BitFenix Phenom M & ITX Review

Up Close: Exterior Overview and Roof

BitFenix Phenom Review

Up Close:  Exterior Overview and Roof

There's no denying the minimalist looks of the Phenom, both the sides and the front are practically featureless aside from a metallic slightly iridescent BitFenix logo and the front I/O on the right hand side. 

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

A thin mesh strip runs along the upper and front edges of the case, both allowing air in and providing visual separation of the two planes.  The front I/O area is located in the front corner of the right hand side so as no to spoil the looks of the front fascia.

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

Like the front surface the roof has been given the once over with the oh so slippy BitFenix SofTouch surface treatment.  It's been around for a while now and although you could say "if you've felt one you've felt them all", (ahem) we do still think that the treatment lends a sense of quality to the Phenom.  Even the fan filter/grill which is easily removed via the catch at the rear appears to have been given the good news with the slippy brush.  Just a shame they've not applied it to the case sides.   

 BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review

 

With the roof vent removed we get our first peek inside the Phenom.  Dark isn't it!  I guess it won't be too long before we get a windowed version, and no doubt before then we'll be seeing many a window mod hitting the Project logs section of the OC3D forums 

BitFenix Phenom Review     BitFenix Phenom Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-11-2013, 10:17:25

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105354696l.jpg

A sleek cuboid case from BitFenix, available in Black and White as well as Micro-ATX and Mini-ITX versions, what's no to like!


Continue Reading

08-11-2013, 10:25:46

Feronix
Finallyyyyyy

I seriously want the Phenom mITX in white. Wish they made a side panel window option available though Going to read now, thanks Gary!

Edit;
Hey I have just read through it (skipped some of the mATX parts) and it leaves me with two questions.

1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?

I have lots of ideas for this case but I want to do a high-end build and if it's not good enough, it's just not good enough, as much as that sucks cause I love the way it looks and the options that it offers for the price.

08-11-2013, 14:24:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
1) The front of the Phenom is completely closed. Why is there still a 5.25" bay on the inside? You couldn't acces it from the front anyway. I know it's easily removable and most people won't use an optical drive anyway but it just leaves me wondering.

2) Would it be a bad idea to drill some more holes into the sides where the front fans would intake? Would it make the case less stable or anything? And also is there no 'gap' in the bottom (of the front panel) for air to get through, and if so, would it look silly to create one?
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

08-11-2013, 14:36:16

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
1) The 5.25" bay is there as it is on all models that share the same original Prodigy chassis. From a manufacturing standpoint it's cheaper to leave it there than it is to press new panels without it.

2) All pretty much depends on your modding skills, but there's not too much that can be done to improve matters significantly

1) That's fair enough from them I guess. I'd remove it anyway. Leaves me with a 5.25" tray for a scratch build or something

2) That's a bit unfortunate. I was actually thinking if the things I've just mentioned, then watched the video and saw Tom had the same idea. Do you reckon that would give enough airflow for a 5v Bitfenix Spectre Pro 230mm?

08-12-2013, 23:49:03

jackjack
BitFenix Phenom, totally Elegant mini chassis! just love it!

07-02-2014, 15:50:27

kingbourne
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?

07-02-2014, 16:29:32

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
Have you considered replacing the front fan with a 230mm one which will shift air towards the GPU as well?

Or, if you don't mind modding, you could make some mesh in the side panel or make an airflow duct with some plexi.

07-02-2014, 17:04:55

G-Dubs
We're hoping you read the review before you bought the case and noted our concerns re the airflow to the GPU as a result of there being no direct ventilation to it. The previous point is a good one, a large diameter fan in the front and a decent fan in the base on intake will improve the airflow into the case. Assuming you're air cooling you could also put some fans in the roof on extract to at leas pull the hot air away from the GPU and improve through case airflow.

08-02-2014, 01:12:30

jackjack
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post
Hi i have just built a gaming rig with the items below but i am concerned about how hot the case is getting when playing games as their is no ventilation where the gpu goes really and the metal case gets red hot

BitFenix Phenom Mini ITX Cube Gaming Case
i7 4770k cpu
16gb corsair vengence memory
asus gtx780 oc gpu

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
if you please could provide some pictures from your system would be great...

One thing i learn from smaller cases such as the COOL BitFenix Phenom mITX case airflow is the most crucial part in order to get your systems running cool.
just like @Feronix said a big fan in front case indeed is needed if you want you can just buy BitFenix 200/230mm Spectre Pro LED fan (IN) and add another 2x120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED fan on top case (OUT) plus another single 120mm BitFenix Spectre Pro LED (OUT) for the rear case.. and let's see about your temps results

08-02-2014, 07:27:02

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingbourne View Post

has anybody else had this issue with this case?
IS the 780 a DCUII one or the stock cooler version?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.