bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

bequiet Shadow Rock Slim Review

Introduction

If you've got deep pockets and a pathological craving for higher and higher Overclocks garnering more speed and of course increasing levels of heat in your CPU then you're going to need the very best cooling solutions that money can buy.  Not everyone though has either the need or perhaps budget for these exotic and expensive cooling solutions, or at least not in all of their rigs.  Sometimes we just need something that will tick along nicely and yet still cut the mustard to some degree while looking damn sexy in the process.  It is perhaps with these thoughts in mind that bequiet bring the Shadow rock Slim to market.  Measuring only 52mm wide without the included 22mm deep fan you can see why the boys at bequiet have named it the "Slim".  With a TDP of 160W we're not expecting this cooler to top the torture test charts, but it will be interesting to see how it does, especially taking into account the performance of the last bequiet cooler we reviewed, which damn nearly knocked the mighty D14 of its perch.

 

Technical Specification

 Heatsink dimensions 

 52 x 130 x 161

 fan dimensions 

 135 x 135 x 22

 Combined Dimensions 

 74 x 137 x 161

 

 TDP (W)

 

 160W

 

 Total weight (kg)

 

 0.73

 

 Socket compatibility

 

 Intel:   LGA 775 / 1150 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / 2011


 AMD:  754 / 939 / 940 / AM2(+) / AM3 (+) / FM1 /  FM2 (+)

 

 Heatsink Material 

 Fin material Aluminium

 Base material Copper

 

 Number of fins

 

 52

 Heat pipes 4x6mm
 Fans 1 x Silent wings
 Fan Speed 1400rpm
 Air Flow 67.8cfm
 Static Pressure 2.1mmH2O
 Noise 23.7dB(A)
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-05-2014, 08:58:32

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...124948659l.png

Let's take a look at the appropriately named bequiet Shadow Rock Slim


Continue Reading

02-05-2014, 13:09:05

Davva2004
Great review, but seeing as this is oc3d is it okay for me to point out the spelling error?

02-05-2014, 13:10:53

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davva2004 View Post
Great review, but seeing as this is oc3d is it okay for me to point out the spelling error?
Yeah in the page header - BAD GARY!

02-05-2014, 17:20:39

G-Dubs
Whoops! And it's not like I can even blame the keyboard. My apologies to bequiet. TBH always had a bit of a blind spot for double letter combinations in words.

05-05-2014, 03:33:10

Zoot
How difficult is it to get your hands on a 135mm fan in the event the cooler's fan kicks the bucket? I don't think I've ever seen them being sold.

05-05-2014, 04:48:56

G-Dubs
The odds of a fan kicking the bucket are so close to zero as to not really be worth factoring in to a purchase decision. In the event that it did however the spring clips would enable a 140mm unit to be fitted.

05-05-2014, 05:10:53

Feronix
Zalman do a 135mm fan, but the mounting holes are for 120mm standards:
http://www.zalman.com/global/product...ad.php?Idx=432

Nice review though, Gary. For the price it seems like a nice, quiet alternative to the Hyper 212 Evo.

Oh and pssssst
http://youtu.be/lh6QSb0qMtc

05-05-2014, 07:01:47

Zoot
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
The odds of a fan kicking the bucket are so close to zero as to not really be worth factoring in to a purchase decision. In the event that it did however the spring clips would enable a 140mm unit to be fitted.
No problem then, it's easy enough to pick up a 140mm fan.

But yeah if you're someone like me who'll use the cooler as long as you can use it ie. 4/5/6 years+ you'll have fans fail from time to time.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.