BitFenix Prodigy M Review

Up Close: Exterior Rear and Base

BitFenix Prodigy M Review

Up Close:  Exterior Rear and Base

In order to accommodate the larger M-ATX Motherboard BitFenix have chosen to invert it.  As a result the PCI slots normally found towards the bottom are actually at the top of the case rear panel.  Rather than have individual screws holding the five individual vented slot covers a single clamp is utilised.  Releasing the threaded thumb bolt enables the clamp to slid back. The hands of a surgeon are then needed to remove the chosen slot cover without causing the rest to avalanche out. 

BitFenix Prodigy M Review     BitFenix Prodigy M Review

 

It's at the bottom that we find the rear I/O area alongside an un filtered mesh grill.  A 120mm fan is fitted in this position, with mounting points available for a 140 should you chose to swap.   The power cable insertion is also located in the bottom right hand corner of the case.

BitFenix Prodigy M Review     BitFenix Prodigy M Review

 

Flipping the case over on its side enables us to get a butchers at the underside.  As with the Phenom, the large mesh area is protected by a magnetically located removable carbon fibre effect heat shield.  To the front of the base we find the PSU cut out.

BitFenix Prodigy M Review     BitFenix Prodigy M Review

 

With the heat shield removed we can better see the mounting points for the fans and HDDs that can be located in the base  

BitFenix Prodigy M Review     BitFenix Prodigy M Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-10-2013, 05:42:59

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...075804270l.jpg

"It's a Prodigy Jim, but not as we know it". Lets see what the familiar Prodigy looks like with an M-ATX motherboard squeezes inside.

Continue Reading

21-10-2013, 06:07:13

SieB
It's a shame that all they did was take the itx version and copy what the modders have been doing.

The case is a bit cramped for M-ATX, with the itx version you have plenty of room for decent water cooling and good airflow. You were also not restricted on the length of the GPU either.

I think Bitfenix could of put more effort in and made the case slightly bigger for the M-ATX version. Either that or just stick to the itx design but make the case wider so you can fit a M-ATX board in the way you fitted the itx one in the original Prodigy.

It's not a bad case and does the job, but I can't help thinking it could have been much better.

21-10-2013, 06:11:05

Feronix
Exactly. There's too much compromise for my liking.

Surprised it got a Gold Award if I'm honest, but it was still a good read

21-10-2013, 07:56:39

barnsley
This just makes me want to work on a M-ATX machine for myself even more now. The others are right though, there does seem to be too much of a compromise, I'd rather go for the Bitfenix phenom .

21-10-2013, 08:01:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
This just makes me want to work on a M-ATX machine for myself even more now. The others are right though, there does seem to be too much of a compromise, I'd rather go for the Bitfenix phenom .
Only the outside is different.

21-10-2013, 08:16:27

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Only the outside is different.
Just a question btw, I've noticed that the Phenom (mITX) has the exact same inside, including the 5.25" bay... Except the front panel is completely clean?

http://vorming.minatica.be/ict2013/B...henomMini1.jpg

Think I'm going for an mITX Phenom in white. Maybe slap a white Prodigy windowed panel on there, cause there's no windowed Phenom available...

21-10-2013, 08:53:03

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Only the outside is different.

Welp, no Phenom for me, I thought they were different but must've got mixed up with something else.

21-10-2013, 08:55:44

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Welp, no Phenom for me, I thought they were different but must've got mixed up with something else.
There are:

-mITX Prodigy
-mATX Prodigy
-mITX Phenom
-mATX Phenom

Both ITX cases are the same on the inside, as well as both mATX cases. I personally like the look of the Phenom more, but I'm not a fan of the mATX version of either.

21-10-2013, 09:00:24

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post

Both ITX cases are the same on the inside, as well as both mATX cases. I personally like the look of the Phenom more, but I'm not a fan of the mATX version of either.
Ah right, thanks for clearing it up . Yeah, I do think the Phenom looks fantastic as well however I am leaning towards The Elite 130 in terms of ITX as I do love a LED front fan/black case combo for some reason

21-10-2013, 09:03:38

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Ah right, thanks for clearing it up . Yeah, I do think the Phenom looks fantastic as well however I am leaning towards The Elite 130 in terms of ITX as I do love a LED front fan/black case combo for some reason
Haha, fair enough. I'm past the point where I liked LED fans

The Elite 130 is a good case though, very compact and can still fit some high-end gear. Cheap as well! I'm personally going with the Bitfenix case cause I think it looks better and it supports watercooling.

Either would make a nice Lanbox though!

21-10-2013, 09:08:59

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
Haha, fair enough. I'm past the point where I liked LED fans

Either would make a nice Lanbox though!
Yeah, I used to think I was past LED fans etc, but it has grown on me again D:. I am planning to make a lanbox , it'll either have an i5 or one of the budget X4 750k AMD cpus with my current 7870, it'll depend how much I spend on upgrades on my main pc...

21-10-2013, 11:11:57

Rastalovich
They've listened to comments, this case is something I/we will be looking into alot.

30-10-2013, 16:43:26

Timo
Yeah, lovely case. I've thought about it and would love a -Larger version- of this case. Say 230mm wide, 400mm high: 2 x140mm intakes at the front, 140 exhaust and room for a 280 rad on the top. i.e. an m/atx with room to breath.

16-03-2014, 07:07:13

Lucasino8
Basically what I want to know before buying this case, can you just put it upside down (and change the logo (maybe switch the sidepanels))? If so wouldn't it cause any problems? And why didn't BitFenix do it themselves, I mean are they braindead?

Greetz.

16-03-2014, 07:14:41

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucasino8 View Post
Basically what I want to know before buying this case, can you just put it upside down (and change the logo (maybe switch the sidepanels))? If so wouldn't it cause any problems? And why didn't BitFenix do it themselves, I mean are they braindead?

Greetz.
panels could be switched but as for turning the front upside down you would also neeed to do the roof too.... Its not something I think we could answer now without going to rip the case apart again just to answer this. Youd be better hoping one of the members has one tbh.

16-03-2014, 07:41:35

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
panels could be switched but as for turning the front upside down you would also neeed to do the roof too.... Its not something I think we could answer now without going to rip the case apart again just to answer this. Youd be better hoping one of the members has one tbh.
Actually... Installing 2x120mm fans as intakes in the bottom (former roof) might improve the (GPU) temps a bit, which I found seriously lacking in the mATX versions of the Bitfenix cases.

You might want to make a custom panel for the new top (former bottom) though, it won't look that pretty leaving it like it is.

http://i1296.photobucket.com/albums/...ps59a1040c.png

@Lucas: If you want to dicuss this further I suggest you make your own thread in the Cases & Power section instead of using the review thread
http://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=26
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.