BitFenix Phenom M & ITX Review

Cooling Options

BitFenix Phenom Review

Cooling Options

Looking at air cooling first, the Phenom will take a decent sized tower type cooler, in fact anything up to 160mm will fit just fine even with the HDDs mounted on the vertical brace rack.  If you absolutely have to cram a gargantuan tower cooler into this case then removing the HDD rack will garner you an additional 35mm of space.  having said how big a cooler we can get in we also need to think about how we're going to orientate it.  We've left the fans in he case in their stock configuration, and positioned the cooler to push air out through the rear extract.  With this in mind it might be better to have the fan in the base of the case swapped round to intake, or to remove it and place it in the roof as an extract.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

The image below left shows the cooler rotated through 90 degrees and pulling air up from the base of the case.  Again we'd want to swap the base of case fan to intake or swap it out to the roof as an extract, perhaps adding another as we've shown in the image below right (please note the case does not come with fans in the roof, these have been added by us for illustrative purposes).  Now this might seem a pretty ideal set up, until we consider the air flow over the graphics card, which as you've no doubt worked out is getting hit on its back plate by warm air from the CPU cooler and is fighting to pull cool air in from the roof which is busy trying to extract.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

Perhaps we'll have more luck with water-cooling.  Native water support for a 240mm radiator in a case of this size used to be unheard of only a few years back, yet here we are able to fit in a dual rad and fans.  There are a few provisos though.  First off you're not going to want to stick anything more than 35mm thick in the roof as it will impinge the top of your GPU, No problem if you're going for one of the many great AIOs on the market such as the H100i or the Seidon 240.  Secondly, if you want to run SLI or Cross Fire and a rad in the roof, you're going to have to choose between the two as it's not possible to fit both due to the height restriction.  All is not lost though as along with any of the 120mm rad based units such as the H80i and H60 you can also get a 140mm based AIO such as the Kraken X40 or H90 in the rear fan position.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

To give you an idea of just how much room you have we've shown the Phenom with the 35mm thick XSPC RS240 rad and a standard 25mm thick fan.  Combining these with our rather antiquated Asus EN8800GT Graphics card which weighs in at 40mm thick we're left with just 12mm of space.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

However you orientate your rad and fans you're going to have to compromise.  An extract system, whether in push or pull makes the most sense thermodynamically but with the intake of the GPU so close to the face of the rad or the fans may lead to them fighting each other for air and at worst set up eddy currents which may effect airflow and static pressure through the rads.  Setting up the rad with the fans on intake will pull cool air in directly from the outside of the case  but will then blow it directly over the fan intake for the GPU, which again isn't ideal.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2013, 10:17:25

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105354696l.jpg

A sleek cuboid case from BitFenix, available in Black and White as well as Micro-ATX and Mini-ITX versions, what's no to like!


Continue Reading

08-11-2013, 10:25:46

Feronix
Finallyyyyyy

I seriously want the Phenom mITX in white. Wish they made a side panel window option available though Going to read now, thanks Gary!

Edit;
Hey I have just read through it (skipped some of the mATX parts) and it leaves me with two questions.

1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?

I have lots of ideas for this case but I want to do a high-end build and if it's not good enough, it's just not good enough, as much as that sucks cause I love the way it looks and the options that it offers for the price.

08-11-2013, 14:24:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

08-11-2013, 14:36:16

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

1) That's fair enough from them I guess. I'd remove it anyway. Leaves me with a 5.25" tray for a scratch build or something

2) That's a bit unfortunate. I was actually thinking if the things I've just mentioned, then watched the video and saw Tom had the same idea. Do you reckon that would give enough airflow for a 5v Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm?

08-12-2013, 23:49:03

jackjack
BitFenix Phenom, totally Elegant mini chassis! just love it!

07-02-2014, 15:50:27

kingbourne
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?

07-02-2014, 16:29:32

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
Have you considered replacing the front fan with a 230mm one which will shift air towards the GPU as well?

Or, if you don't mind modding, you could make some mesh in the side panel or make an airflow duct with some plexi.

07-02-2014, 17:04:55

G-Dubs
We're hoping you read the review before you bought the case and noted our concerns re the airflow to the GPU as a result of there being no direct ventilation to it. The previous point is a good one, a large diameter fan in the front and a decent fan in the base on intake will improve the airflow into the case. Assuming you're air cooling you could also put some fans in the roof on extract to at leas pull the hot air away from the GPU and improve through case airflow.

08-02-2014, 01:12:30

jackjack
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
if you please could provide some pictures from your system would be great...

One thing i learn from smaller cases such as the COOL BitFenix Phenom mITX case airflow is the most crucial part in order to get your systems running cool.
just like @Feronix said a big fan in front case indeed is needed if you want you can just buy BitFenix 200/230mm Spectre Pro LED fan (IN) and add another 2x120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED fan on top case (OUT) plus another single 120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED (OUT) for the rear case.. and let's see about your temps results

08-02-2014, 07:27:02

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
IS the 780 a DCUII one or the stock cooler version?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.