CM Storm Sniper Black Edition

Internals

Internals
 
This is where the biggest change is with the Black edition, as the internals are powder coated black to match the externals. One less thing to have to spend out on can never be a bad thing, it also give the case a quality high end feel. The fact that all the plastics inside are also black to match just helps everything blend in but also makes the mass of cables for the fan controller stand out as well.
 
Internals     Looking at the PCI brackets
 
Although its the same as the old case its worth reminding you that the 'plastic body kit' on this case does serve a purpose, it adds extra height to allow the power supply and optional 120mm or 140mm breathe. Many case's on the market have similar features but unlike the Sniper their fans have very restricted airflow.
 
PSU Vents     PSU Vents
  
CM Storm do state that the case is water cooling ready, and for all intents purposes it is, you just remove the top 200mm fan and you can fit either 2 120mm fans and also a 240mm radiator. The problem is that the fan spacings are 20mm and as far as I'm aware only Cooler Master make radiators with 20mm fan spacings, slightly restricting any radiator choices.
 
Roof Fan     Rear View
 
It may seem like a small easy detail, but it is one that so many manufacturers miss out on, powder coating the rear of the doors. Id have expected nothing else on the Black edition but its worth noting all the same. The 200mm side fan is a very welcome addition, components are getting hotter rather than cooler recently and this means that cases manufacturers needed to up their game. We will see later in testing how much difference this makes to the Sniper.
 
Side Panel & Fan
 
Move over the page for installation and testing.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

14-10-2009, 21:42:30

tinytomlogan
After the success of the original Sniper we couldnt wait to get our hands on the Black Edition.

Continue Reading

15-10-2009, 02:41:51

VonBlade
Very nice looking case. Although it does make me wonder why CM wont make a Black ATCS.

Good review too Tom. Would you still say the ATCS has the crown? (I've yet to watch the video review).

15-10-2009, 02:44:25

f0x.
Great review mate, always a nice touch to see a video of the cases in the flesh, always give a better showing of the cases size than the static pictures.

15-10-2009, 03:53:58

tinytomlogan
At the moment Id still say the 840 is the daddy, but then then its much more expensive than the Sniper. Ill be filming all the case reviews now boys so its going to be a regular feature.

15-10-2009, 15:28:07

Judderman
Top job Tom, thorough as always, any idea's wot cases we got to look forward to yet?

Or is that still need to know

15-10-2009, 23:10:54

Gymreaper
Firstly to say that the ATCS is not a great gaming case as it does not have a window. Although that sounds dim, we gamers love looking at our expensive systems, especially when you add some cold cathode lights into the sniper.

I did not care about the mesh addition as I wanted a great window. However I could not find a retailer in the UK that sells it, so I imported it from Germany at this awesome site:

*edited*

Postage was cheap too, however I am based in Ireland, so the Euro could knock the value up for you if you are in Blighty.

I look a lot of time with the wires and managed to get a very clean system, with all the wires around the back. Did not find this such a chore as you may seem.

Also I added a 140mm fan to the bottom, but due to my Coolermaster 1000W power supply there is not a lot of room for the cables, therefore I would recommend getting a 120mm fan here. The reason: Well you don't have a side window and if you want to mimick the ATCS then this is a great idea to bring in air for your graphics card from the amble room at the bottom.

I am a big gamer and have had my rig running over 2 weeks now and no problems on low fans. My 920@3.6gz is never over 50C, although it does have a prolimatech megahalems on it, coupled with a noiseblocker MF12-P. That truly is the ultimate cooling for air cooled systems.

Finally I would just like to add that I lover my Window version of the Black edition, so make sure you think about add lighting to show off your rig!

15-10-2009, 23:37:19

tinytomlogan
Dude the 840 is in a different league to the Sniper. the reason why it has no window is some of us actualy like to customise our rigs.

The reason why I said 840 was I was asked what the best case around is, and athough it is good, the Sniper isnt the best available.

The main difference lies between 'gamer' - and the grown up version of 'enthusiast'

Thanks for telling us about your rig though matey.....

16-10-2009, 11:30:42

sicat
Nice indepth review,keep em coming

20-10-2009, 21:38:40

ayala421
nice rig....sweet internal.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.