BitFenix Ronin Review

The Build

BitFenix Ronin Review

 

The Build

Although the Ronin comes with a decent set of Black and White instructions, there's no bulging accessories bow to be found.  Instead a small brown box holds a small selection of screws and standoffs and a generous 10 cable ties

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

We've mentioned that the Ronin is on the small side for a Mid tower, but even so there's still plenty of room to get those ham fists inside.  Lean principles appear to have been applied with the interior having just enough room with little to no wasted space.   

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

An otherwise crisp and clean build is slightly marred by the lack of any rubber grommets covering the management holes.  It's also not immediately obvious that there's a small aperture up top for the 8pin CPU power cable, but look and ye shall find.

 BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

Round the back the adequate 20mm of space is made supremely usable by no less than 22 cable tie points, "Chapeau" to BitFenix for their generosity.  Unused cables can of course always be stashed away under a low drive bay, and as such we're actually able to achieve a tidier job here than round the front. 

  BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review  

 

If you get a bit annoyed by the lack of rigidity offered by the common "flex to open" 3.5" bay trays, or right peed off by the rigid yet rattling metal trays then you might be quite taken by the BitFenix solution.  Finding the best of both worlds the rigid plastic trays pull apart to accept the 3.5" drive and are then slid together clamping it firmly.  Warning notices are in place instructing you not to flex to open as this will invariably result in a broken tray and buckets of tears.  2.5" drives are housed in the same trays but are screwed in place in the traditional manner.

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review  

 

With or without the Stealth Cover?  You choose.  We suspect this is going to be a Marmite feature, splitting opinion as only innovation can.  Whether you like it or not is up to you, but fact is it actually does a good job of hiding away those parts you may not wish to see.

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review  

 

Fully assembled with the very high gloss clear side panel in place (which is a real pain in the arse to photograph) you get a better is idea of how the Stealth cover looks.  The Jury is still out here at OC3D as to how we feel about it, partly we think as we're always suckers for a huge unfettered window.  The images below also show well one of the other things we're not to sure about with regards to the Ronin.  Don't get us wrong, we're big fans of the soft touch coating given to the front and roof, but we think if as it's not applied to the case sides more care should have been taken to better tonally match these surfaces.  As it stands the sides are are noticeably different and in fact are quite textured to the touch.

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-08-2013, 04:25:27

tinytomlogan
A Warrior without a Master. The New Ronin from BitFenix appears a force to be reckoned with.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...055342833l.JPG


Continue Reading

15-08-2013, 05:48:00

SPS
Look at that lovely big clear side window.

15-08-2013, 06:32:23

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Look at that lovely big clear side window.
That gets covered up for a big part by that stealth cover

Thanks Gary! I'll read this later today.

15-08-2013, 07:37:13

xbournex
the stealth cover and its support bar can be completely removed.

15-08-2013, 07:52:13

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbournex View Post
the stealth cover and its support bar can be completely removed.
But then you're looking at grommet-less cable management, which doesn't tend to look very good, usually

15-08-2013, 11:53:29

UkGouki
wondering if the ronin window panel will fit on the shinobi mid tower they look the same size.. and if so ill buy one!!

tbh i really like the look of this case for the window panel alone but like you said in the review i would likly go for a nanoxia or even a ghost if i was to buy a new chassis any time soon :-/

16-08-2013, 11:54:13

Greenback
Tbh I think they would of been better skipping the stealth cover and getting grommets

17-08-2013, 16:28:51

G-Dubs
Whether you like the large window or not is a personal preference, personally I prefer it with the large window and without the stealth cover, but the point is it's nice to have the option. What I'd would like to see is a stealth cover that fits to the window itself, a very thin sheet on the exterior surface of the Perspex that is contiguous with the plane of the metal case side, perhaps held in place from the interior side of the window with small magnetic pads. That way it wouldn't stand out so much. Maybe you could even cut your own shapes???

24-09-2013, 05:41:45

amex
Hello,
In the build section of this review, you said 'please dont' install a 120mm fan on the bottom of the case just in front of the PSU. why? does it suck dust in from the bottom or something? always which way do you recommend the PSU fan to face?

Thanks

24-09-2013, 07:07:36

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by amex View Post
Hello,
In the build section of this review, you said 'please dont' install a 120mm fan on the bottom of the case just in front of the PSU. why? does it suck dust in from the bottom or something? always which way do you recommend the PSU fan to face?

Thanks
Cause fans in the bottom of a case look tacky and aren't really good for anything. If you lack front intake, then maybe it's time for a new case all together.

It doesn't matter which way the fan faces, a PSU is not really going to run hot. When you do mount it fan-up though, your 8 Pin CPU cable might be just too short. If you mount it fan-down, you can't put your PC on high carpet and you have to clean the dust-filter every now and then.

24-09-2013, 17:14:43

G-Dubs
I'd echo what Feronix has said with regards to the PSU position and add that if you're mounting your PC on a hard surface such as a desk then the PSU can quite reasonably be orientated with the fan facing down, this will also bring the majority of the cables closer to the lower cable management hole on a case. If you're putting your case on carpet then don't do this for reasons already given. All that said, some prefer the aesthetics of having the PSU fan visible inside their case and it could be argued that this cuts down on noise particularly in "silent" builds.

With regards to the lower fan mount on cases, A great many people, myself included just think it looks Fuggly. There's nothing wrong with it as such other than it up sets the aesthetics of a nicely brought together build.

Building a PC is more than just lobbing together the component parts as quickly as you can and hitting the power button. It should be a work of art, something you should be able to look at and admire, and if it's a really good one, it should give you a little fizzy feeling in your underpants.

26-09-2013, 18:33:10

amex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
Cause fans in the bottom of a case look tacky and aren't really good for anything. If you lack front intake, then maybe it's time for a new case all together.

It doesn't matter which way the fan faces, a PSU is not really going to run hot. When you do mount it fan-up though, your 8 Pin CPU cable might be just too short. If you mount it fan-down, you can't put your PC on high carpet and you have to clean the dust-filter every now and then.
Thanks Feronix,

I have just bought a Ronin and recieved all the parts so will start the build today.

27-09-2013, 04:50:25

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by amex View Post
Thanks Feronix,

I have just bought a Ronin and recieved all the parts so will start the build today.
Enjoy the build and be sure to post in the project logs section.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.