wires around the back. Did not find this such a chore as you may seem.

Also I added a 140mm fan to the bottom, but due to my Coolermaster 1000W power supply there is not a lot of room for the cables, therefore I would recommend getting a 120mm fan here. The reason: Well you don't have a side window and if you want to mimick the ATCS then this is a great idea to bring in air for your graphics card from the amble room at the bottom.

I am a big gamer and have had my rig running over 2 weeks now and no problems on low fans. My 920@3.6gz is never over 50C, although it does have a prolimatech megahalems on it, coupled with a noiseblocker MF12-P. That truly is the ultimate cooling for air cooled systems.

Finally I would just like to add that I lover my Window version of the Black edition, so make sure you think about add lighting to show off your rig!

15-10-2009, 23:37:19

tinytomlogan
Dude the 840 is in a different league to the Sniper. the reason why it has no window is some of us actualy like to customise our rigs.

The reason why I said 840 was I was asked what the best case around is, and athough it is good, the Sniper isnt the best available.

The main difference lies between 'gamer' - and the grown up version of 'enthusiast'

Thanks for telling us about your rig though matey.....

16-10-2009, 11:30:42

sicat
Nice indepth review,keep em coming

20-10-2009, 21:38:40

ayala421
nice rig....sweet internal.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.