CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced Review

Up Close: Front, Rear and Base

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Advanced Gun Metal Case Review

 

Up Close:  Front, Rear and Base

Although the Scout 2 Advanced has a quite aggressive overall look, the front of the case is actually quite understated.  Both the 3 upper 5.25" bays and the lower air intake area have a fine mesh covering layered over a broader honeycomb style hex mesh, giving the whole thing a bit of a "Crysis" look to it 

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

The rear of the case is finished as you would expect in a case of this calibre in the same Gun metal colouring.  Large grommeted water tubing holes sit atop the rear fan extract.  Further down there are 7 un vented PCI covers and to the right of them Cooler Master have included their Storm Guard device.  Weaving the cables of your peripherals though the Storm Guard greatly reduces the chances of them being stolen should you be a LAN event and be lured away from your beloved's side.  And finally at the bottom of the case sits the PSU cut out.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

Oft forgotten by other lesser review sites,  the unsexy underside of the case as always gets the OC3D once over.  Four large rubber feet lift the case from the deck allowing air to the PSU and base case fan intakes, both of which have easily removable filters

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

The front of the case pulls of easily, and as the front I/O and power circuitry lives further up the case in it's own area there's no need to worry about attached cables.  Two clear Perspex red LED 120mm fans are included in this position which are wired into the front I/O button allowing the LEDs to be turned off should you wish.  It's the addition of these fans which represents the major difference between the Scout 2 and the Advanced model, as it was often felt that for a case of this calibre the absence of front fans of any sort was a huge oversight on behalf of Cooler Master.  Like the rest of the case the front panel is sturdy and well made.  The mesh filters are held in place by tabs so are a bit of a fag to get out for a real good clean.  Flipping it over as below should let you gel at it with a vacuum though.  The 5.25" bay covers release by pushing back on barbed retaining clips.  They're hard to get out and even harder to get back in.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2013, 05:43:46

tinytomlogan
The Advanced edition of the CM Storm Scout 2 brings improved cooling and a bang up to date Gun Metal finish.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153637107l.jpg


Continue Reading

07-05-2013, 08:41:27

F-alienware
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.

07-05-2013, 09:29:58

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.
Finally someone got that right on the first try.
I was already waiting for somebody to compliment Tom on his review when I saw the author
on the article.

And yes, it's quite a good read Gary, nicely done

07-05-2013, 14:32:10

G-Dubs
Glad you liked it guys, we tries hard, And I will always take being confused with Tom as a compliment

07-05-2013, 20:27:00

GreenBarb
The one thing that would have clinched it for me would have been if you could have fitted even a H-100 and fans in the top. But for me Lan Parties is about portability, and M-ATX over the size of ATX is the better option. Now that you have the Socket 2011 and 1155 M-ATX boards out there with Sli and Crossfire.

08-05-2013, 14:15:13

FTLN
Nice review mate, any reason why you cropped the images of the final build ? do you have any full on shots ?

09-05-2013, 15:47:45

G-Dubs
The Pictures aren't cropped, they're zoomed in on the relevant areas that are noted and discussed in the text.

17-05-2013, 12:40:03

AverageNinja
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

17-05-2013, 12:43:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...

17-05-2013, 12:50:42

AverageNinja
Just found an image of a mATX board in the scout 2, doesn't look too roomy me thinks.
http://i.imgur.com/0TJbsIQ.jpg
Though ATX looks a bit better IMO

17-05-2013, 12:54:56

Feronix
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.

17-05-2013, 13:24:05

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is 77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.
m-ATX won't look correctly proportioned in there. However, as commented above, as the window in the case is placed quite high I don't think you'll see the bottom of your board unless you look down on it from above.

If you've already got an m-ATX board then it's fair enough to use it, If you can stretch to a new one or have to buy one anyway you're best going for ATX.

17-05-2013, 13:26:13

AverageNinja
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

17-05-2013, 16:57:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

You know it makes sense.

Any mods or straight build?

21-05-2013, 01:34:15

AverageNinja
Straight build
I did have some mods in mind, but my parents were like: "NO! YOU'LL VOID WARRANTY!". :/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.