CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced Review

Up Close: Interior

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Advanced Gun Metal Case Review

 

Up Close:  Interior Overview

Unlike the Gun Metal Exterior the inter of the Scout 2 Advanced is finished in satin black.  We don't feel this detracts from the looks, in fact the two tone nature is actually more appealing to us than had the interior had the gun metal treatment.  The Scout 2 Advanced has a good sized CPU cut out, and although the rubber grommeted cable management holes are also quite large there are only 3 of them and they do not appear to be as well placed as they could be.  We guess we'll see when we get to the build.  The 3x5.25" drive bays are of course tool-less.  If you're planning to air cool this case then coolers with a maximum height of no greater than 162mm will fit just fine.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

The HDD rack is located beneath the 5.25" bay.  The rack is able to house  7x3.5" drives with a pair of 2.5" drives being mounted via one of the 3,5" bays, again, another upgrade from the original Scout 2.  The rack comes in 2 sections, the upper most 4 drive section has mounting points for a 120mm fan on it's inner surface with the whole section detaching via the removal of 6 screws.  Removing the upper section ups the available GPU card length from 287mm to 399mm.  The lower 3 drive section is riveted to the base of the case  so if you want it out you'd best get busy with that drill.  If you really wanted to you could mod a 240mm rad to fit into this area however this would also mean chopping out the bottom of the lower 5.25" bay to allow clearance for the rad end tank.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

The base of the case sports two large meshed ventilation areas.  Closest to the HDD rack there's a mount for a 120mm fan while posterior to that lies the intake area for the PSU.  Small foam topped steel nipples provide mounts of the PSU while a large grommetted cut out should make it simple to guide your cables out round the back of the case even with longer PSUs installed.  In a case that's designed to be carried around it's unusual that CM have chosen not to install a PSU strap.  Mounting the rear of the case we pass the 7 unvented PCI slot covers and a 120mm fan positioned as extract as you would expect.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

As we saw from the outside the roof of the case is dominated by a large meshed ventilation area.  No fans are included in this position but should you wish you could fit in 2x120mm fans.  Sadly though there's not enough room to squeeze a rad up here as well as fans.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

Last but by no means least the rear of Motherboard area.  Plain and simple, with a good 25mm of space and ample cable tie points (10 to be exact) anyone should be able to make a decent fist of a tidy job back here.  Our only concern is the pacing of those management holes.  we'll have to wait and see how things pan out when we get to the build.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2013, 05:43:46

tinytomlogan
The Advanced edition of the CM Storm Scout 2 brings improved cooling and a bang up to date Gun Metal finish.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153637107l.jpg


Continue Reading

07-05-2013, 08:41:27

F-alienware
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.

07-05-2013, 09:29:58

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.
Finally someone got that right on the first try.
I was already waiting for somebody to compliment Tom on his review when I saw the author
on the article.

And yes, it's quite a good read Gary, nicely done

07-05-2013, 14:32:10

G-Dubs
Glad you liked it guys, we tries hard, And I will always take being confused with Tom as a compliment

07-05-2013, 20:27:00

GreenBarb
The one thing that would have clinched it for me would have been if you could have fitted even a H-100 and fans in the top. But for me Lan Parties is about portability, and M-ATX over the size of ATX is the better option. Now that you have the Socket 2011 and 1155 M-ATX boards out there with Sli and Crossfire.

08-05-2013, 14:15:13

FTLN
Nice review mate, any reason why you cropped the images of the final build ? do you have any full on shots ?

09-05-2013, 15:47:45

G-Dubs
The Pictures aren't cropped, they're zoomed in on the relevant areas that are noted and discussed in the text.

17-05-2013, 12:40:03

AverageNinja
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

17-05-2013, 12:43:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...

17-05-2013, 12:50:42

AverageNinja
Just found an image of a mATX board in the scout 2, doesn't look too roomy me thinks.
http://i.imgur.com/0TJbsIQ.jpg
Though ATX looks a bit better IMO

17-05-2013, 12:54:56

Feronix
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.

17-05-2013, 13:24:05

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is 77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.
m-ATX won't look correctly proportioned in there. However, as commented above, as the window in the case is placed quite high I don't think you'll see the bottom of your board unless you look down on it from above.

If you've already got an m-ATX board then it's fair enough to use it, If you can stretch to a new one or have to buy one anyway you're best going for ATX.

17-05-2013, 13:26:13

AverageNinja
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

17-05-2013, 16:57:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

You know it makes sense.

Any mods or straight build?

21-05-2013, 01:34:15

AverageNinja
Straight build
I did have some mods in mind, but my parents were like: "NO! YOU'LL VOID WARRANTY!". :/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.