BitFenix Phenom M & ITX Review

Up Close: Interior

BitFenix Phenom Review

Up Close:  Interior

If you're used to our normal formula for exploring the interior of a case, or you're only happy with the predictability of the standard ATX layout then you're in for a bit of a bumpy ride, as things are a bit all over the place inside the Phenom.  Opening up the right hand panel you're met with a removable rack which is able to house either 2x3.5" drives on it's interior surface and 3x2.5" drives on its outer surface.  With the drive rack removed we're afforded a better view into the interior.  To help orientate you, the PSU mounts vertically at the front of the case (left of the images) whilst the Motherboard sits inverted against the back wall of the case, with the CPU over the large cut out area.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

The PSU is located vertically in the front of the case after first attaching it to a mounting bracket.  you can get long PSUs in here but do bear in mind you're going to need to turn the cables round and down in the remaining roof space.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

A single 120mm Spectre fan in included in the floor of the case and is set in the extract position.  If you choose you can add a second 120mm unit, or a pair of 3.5" drives, or mix and match between the two.  For those of you familiar with the Prodigy chassis on which the Phenom is based, it should start to become a bit clearer exactly where this cases heritage lies, however in this Micro-ATX form factor, the large mesh area on the image below right is provided for the PSU should you choose to have it located with the fan on intake from the exterior of the case.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

The only other ventilation is provided by a second 120mm Spectre fan located in the rear of the case.  This can be swapped out for a 140mm unit or used in conjunction with a 120mm or 140mm Rad based AIO.  This fan is again positioned as an extract making the case a negative pressure set up.  If you want to experiment with airflow both fans can be easily re positioned.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

     

Up in the roof we can see a large cut out with mounting holes for 2x120mm fans, and as the inter fan spacing up here is 15mm you should be able to fit in a good many of the 240mm rad based AIOs.  There's also a bracket up here which at first view appears to be for a 5.25" drive, but as there's no external opening we can assume that it's a legacy featuree from the Prodigy case which by means of an adapter can be used to mount a single 3.5" or 2.5" drive.  If you're looking to put a rad up in the roof then this bracket is going to need to be removed, which is easily done with just 6 screws holding it in place.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

  

Turning the case around and looking at the reverse of motherboard area, we see that there's not exactly a lot going on back here.  A very meagre 14mm of space is available for cable management.  We suspect this isn't really going to be a major issue though as there aren't any cable management holes to work with, so if you're not going to be routing cables round the back you don't really need the room to do it in do ya!

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2013, 10:17:25

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105354696l.jpg

A sleek cuboid case from BitFenix, available in Black and White as well as Micro-ATX and Mini-ITX versions, what's no to like!


Continue Reading

08-11-2013, 10:25:46

Feronix
Finallyyyyyy

I seriously want the Phenom mITX in white. Wish they made a side panel window option available though Going to read now, thanks Gary!

Edit;
Hey I have just read through it (skipped some of the mATX parts) and it leaves me with two questions.

1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?

I have lots of ideas for this case but I want to do a high-end build and if it's not good enough, it's just not good enough, as much as that sucks cause I love the way it looks and the options that it offers for the price.

08-11-2013, 14:24:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

08-11-2013, 14:36:16

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

1) That's fair enough from them I guess. I'd remove it anyway. Leaves me with a 5.25" tray for a scratch build or something

2) That's a bit unfortunate. I was actually thinking if the things I've just mentioned, then watched the video and saw Tom had the same idea. Do you reckon that would give enough airflow for a 5v Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm?

08-12-2013, 23:49:03

jackjack
BitFenix Phenom, totally Elegant mini chassis! just love it!

07-02-2014, 15:50:27

kingbourne
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?

07-02-2014, 16:29:32

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
Have you considered replacing the front fan with a 230mm one which will shift air towards the GPU as well?

Or, if you don't mind modding, you could make some mesh in the side panel or make an airflow duct with some plexi.

07-02-2014, 17:04:55

G-Dubs
We're hoping you read the review before you bought the case and noted our concerns re the airflow to the GPU as a result of there being no direct ventilation to it. The previous point is a good one, a large diameter fan in the front and a decent fan in the base on intake will improve the airflow into the case. Assuming you're air cooling you could also put some fans in the roof on extract to at leas pull the hot air away from the GPU and improve through case airflow.

08-02-2014, 01:12:30

jackjack
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
if you please could provide some pictures from your system would be great...

One thing i learn from smaller cases such as the COOL BitFenix Phenom mITX case airflow is the most crucial part in order to get your systems running cool.
just like @Feronix said a big fan in front case indeed is needed if you want you can just buy BitFenix 200/230mm Spectre Pro LED fan (IN) and add another 2x120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED fan on top case (OUT) plus another single 120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED (OUT) for the rear case.. and let's see about your temps results

08-02-2014, 07:27:02

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
IS the 780 a DCUII one or the stock cooler version?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.