bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

Up Close: Fans and Contact Plate

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

Up Close:  Fans and Contact Plate

bequiet have gone to great lengths to minimise noise and vibration.  Full length dense rubber strips lie behind each of the fans isolating them from the fin stack.  bequiet also claim that the linear strakes on their silent wings fans afford quieter airflow and thus quieter operation without loss of performance.

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review     bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

 

With no less than seven 6mm heat pipes, the underside of the fin stack is a very busy place.  Even so, the whole assembly is well organised, beautifully engineered and excellently  manufactured.  The dark Nickel coating is uniformly applied to the cooper heat pipes, with no evidence of solder splash or other artefacts to spoil the finish.

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review     bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

 

bequiet have managed to keep the contact plate as small as possible which is no mean feat when you think it has seven pipes passing through it.  With the warning sticker peeled off we can see the near perfect mirror finish.  Hopefully this should make for good contact and good heat transfer

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review    bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-03-2014, 07:06:43

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...110016352l.png

bequiet have been refreshing their range of coolers. Best we have a little look


Continue Reading

10-03-2014, 12:22:41

TheLostOne
Lovely review as always !

10-03-2014, 12:24:27

tinytomlogan
Aye Gary does a cracking job

10-03-2014, 14:02:39

StaticFX
i actually just won one of these! its in transit right now! very excited!

10-03-2014, 14:06:34

Friction
What about measurements under the cooler for DIM heights? I can't see that cooler fitting over my Dominator Platinums.

10-03-2014, 18:23:31

popabear
Would it really be so difficult for them to rotate the name 90 degrees clockwise ?

10-03-2014, 21:44:35

Code-Red
Having the logo where it is does kinda bother me but still an excellent cooler regardless.

10-03-2014, 23:48:20

StaticFX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friction View Post
What about measurements under the cooler for DIM heights? I can't see that cooler fitting over my Dominator Platinums.
i have seen some pics.. its a close fit for any ram with heatsinks... but will fit most. .. now those, are a bit taller than norm i think, so you may have an issue.
Might need to find someone who has tried

11-03-2014, 02:33:25

TheLostOne
I have the Corsair Vengeance Pro kit with just 2-3mm to spare before touching the heatsink (of course on the Dark Rock Pro 2) Not sure they have the same clearance?

11-03-2014, 05:00:19

TheOuterOne
Hmmmm must have. My Shadow Rock 2 will do the job for now

11-03-2014, 05:32:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friction View Post
What about measurements under the cooler for DIM heights? I can't see that cooler fitting over my Dominator Platinums.
LOL it wont mate

11-03-2014, 06:17:13

WillSK
I have to say I regret getting rid of my old BeQuiet cooler. I think when looking at performance vs. aesthetics their coolers are well up there!

11-03-2014, 06:17:22

sprintdmc
Looks like the be quiet cooler was made for the storm trooper case, really nice fit, a more mature look to it. A nice blacked out graphics card to finish it off
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.