BitFenix Recon Fan Controller Review

Up Close: Packaging and Contents

BitFenix Recon Review

 

Up Close:  Packaging and Contents

The Recon comes in a predominantly green and black simple rectangular card box. (It's always nice to see that our money isn't being wasted on outlandish packaging).  The box details key features and specifications as well as giving a visual representation of the controller.

BitFenix Recon Review     BitFenix Recon Review

 

Once opened we again see that Bitfenix have not been flippant with the packaging.  Simple expanded polystyrene end caps secure the unit from shock and damage with an anti static plastic bag keeping the contents nice and clean and shock free.  In addition to the controller itself you also get a set of instructions, a pack of screws to secure it into the 5.25" bay, a selection of yellow sticky back plastic strips to secure temperature probes, a pair of additional probes, and a set of additional fan cable extensions.

BitFenix Recon Review     BitFenix Recon Review

 

The instructions provided are quite clear and simplistic.  On one side installation and conventional operation via the touch screen is covered, whilst on the other side BitFenix run through how to connect via the web browser and also give instruction for opertaion via the web browser and mobile devices.

BitFenix Recon Review     BitFenix Recon Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-11-2012, 05:15:20

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...110316423l.jpg

Here we take a look at the Recon, a 5 channel fan controller from BitFenix. But what would happen if all these Web connected Recons become self aware? Granted probably not world domination. Maybe just a lot of very cool PCs.


Continue Reading

12-11-2012, 05:39:11

SPS
The feature-price ratio looks spot on. I think this will do well for Bitfenix.

12-11-2012, 05:40:06

SieB
Might replace my NZXT Sentry mix for one of these

12-11-2012, 06:37:44

Pendragon
I have often looked a fan controllers and thought that the cheap ones were too simple and the ones with the features I would like are far too expensive. This is the first one I have seen that fits the best of both. 30 quid is worth a punt, even if it's not quite what you want or need.

12-11-2012, 12:49:37

CPMFW
nice review as always
it looks really good and for that price its a real billy bargain

12-11-2012, 12:56:05

rossi94
Well done tom

12-11-2012, 14:51:41

Master&Puppet
I was so excited about the launch of this. And then I saw 10W per channel. I cried.

13-11-2012, 16:44:46

G-Dubs
@rossi94, Wasn't Tom, was me, but thanks for the compliment none the less

@master&Puppet. Nowt wrong with 10W per channel. What was it you were hoping to do but now can't?

13-11-2012, 16:51:27

rossi94
Sorry, messed that up but nice review, thank you G-Dubs.

13-11-2012, 19:03:04

yassarikhan786
Nice review Gary. I really like the web based options.

14-11-2012, 07:13:10

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
@master&Puppet. Nowt wrong with 10W per channel. What was it you were hoping to do but now can't?
Nothing wrong with it per se - but I was looking to run my pumps off a fan controller so 10w wasn't going to do it for me.

It was back in April when I was looking at this and the rumours for the Recon were 25-30W per channel if remember rightly so I was disappointed when it launched with 10W. I ended up going for a Lamptron Touch.

12-12-2012, 03:11:12

rasta111
I've always been a fan of BFs watercooling line, so a fan controller @ a descent price with descent features works for me. I've gone through 4 controllers in 3 years & now have an AEROCOOL X-VISION, which has good features but the temp sensors are horrible. I guess the RECON is my next target.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.