BitFenix Prodigy Review

BitFenix Prodigy Review

 BitFenix Prodigy Review  


Introduction

A few months back OC3D got its first look of the Prodigy in a hotel lobby, many people wonder why the hell some one would be so interested in a PC case but hey they just don't understand our obsession do they! Continuing on with this obsession the Prodigy arrived less than 90 minutes ago, the video has been shot and is currently rendering as I type this all so we can get the review up on NDA day. Thanks to the joys of couriers our sample is 3 days late, but meh we are OC3D tight dead lines are what we do best!

Anyways enough excuses for the shortness of the text today lets move on and take a look at the specifications.

Specification

Materials Steel, Plastic
Colors (Int/Ext) Black/Black, White/White
Dimensions (WxHxD)250 x 404 x 359mm
Motherboard Sizes Mini-ITX
5.25" Drive Baysx 1 (removable)
3.5" Drive Bays  x 5 (3 + 2 modular)
2.5" Drive Baysx 9 (5 + 2 + 1 +1 )
Cooling Front 120mm  x 2 (120mm x 1included) or 140/180/200/230mm x 1(optional)
Cooling Rear 120mm  x 1 (included) or 140mm x 1(optional) 
Cooling Top120mm  x 2 (optional)
PCI Slotsx 2
I/O USB 3.0 x 2, HD Audio
Power SupplyPS2 ATX (bottom, multi direction)
Extras FyberFlex™ Composite handles, SofTouch™ surface treatment, filtered intakes, tool-free drive locking



Video Review




Conclusion

So here it comes a very brief conclusion. Its epic. /end.

Seriously though this is not only the best ITX case we have ever had the pleasure of reviewing but we would also say hands down the is the best BitFenix case to date, you really can see a lot of time and thought has gone into the design and construction of this case. As far as we are aware this is the first case BitFenix have designed from the ground up and boy does it show.

For an ITX case to have such great GPU, be able to fit ATX power supplies, CPU heat sink and water cooling support makes it a class leader. You would think that this would also come with a pretty heft price tag but oh no! Just £59.99 will buy you your own slice of ITX case perfection and to make things better there will be a white one available too! *nerdgasm*

Easily worthy of our OC3D gold award but just to show how gob smacked we are with that price we have decided to give it the OC3D Value for Money award too!


      

Thanks to BitFenix for the Prodigy we reviewed today, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

25-05-2012, 13:31:11

tinytomlogan


2 hours ago the BitFenix Prodigy arrived at OC3D, we were primed and ready so here is our lightning fast review of this all new mini monster!

Continue Reading

25-05-2012, 13:39:05

SPS
This case is inspiring.

25-05-2012, 13:43:49

PetrolHead247
Such a good case it's unbelievable. Worthy of a first ever Platinum award? Looks like the perfect itx case, i love the look of it so much

25-05-2012, 14:03:10

Computer crazy
Great review as always, great value for money and so many options. Great design work on Bitfenix's part, really like the case.

25-05-2012, 14:05:36

Azurite
I got a tonn of ideas for modding this case. Well done Bitfenix for making sutch a good mini itx case, and nice review Tom, as always.

25-05-2012, 14:11:03

SieB
Really good little case, i'd like to see a slightly bigger matx version and a full sized atx version as well though.

25-05-2012, 14:21:30

ExplosiveToaster
If they did a mATX version, I reckon it would be perfection in case form!

25-05-2012, 14:28:45

wotevajjjj
I want it so much, to bad it's not availible yet

25-05-2012, 14:45:18

Bullmecha
Nice review of a great lil ITX case ! And here I started a thread about an ITX Rig build..hmmmmmm

I may have to invest my thoughts,time,and a fair bit of change into one of these.

25-05-2012, 14:55:56

dipzy
Epic case, so many options in a tiny chassis, love it

25-05-2012, 15:49:06

Potatis
It's a tad to macy for my taste, but quite clean

25-05-2012, 15:53:15

sheroo
Nice review fella. Just when I'm happy with my rig you post an awesome case like this. The latest Asus Z77 Deluxe itx board, the one with the "upright" Digi+ VRM, would be a good match - as the socket is in the middle of the board. I think this case knocks the Silverstone sg07/8 into a cocked hat - especially for the price.

Is the Bitfenix badge in the front replaceable with the coloured ones they have for their other models?

25-05-2012, 16:19:30

SG12004
thare is room for 2 2.5 hdd or ssd's on the side door as well

25-05-2012, 18:01:01

Master&Puppet
Mental. I've only just started to build my new rig and now I want to make an itx rig too!

25-05-2012, 19:08:16

Excalabur50
What an EPIC little case well done Bitfenix.

25-05-2012, 21:28:52

King Damager
GET ME AN mATX version....

I can't give up a sound card. Once you've had one, simply put, you can't go back. But people can't put in tv cards, capture cards, or network cards...

It's a very good mITX case, but it would have been so much better if it had been mATX.

kd

25-05-2012, 23:16:03

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
Mental. I've only just started to build my new rig and now I want to make an itx rig too!
i muttered the same thing... but a bit more colorful explitives as well...

airdeano

26-05-2012, 05:01:43

nothingspecial
Glad I wasn't the only one looking at it and thinking "I wonder if they could do an mATX version?"

