bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review

Up Close: Packaging and Contents

bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review

Up Close:  Packaging and Contents

When it comes to packaging, Dark and sleek is how bequiet boxes role.  They are however still very informative thanks to the oodles of technical data and diagrams picked out in white on the black background. 

bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review     bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review

 

The cooler is retained in the box by a mix of foam sheets and cardboard inserts.  It's not the most elegant solution in the world, but as the cooler arrived undamaged we have to assume it's effective.

bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review     bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review

 

Along with the cooler you also get a small fold out sheet of multi language instructions.  Thankfully when folded out the sheet maintains manageable proportions, unlike others we could mention (Yes Cooler Master, we're looking at you).  The diagrams though are a little on the small side, and if we didn't already have a good idea where we were going we think they would be quite hard to follow.  Still there's always the build section of this review to show you how if you need help.  Along with the usual screws, bequiet also include a separate brackets for AMD and Intel mounting, although both will utilise the same universal back plate  .  There's also a small syringe of TIM and a pair of spring clips to attach an additional 120mm fan.

bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review     bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-05-2014, 08:58:32

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...124948659l.png

Let's take a look at the appropriately named bequiet Shadow Rock Slim


Continue Reading

02-05-2014, 13:09:05

Davva2004
Great review, but seeing as this is oc3d is it okay for me to point out the spelling error?

02-05-2014, 13:10:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davva2004 View Post
Great review, but seeing as this is oc3d is it okay for me to point out the spelling error?
Yeah in the page header - BAD GARY!

02-05-2014, 17:20:39

G-Dubs
Whoops! And it's not like I can even blame the keyboard. My apologies to bequiet. TBH always had a bit of a blind spot for double letter combinations in words.

05-05-2014, 03:33:10

Zoot
How difficult is it to get your hands on a 135mm fan in the event the cooler's fan kicks the bucket? I don't think I've ever seen them being sold.

05-05-2014, 04:48:56

G-Dubs
The odds of a fan kicking the bucket are so close to zero as to not really be worth factoring in to a purchase decision. In the event that it did however the spring clips would enable a 140mm unit to be fitted.

05-05-2014, 05:10:53

Feronix
Zalman do a 135mm fan, but the mounting holes are for 120mm standards:
http://www.zalman.com/global/product...ad.php?Idx=432

Nice review though, Gary. For the price it seems like a nice, quiet alternative to the Hyper 212 Evo.

Oh and pssssst
http://youtu.be/lh6QSb0qMtc

05-05-2014, 07:01:47

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
The odds of a fan kicking the bucket are so close to zero as to not really be worth factoring in to a purchase decision. In the event that it did however the spring clips would enable a 140mm unit to be fitted.
No problem then, it's easy enough to pick up a 140mm fan.

But yeah if you're someone like me who'll use the cooler as long as you can use it ie. 4/5/6 years+ you'll have fans fail from time to time.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.