BitFenix Ronin Review

Up Close: Rear and Strip Down

BitFenix Ronin Review

 

Up Close:  Rear and Strip Down

The reverse side of the Ronin is bestrewn with a grand total of 22 cable tie points.  Our experience of case building assures us that although there's only 20mm of room back there the plethora of well distributed cable tie points means we will have no problem achiving a clean and tidy build.  Still a shame about those grommet-less management holes though. 

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review  

 

Let's show you what we mean by well distributed.  In the image below left there's a line of cable tie points running up the midline of the case just to the right of the main management holes.  This placement will enable you to secure the main loom and to branch off the PCI and Mother board cables exactly where you want them, not to mention the countless other lesser cables.  Below right we see a row of cable tie points running up the far right hand side of the case.  Whereas we often tuck the 8 pin CPU cable under the lip of the case this row can actually be used to secure it along with and fan cables passing down from the roof.

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

Pulling firmly on the rigid plastic top and front covers, they come away easily leaving us with "The Naked Ronin" (I'm sure I saw that on Channel 4 years ago).  As you can see with the Ronin on the small side for ATX cases there's little wasted real estate and its slim 205mm width means you're limited to 120mm fans up front (an additional filter is provided in the box should you wish to add a second fan)  

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

Although there are mounting holes for 2x120mm or 2x140mm fans none are provided in the roof position.  However as noted previously the screws are offset away from the motherboard meaning that rads can be placed up here.  BitFenix give native compatibility for 240mm rads, but provided your 280 has a 15mm screw spacing there's a possibility you might be able to squeeze one up here also.  We say maybe as there are a few other factors to consider which we will come to in the build section

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review  

 

With 32mm of clearance, the underside of the roof panel is clean and devoid of extraneous knobs and excresancies, so there should be no problems getting fans under here.  As all the front I/O cables are hard wired to the roof panel case should be taken when lifting it off.

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review

 

Below we see the unique feature of the Ronin, the plastic "Stealth cover" panel that is used selectively to mask off areas of the case interior that the builder does not wish to be seen.  The panel is gloss black with a honeycomb/carbon fibre effect to it on the presenting side, being just plain black plastic on the reverse.  It is held into the case by means of 3 plastic push pins and is easy to remove and replace.

BitFenix Ronin Review     BitFenix Ronin Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-08-2013, 04:25:27

tinytomlogan
A Warrior without a Master. The New Ronin from BitFenix appears a force to be reckoned with.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...055342833l.JPG


Continue Reading

15-08-2013, 05:48:00

SPS
Look at that lovely big clear side window.

15-08-2013, 06:32:23

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Look at that lovely big clear side window.
That gets covered up for a big part by that stealth cover

Thanks Gary! I'll read this later today.

15-08-2013, 07:37:13

xbournex
the stealth cover and its support bar can be completely removed.

15-08-2013, 07:52:13

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by xbournex View Post
the stealth cover and its support bar can be completely removed.
But then you're looking at grommet-less cable management, which doesn't tend to look very good, usually

15-08-2013, 11:53:29

UkGouki
wondering if the ronin window panel will fit on the shinobi mid tower they look the same size.. and if so ill buy one!!

tbh i really like the look of this case for the window panel alone but like you said in the review i would likly go for a nanoxia or even a ghost if i was to buy a new chassis any time soon :-/

16-08-2013, 11:54:13

Greenback
Tbh I think they would of been better skipping the stealth cover and getting grommets

17-08-2013, 16:28:51

G-Dubs
Whether you like the large window or not is a personal preference, personally I prefer it with the large window and without the stealth cover, but the point is it's nice to have the option. What I'd would like to see is a stealth cover that fits to the window itself, a very thin sheet on the exterior surface of the Perspex that is contiguous with the plane of the metal case side, perhaps held in place from the interior side of the window with small magnetic pads. That way it wouldn't stand out so much. Maybe you could even cut your own shapes???

24-09-2013, 05:41:45

amex
Hello,
In the build section of this review, you said 'please dont' install a 120mm fan on the bottom of the case just in front of the PSU. why? does it suck dust in from the bottom or something? always which way do you recommend the PSU fan to face?

Thanks

24-09-2013, 07:07:36

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by amex View Post
Hello,
In the build section of this review, you said 'please dont' install a 120mm fan on the bottom of the case just in front of the PSU. why? does it suck dust in from the bottom or something? always which way do you recommend the PSU fan to face?

Thanks
Cause fans in the bottom of a case look tacky and aren't really good for anything. If you lack front intake, then maybe it's time for a new case all together.

It doesn't matter which way the fan faces, a PSU is not really going to run hot. When you do mount it fan-up though, your 8 Pin CPU cable might be just too short. If you mount it fan-down, you can't put your PC on high carpet and you have to clean the dust-filter every now and then.

24-09-2013, 17:14:43

G-Dubs
I'd echo what Feronix has said with regards to the PSU position and add that if you're mounting your PC on a hard surface such as a desk then the PSU can quite reasonably be orientated with the fan facing down, this will also bring the majority of the cables closer to the lower cable management hole on a case. If you're putting your case on carpet then don't do this for reasons already given. All that said, some prefer the aesthetics of having the PSU fan visible inside their case and it could be argued that this cuts down on noise particularly in "silent" builds.

With regards to the lower fan mount on cases, A great many people, myself included just think it looks Fuggly. There's nothing wrong with it as such other than it up sets the aesthetics of a nicely brought together build.

Building a PC is more than just lobbing together the component parts as quickly as you can and hitting the power button. It should be a work of art, something you should be able to look at and admire, and if it's a really good one, it should give you a little fizzy feeling in your underpants.

26-09-2013, 18:33:10

amex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
Cause fans in the bottom of a case look tacky and aren't really good for anything. If you lack front intake, then maybe it's time for a new case all together.

It doesn't matter which way the fan faces, a PSU is not really going to run hot. When you do mount it fan-up though, your 8 Pin CPU cable might be just too short. If you mount it fan-down, you can't put your PC on high carpet and you have to clean the dust-filter every now and then.
Thanks Feronix,

I have just bought a Ronin and recieved all the parts so will start the build today.

27-09-2013, 04:50:25

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by amex View Post
Thanks Feronix,

I have just bought a Ronin and recieved all the parts so will start the build today.
Enjoy the build and be sure to post in the project logs section.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.