bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

Up Close: Packaging and Overview

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

Up Close:  Packaging and Overview

bequiet have never been ones for "look at me" packaging, or for that matter "look at me" contents, preferring the mature understated look.  Regardless, they still manage to detail product descriptions and key features.

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review     bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

 

The Cooler itself is a twin stack twin fan assembly, with  the central 135mm fan being slightly larger than the 120mm silent wings unit on the front.  It has to be said it's quite a looker

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review     bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

 

Each of the fins stacks has 42 black nickel coated Aluminium fins, with the fans being attached by means of spring clips.  bequiet actually supply an additional set of clips in the accessories box should you lose or damage one or perhaps wish to add an additional extract fan on the rear.  Spring clips make removing fans vey simple but can often prove a bit of a fiddle to re attach, certainly if you choose to remove the central fan be sure you're prepared for a bit of a game getting it back in and clipped up.

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review     bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review

 

We love the Black anodised hairline brushed Aluminium top cover of the Pro 3.  It simply oozes class.  If you also happen to have a case with an similar exterior front panel finish then you're going to be able to carry that look to the interior of your case.  If you don' already have that look then it's time add a bit of sophistication to your interior.  The placement of the gloss black plastic heat pipe end caps not only smartens the otherwise crimped ends up but also gives good indication as to the dispersal of the heat pipes within the stacks.       

bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review     bequiet Dark Rock Pro 3 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-03-2014, 07:06:43

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...110016352l.png

bequiet have been refreshing their range of coolers. Best we have a little look


Continue Reading

10-03-2014, 12:22:41

TheLostOne
Lovely review as always !

10-03-2014, 12:24:27

tinytomlogan
Aye Gary does a cracking job

10-03-2014, 14:02:39

StaticFX
i actually just won one of these! its in transit right now! very excited!

10-03-2014, 14:06:34

Friction
What about measurements under the cooler for DIM heights? I can't see that cooler fitting over my Dominator Platinums.

10-03-2014, 18:23:31

popabear
Would it really be so difficult for them to rotate the name 90 degrees clockwise ?

10-03-2014, 21:44:35

Code-Red
Having the logo where it is does kinda bother me but still an excellent cooler regardless.

10-03-2014, 23:48:20

StaticFX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friction View Post
What about measurements under the cooler for DIM heights? I can't see that cooler fitting over my Dominator Platinums.
i have seen some pics.. its a close fit for any ram with heatsinks... but will fit most. .. now those, are a bit taller than norm i think, so you may have an issue.
Might need to find someone who has tried

11-03-2014, 02:33:25

TheLostOne
I have the Corsair Vengeance Pro kit with just 2-3mm to spare before touching the heatsink (of course on the Dark Rock Pro 2) Not sure they have the same clearance?

11-03-2014, 05:00:19

TheOuterOne
Hmmmm must have. My Shadow Rock 2 will do the job for now

11-03-2014, 05:32:59

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friction View Post
What about measurements under the cooler for DIM heights? I can't see that cooler fitting over my Dominator Platinums.
LOL it wont mate

11-03-2014, 06:17:13

WillSK
I have to say I regret getting rid of my old BeQuiet cooler. I think when looking at performance vs. aesthetics their coolers are well up there!

11-03-2014, 06:17:22

sprintdmc
Looks like the be quiet cooler was made for the storm trooper case, really nice fit, a more mature look to it. A nice blacked out graphics card to finish it off
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.