Tray up one side of the case, PSU on its side, H100 in the front, new backplate - I'm talking myself into doing a fairly in-depth mod here

26-05-2012, 13:11:15

equk
Quote:
Originally Posted by equk View Post

I notice it's mITX

a mATX case of this style could be brilliant for LAN parties
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

Really good little case, i'd like to see a slightly bigger matx version and a full sized atx version as well though.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nothingspecial View Post

Glad I wasn't the only one looking at it and thinking "I wonder if they could do an mATX version?"

Tray up one side of the case, PSU on its side, H100 in the front, new backplate - I'm talking myself into doing a fairly in-depth mod here
Great minds?

26-05-2012, 14:35:12

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by equk View Post

Great minds?
True dat

I think they should have made it as a matx case to start with though, that way it would still be itx compatible and more would be interested in it. Still a good case though and the best of it's type, if they do bring out a matx version though, I think I will sell my switch 810 and buy one.

26-05-2012, 17:39:45

badtaylorx
heck with a mATX....gimme the full size!!!

Bring on the "1970's home speaker" look!!!!

26-05-2012, 17:46:43

yassarikhan786
Really nice review and what a lovely case.

27-05-2012, 08:16:48

wassupdoc
I agree with the matx version, if it was a bit wider to fit in motherboards with 2x pcie 16 = watercooled reference 670 sli rig... mmmm.

And you forgot to mention the 2.5" drive mounts in the door Tom

Great review at such short notice!

28-05-2012, 08:51:39

Phunky
Any chance of getting CPU cooler clearance? Really tempted by this little thing but would want to keep my Noctua NH-D14.

28-05-2012, 09:42:46

Grizzly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phunky View Post

Any chance of getting CPU cooler clearance? Really tempted by this little thing but would want to keep my Noctua NH-D14.
Fairly sure he put a Noctua D14 in it in the review?

Fair enough it was without a motherboard and fans but there was clearly enough room for the extra few mm they'd add on.

28-05-2012, 11:14:34

Rastalovich
Lovely little thing. I can only echo the mATX want. I have BitFenix page open now just to check.

Then can definitely do it, and sell more I'd have thought.

If they want feedback - they got it.

03-06-2012, 13:36:47

aznseank
can someone please tell me if the prodigy can fit the corsair h80 without having to remove the optical disk drive bay????

03-06-2012, 14:29:17

Grizzly
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznseank View Post

can someone please tell me if the prodigy can fit the corsair h80 without having to remove the optical disk drive bay????
It's a 120mm RAD so you could put it in the roof towards the back or on the rear exhaust without having to remove anything.

Less likely to be able to fit it as an exhaust though, due to the end tank.

04-06-2012, 08:19:53

Solidarity
I agree with the mATX version. It would be pretty awesome.

04-06-2012, 10:02:12

aznseank
i can't stop thinking about this case.... I want a M-atx version as well so I can put in a decent sound card. Moreover, making a mid-tower based on this design seems like a dream. (i was always a fan of the mac design but not the hardware/software)

I am right now thinking about replacing the front panel fan with a larger white LED fan. (I hope the front panel fan is not bolted in) I am also thinking about putting an imon inside HTPC remote at the optical disk drive although it would be a shame to cripple a PC. (but i guess its comparable to an appendectomy..afterall how many times a year do you actually use a DVD drive???) Oh I havent felt this excited about a chasis in a long time. (the last one was thermaltake level 10 and before that it was the antec 900) BitFenix... give me your design patent rights to the Prodigy series and I will send you a blue print of the new mid-tower free of charge!!!

what i want to see in a mid-tower or m-atx version

-front panel dust filter

-two front removable drive bays

-support for h100

-acrylic side panel

-more aluminum

...sorry if my enthusiasm scared some of you...I had to get this all out lol..

04-06-2012, 10:54:33

wassupdoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznseank View Post

i can't stop thinking about this case.... I want a M-atx version as well so I can put in a decent sound card. Moreover, making a mid-tower based on this design seems like a dream. (i was always a fan of the mac design but not the hardware/software)

I am right now thinking about replacing the front panel fan with a larger white LED fan. (I hope the front panel fan is not bolted in) I am also thinking about putting an imon inside HTPC remote at the optical disk drive although it would be a shame to cripple a PC. (but i guess its comparable to an appendectomy..afterall how many times a year do you actually use a DVD drive???) Oh I havent felt this excited about a chasis in a long time. (the last one was thermaltake level 10 and before that it was the antec 900) BitFenix... give me your design patent rights to the Prodigy series and I will send you a blue print of the new mid-tower free of charge!!!

what i want to see in a mid-tower or m-atx version

-front panel dust filter

-two front removable drive bays

-support for h100

-acrylic side panel

-more aluminum

...sorry if my enthusiasm scared some of you...I had to get this all out lol..
#

The front panel is filtered, you can remove both hdd cages and i'm pretty sure you could fit a h100 in if you put it in push pull
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.