BitFenix Phenom M & ITX Review

Up Close: Exterior Sides, Rear and Base

BitFenix Phenom Review

Up Close:  Exterior Sides, Rear and Base

Having glanced briefly at the sides of the case in our initial overview we can now look in more detail.  The mesh area that we saw that is recessed into the upper and front edges is vey fine indeed, but owing to the large total surface area (as a product of its length more than its width) it should serve to give reasonable ventilation, which is just as well as it's through this mesh that the PSU draws its breath.  The left hand side of the case is devoid of features, and even the right hand side keeps it clean and simple with a subtle I/O area towards the front lower corner.  A brace of USB 3.0, audio jacks and a separate power and reset buttons are the order of the day. 

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

It's when we look round the back of the case that we get the first hint that the internal layout of the Phenom differs somewhat from the traditional.  The keen eyed amongst you will have already worked out that the Motherboard is inverted as the five PCI slots are towards the top of the case.  Another unusual (and as we found when we came to the build, slightly annoying) feature of the PCI slots is the use of a single clamped bracket to hold the five covers in place.  Releasing the thumb bolt and sliding back the clamp releases the grip on all five of the slot covers, which if you only want to remove one often ends in a small cascade and a few choice words.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

You'd be forgiven for thinking that you're looking at the PSU fan through the rear grill.  Actually we wouldn't forgive you as we'd assume you'd totally forgotten that we're dealing with an inverted motherboard layout so there's no way on Bobs green earth that that could be the PSU.  It is in fact a mounting point for either a 120mm (included) or 140mm (optional) fan.  In the bottom right hand corner lies the socket for a standard IEC mains lead known to you and us as a PSU plug, and to the wife as a kettle plug.  This fitting attaches to a cable that runs through the base of the case and meets up with a fitting at the other end into which your PSU attaches.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

The base of the case is predominantly mesh with a large aperture at the front for the vertically mounted PSU.  Two 120mm fans (one included) can be mounted in the base, alternatively a pair of 3.5" drives can be housed down here.  If you're not using it for ventilation then you may chose to use the magnetically located cover shown below right.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2013, 10:17:25

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105354696l.jpg

A sleek cuboid case from BitFenix, available in Black and White as well as Micro-ATX and Mini-ITX versions, what's no to like!


Continue Reading

08-11-2013, 10:25:46

Feronix
Finallyyyyyy

I seriously want the Phenom mITX in white. Wish they made a side panel window option available though Going to read now, thanks Gary!

Edit;
Hey I have just read through it (skipped some of the mATX parts) and it leaves me with two questions.

1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?

I have lots of ideas for this case but I want to do a high-end build and if it's not good enough, it's just not good enough, as much as that sucks cause I love the way it looks and the options that it offers for the price.

08-11-2013, 14:24:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

08-11-2013, 14:36:16

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

1) That's fair enough from them I guess. I'd remove it anyway. Leaves me with a 5.25" tray for a scratch build or something

2) That's a bit unfortunate. I was actually thinking if the things I've just mentioned, then watched the video and saw Tom had the same idea. Do you reckon that would give enough airflow for a 5v Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm?

08-12-2013, 23:49:03

jackjack
BitFenix Phenom, totally Elegant mini chassis! just love it!

07-02-2014, 15:50:27

kingbourne
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?

07-02-2014, 16:29:32

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
Have you considered replacing the front fan with a 230mm one which will shift air towards the GPU as well?

Or, if you don't mind modding, you could make some mesh in the side panel or make an airflow duct with some plexi.

07-02-2014, 17:04:55

G-Dubs
We're hoping you read the review before you bought the case and noted our concerns re the airflow to the GPU as a result of there being no direct ventilation to it. The previous point is a good one, a large diameter fan in the front and a decent fan in the base on intake will improve the airflow into the case. Assuming you're air cooling you could also put some fans in the roof on extract to at leas pull the hot air away from the GPU and improve through case airflow.

08-02-2014, 01:12:30

jackjack
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
if you please could provide some pictures from your system would be great...

One thing i learn from smaller cases such as the COOL BitFenix Phenom mITX case airflow is the most crucial part in order to get your systems running cool.
just like @Feronix said a big fan in front case indeed is needed if you want you can just buy BitFenix 200/230mm Spectre Pro LED fan (IN) and add another 2x120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED fan on top case (OUT) plus another single 120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED (OUT) for the rear case.. and let's see about your temps results

08-02-2014, 07:27:02

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
IS the 780 a DCUII one or the stock cooler version?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.